We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid if possible”
Review of St. George's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. George's Hotel
Ranked #17 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Avoid if possible”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The deal with Trip Advisor is that there are always people who both love and hate the same place... how can that be... well I recon its a case of 'one mans meat is anothers' poison'..!!

We were looking forward to our 2 night stay at the St Georges while we were visiting friends in Llandudno.
The rooms are very small, (the size one expects in a NYC hotel) and the air conditioning was not working.
When we raised the issue (that we were roasting hot in our room, with the window open) they sent the resident engineer around and he confirmed what we already knew, that being that the radiator was turned off.
He tells me that because it is winter, the air conditioning option is decommissioned and only reactivated in the summer..!!
Great, Thanks...

When we sat down for our first breakfast meal, my wife ordered a Cappuccino, only to be informed some moments later that the machine was being cleaned and would take half an hour..!!
There is nothing quite like efficient management of staff and facilities is there..!?

Incidentally, the following morning my wife, who did not want to be disappointed for the second time, went across the road to Cafe Nero and purchased a takeaway Cappuccino and brought it into the breakfast restaurant, only to be told that she couldnt bring her coffee in..!?

Well thanks very much to the management for making our stay at your hotel so enjoyable and comfortable... Not..!!

We would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeOutAndAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
The deal with TA is as a public site you can leave your opinion, I am only so pleased to say, so many guests have also left their opinions and overall it provides clear evidence, that we are an excellent hotel, as certified for excellence by TA themselves.
However you had concerns and your opinion does matter, there are a wide variety of rooms and many of different sizes. My best advice would be to contact Jordan in Reservations for the best room suitable for your needs.
The air conditioning was working but set for additional heating, if so required as it was a particularly cold spell, we do regret if you were uncomfortable and too hot, though as you highlight the radiators have their own controls and can be switched off.
We do offer cappuccino on our breakfast menu and it should have been available and for that we are sorry.
Finally you may be visiting your friends again, so my offer and challenge to you, is to contact me directly and I'd be happy to show you, what the vast majority of guests have found to be the best of St George's.
Cappuccinos on me.
Best wishes for 2014
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    830
    365
    115
    41
    31
See reviews for
287
653
39
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
nr crewe
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The value of this hotel`s dinner and dance was very good. Canapes and Bubbly for starters then a good 5 course meal. Disco music could have been better, Scotts Piper at midnight was a nice touch. However the evening started an hour too early at 6/30pm so it felt like a long evening.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and have noted the start time in considering our programme for next New Year.
From all our feedback it seems to have been very much enjoyed and do appreciate you taking the time to review.
Hope 2014 is a great year for you and hope to see you back at St George's soon.

Best Wishes
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We recently enjoyed a fabulous Christmas Day lunch at the St George's hotel in Llandudno. The meal was excellent, the staff very attentive and the surroundings superb. Already looking forward to next Christmas!! Huge thanks to all concerned in making this a meal to remember!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike-and-Eirian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Well thank you for leaving such a lovely review which is much appreciated by all the team.
Christmas Day Lunch is such a special event and we are so pleased we made it special for you and more so that you will return next Christmas.
However we do hope there will be an opportunity to visit before, but from all at St Georges.. Best Wishes and Happy New Year.
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsager, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Just got back home from 3 lovely nights at the st george hotel ( Xmas eve to day after Boxing Day). It was a very relaxed and excellent stop fantastic food and great company. Hoping to go again next year, any faults? Well none that we could find the staff were all very well presented and could not do enough to keep us happy. Excellent room overlooking the sea. Well done to you all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 20yearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Well thank you for your kind comments, it certainly seemed to be a well received Christmas and we are only so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
We do also hope as you say you will look to return in 2014 and if so, we can promise you the same warm welcome and another enjoyable stay.
All our Best Wishes for 2014.
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidwelly, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We have just come back from having Christmas at The George and instantly must say what a delight the staff are at this hotel. They are professional and polite but not stuffy as can sometimes be associated with 4 star hotels. Nothing was too much trouble, how lovely in todays' society that we felt genuinly welcomed and looked after. Our room, we felt, although meticulously clean and furnished to a high standard, was a little on the cosy side, however, the bed was superbly comfortable and every amenity was available, including complimentary wine, chocolates and a his and hers gifts for us as it was Christmas. Lovely, thoughtful. We enjoyed the food and the evening pianists, especially the gentleman who played on Christmas Day night, brilliant, he was a master of his profession! Although we had a side room, we could still see views of the Great Orme and sea front. We treated ourselves to the Boxing Day panto of Sleeping Beauty at Venue Cymru and were still back in time for a good evening meal. We would have no hesitation at recommending The George to anyone and we hope to return again ourselves. Thank you to Tony Burns and his fine team for making our Christmas special.

Room Tip: If available and you can stretch to it, go for a sea view, first floor with a balcony, perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
First thank you for taking the trouble to post a review, and we are so pleased you enjoyed your Christmas, with us all at St George's.
It was lovely to meet you and even more so to read your kind words and we hope, there will be an opportunity in 2014 to welcome you back, to see us and St George's.
With all our very best wishes for 2014
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Great hotel, friendly staff, location excellent,
Sea view room was awesome. Made the mistake of checking in somewhere, ended up walking out and checking into the St George- should have done this first as the price difference was only slightly more to stay in a great hotel than a crap one.

Room Tip: Start with a good hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Such a lovely and much appreciated review.
We are just so pleased we saved you from a bad experience while staying in Llandudno.
Thank you for taking the trouble to review it really does encourage the whole team.
Finally we hope, we may in the future, be welcoming you back to North Wales, Llandudno and St George's.
All our best wishes for 2014
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Once again we celebrated our special date with a superb meal in the Terrace Restaurant at St.George's Hotel. As on previous occasions, everything was spot on!
We had a wonderful warm welcome from all the staff and relaxed with a pre- dinner drink in the lounge before being seated on the Terrace. Our meal was excellent and we enjoyed every morsel of the delicious cuisine! Our compliments to the Chef!!!
So we would like to say a huge 'thank you' to the brilliant management and staff for creating such a wonderful evening! Also to give a special mention to Robert O.,Javier and Abby who went the 'extra mile' to ensure everything was just perfect - you are the best!!!
To anyone reading this review we would like to say you must come and try out this wonderful experience for yourself!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SergioLlandudno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Well first of all Beat Wishes and so pleased we added to your memories of your Anniversary celebrations.
Thank you for your very kind words and certainly Robert and Abby are so pleased to have been mentioned in ''dispatches.'' It is a great team which makes all the difference.
Thank you again for reviewing and we would like to wish you a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.
Best Wishes
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#24 of 60 in Llandudno
338 reviews
0.7 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.2 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#3 of 60 in Llandudno
924 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George's Hotel

Property: St. George's Hotel
Address: The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LG, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#10 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#10 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#14 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. George's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Llandudno and all that the North Wales Coast has to offer in stylish sophistication and contemporary luxury at the AA Hotel of the Year for Wales. The Award Winning St Georges Hotel, cleverly combines traditional Victorian elegance and its stunning setting with the comfort of a luxurious 4 star Hotel. Every detail of the hotel is designed to offer a relaxed, intimate atmosphere, calm moods and a fresh, professional approach to service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. George's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Llandudno
St Georges Hotel Llandudno
St George Hotel Llandudno
St. George's Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing