We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Xmas party” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. George's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. George's Hotel
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Llandudno, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb Xmas party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Great service at the restaurant but the bar service was just excellent. Bar staff was fast good and really lovely. Didn't have to wait at all to be served, manager is a genius to organise such a good team and service

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biala84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
It is great to know you so much enjoyed the evening, and your kind words will encourage and be appreciated by all the team at this busy time...even the genius will be pleased.
Merry Christmas and Best Wishes
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    338
    104
    38
    29
See reviews for
270
614
34
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ystalyfera, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as a delegate at the NASUWT Cymru conference. We had a very enjoyable stay in a very nice room which had a sea view and a balcony! Llandudno is very nice too. The staff were efficient and friendly and the hotel nicely decorated for Christmas. Excellent breakfast and evening meal, lunch somewhat disappointing with what looked like McDonald's chips to go with pasta dishes or chicken in a sauce? Would enjoy returning. Can't remember the number of the room to recommend but check for sea view and balcony. Throw off the runner at the bottom of the bed it feels like a dead body on your legs and the room is very hot. Otherwise enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annwyn49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for placing a review and even though on a conference, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Just hope there will be another opportunity to return, perhaps for a little more relaxation.
Thanks and best wishes from all at St George's.
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

This Victorian built hotel is beautiful and understated. The rooms vary so much (went with colleagues for a business meeting and we all had a quick look at each other's rooms before we left) but each of them are tasteful and have all expected facilities. The only negatives were: the shower wasn't very powerful - but this could be due to high number of people showering at a similar time - and that the breakfast service staff weren't very quick (coffee took AGES to arrive!) but they were very polite, well kept and friendly.
The biggest pro, for a few colleagues and myself, were the reception staff (and porters) were very friendly and didn't mind helping with anything. And it was also through the evening reception staff that my colleagues and I learnt of (and had directions to) The Cottage Loaf - one of the nicest pubs I've been to and serving just beautiful food!
We all had a lovely stay.

Room Tip: If you have a preferred style of room, do say - there is such variety of rooms available: from doubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for reviewing and your kind comments, have especially mentioned reception and porters who genuinely appreciate your encouraging remarks.
We hope it wont be too long before welcoming you back to North Wales, Llandudno and St George's.
Kind regards
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed for one night for an awards ceremony which included a 4 course meal. The room and bathroom were large and well appointed although the room could have done with a good dusting. The temperature gauge in the room was 32 degrees when we arrived and the room was stifling. We eventually managed to open the window but it only opens about 2" and it took a long time for the room to cool to an acceptable temperature. We were on the third floor and the Wi-Fi did not appear to reach as far as our room. We're sure the hotel will say that it's an old building with thick walls, but we are in the hospitality trade and have a succession of routers to beam the signal around our old Victorian building so in this day and age there is no excuse. If we had been staying here on business this would have been a real show stopper.
The meal was a real disappointment from a 4 star hotel. The first course of salmon was very nice but came with a tiny piece of bread and no extra bread was available. The second course was carrot and ginger soup - we only know this because it said so on the menu. The soup itself was bland and tasteless and again there was only one bread roll on offer. The main course was overcooked beef and vegetables with rubbery Yorkshire pudding. The sweet was the only course worth of 4 stars.
After the meal and before the entertainment started, we went back to the room only to find the lights had all fused. We to reception only to find a notice saying "Dial 0 for night porter". No indication of where we should dial from as there was no phone and it was too dark to find the phone in the bedroom. We eventually hailed a passing member of staff who found someone who could help. He came to the bedroom and flicked a switch on the fuse box so the lights works. However, he couldn't replace the bulb in the main light which he said would have to wait until the morning! As operators in the hospitality trade, we do not find this acceptable as we would have changed the bulb straight away.
Breakfast was a similar standard to the evening meal. There was the usual good selection of cereals and yogurts, but the cooked breakfast was truly dreadful. Tiny bland sausages, dried up black pudding and bacon and cold fried eggs.
We were looking forward to staying at this hotel as it always looks so impressive and has some amazing function rooms. However, we left feeling very disappointed at the poor quality food and a general feeling that it is not four star.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swiftsgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
You title your review 'disappointing', and clearly for us it is disappointing that you didn't enjoy your stay. However, what is even more disappointing is that, as you keep mentioning you are in "the trade" and you then resort, only in placing your opinion on this public site, without raising these points directly with ourselves at the time, which as an 'operator in the trade' surely would have been more appropriate and supportive of a fellow local business.
So in response to your points raised, firstly the dusty room, the levels of cleanliness is rated on this site as very good to excellent and we are proud of our consistent standards achieved by our housekeeping team.
The window only opens actually 4 inches and surprising being in the 'trade' you are not aware of child safety latches restricting the opening of windows which is a strong recommendation from the Health and Safety Executive.
The temperature gauge is on the air conditioning panel and had clearly been set too high, the instructions are on the control.
Wifi is available on all floors as we do have a succession of routers installed, on checking there was wifi available on the 3 rd. floor, it is regrettable you seem to have had difficulty.
The awards dinner you attended we have only had from the organizers and many of the guests praise for the service and food. We are pleased to already have the same event booked for next year on the basis of how successful it has been. Please visit our website to read the blogs and tweets we have received from your fellow guests.
As to the fused light our Health and Safety Policy is to instruct our team during night porter hours not to use ladders, and I understand all other lights were working.
As to breakfast well we are sorry you were disappointed but as your review opinion on the dinner was such, this was to be regrettably expected.
Yes disappointing is right, but for for different reasons.
Yours sincerely
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Powys
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

