We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not as expected”
Review of St. George's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. George's Hotel
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good but not as expected”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hotel is recently decorated and so carries the benefits of looking good. On arrival the receptionist and 'porter' were deep in conversation which they continued until I interrupted them. Otherwise the staff we aware and courteous.

Breakfast was a wonderful selection of choices.

The room was smaller than expected given that I had been told it had a seating area. The bathroom was very small and poorly appointed with a rackety shower screen which constantly bumps the person taking a shower.

Our sea view was through dirty windows and gull-stained windowsills. Otherwise the hotel is very clean inside.

A nice hotel and expensive for what it delivers.

Room Tip: Bear in mind that front rooms have view of sea and there may be street lights glaring in and sea gul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank id27226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Well thank you for reviewing and for your mixed comments.
It is nice to read that the considerable and extensive refurbishment and painting of St George's results in you thinking it ''looks good.''
We do note your arrival could have been better, but encouraged that you found our