we stayed at the hotel for a 2 day conference which included a formal dinner on the first night.
The conference facilities were excellent. Breakfast both mornings was great with a selection of fish dishes and eggs Benedict on offer, as well as the usual cereals and 'full welsh'.
The staff were friendly and efficient and the rooms were clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the 3rd floor with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Such lovely comments, thank you and we were pleased to read how excellent you thought the conference facilities and service was and it is much appreciated by the team.
So we only hope as well as business, there will be an opportunity to return for just a little relaxation.
Kind regards
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

We had a very nice large room overlooking the water and it was wonderful. Particularly good was the service and quality of the food in the restaurant. We wished we could have stayed longer! It was a little on the pricey side but we felt it represented good value for money. Parking an issue but luckily we managed to find a spot right at the door!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Macca6178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
A lovely review thank you for taking the time to post it.
As for parking which can be a difficulty in Llandudno, we offer as much assistance with parking and would advise on arrival, park firstly at the main entrance and reception and our concierge will advise on the best alternative. St George's has one of the biggest car parks for hotels in the town and there are a number of other options.
Finally we will look forward to you hopefully visiting again and will ensure there is a warm welcome from all the team at St George's.
Best wishes
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

The Llandudno seafront is looking as smart as ever with many of its shoulder-to-shoulder hotels freshly decorated. The St George is no exception.

One of the grandest hotels in North Wales, St George boasts a long list of VIP guests over the years including Prime Ministers from Churchill to Brown (hope they gave the room a good clean afterwards).

The interior seems to have enjoyed a major make-over recently. Knowing how long it takes to paint the living room at home, I can't imagine the amount of work needed on an old place like this with its many architectural features and detailed plasterwork. Suffice to say it's all been done very neatly.

My room was fine, given how difficult it must be to bring these old buildings to a state of high modernisation. The bed was comfortable and wi-fi worked well. The spacious ensuite bathroom was fitted out for a disabled guest - nothing wrong with that except the loo seat wouldn't stay up because of the large padded back rest. At night the bathroom was bathed in an eerie orange glow from the sodium floodlights outside. Not a nuisance as I could shut the door on it. If anything it made the room feel more cosy!

Dinner was a semi-formal affair with freshly-laundered napery and attentive service from our waitress, who hailed from somewhere far to the east of Llandudno. She had a delightful way of pronouncing "veggie-tables". Less delightful was the extra charge that appeared on the bill when we asked for more veggie-tables, which she implied would come automatically if we ran short.

The others in my party said they enjoyed the meal but I have to say the duck dish I ordered was not quite right. The meat was chewy (in fairness they did describe it as "pink" on the menu but that shouldn't necessarily mean tough). Worse, it had an overwhelming aroma of tarragon, probably from the bed of red cabbage on which the meat sat. Again in fairness I'm no great fan of this herb unless it is used very sparingly, but here it was too pungent by any standards as it masked the flavour of everything else. All rather disappointing, which is a shame you're paying around £20 for a main course.

Unfortunately, breakfast was little better. In name it was the real thing - "full Welsh" - but didn't quite happen on the plate. As something of a brekky addict I much prefer the help-yourself version where you can pick exactly what you want from the spread. The first morning at St George was waiter service, an approximation of one's choice brought to the table. Despite the sparkling crockery and crisp tablecloth it all looked and tasted tired and congealed, as if it had been hanging around half the night waiting to be eaten. The coffee and toast was good.

Next morning was a buffet arrangement; though still served up by a waitress you could at least pick what you wanted. This was a slight improvement on yesterday's offering but spoilt by flavourless bacon and tomatoes that tasted as if they were going off - that musty smell of low-grade fruit that's gone sleepy after being stored too long. A small thing, I admit, but not what you expect for around £100 a night B&B.

All the staff we met were very pleasant and professional, right down to the chambermaid who helpfully found me a safety pin for my remembrance poppy. This is a five star hotel in many ways but loses a star for attention required in the culinary department.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulHowardCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review of your recent stay, and we so appreciate, your kind comments regarding our friendly and professional team.
We of course note your points regarding the food and regret any aspect that detracted but appreciate you mention that the others in your party enjoyed their meals.
We do hope there will be an opportunity for you to return to Llandudno and if so please contact me directly so I may personally assure you of a warm welcome and enjoyable dining.
Kind regards
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#35 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George's Hotel

Property: St. George's Hotel
Address: The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LG, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#7 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#10 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#14 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. George's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Llandudno and all that the North Wales Coast has to offer in stylish sophistication and contemporary luxury at the AA Hotel of the Year for Wales. The Award Winning St Georges Hotel, cleverly combines traditional Victorian elegance and its stunning setting with the comfort of a luxurious 4 star Hotel. Every detail of the hotel is designed to offer a relaxed, intimate atmosphere, calm moods and a fresh, professional approach to service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, LateRooms, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your St. George's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Llandudno
St Georges Hotel Llandudno
St George Hotel Llandudno
St. George's Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing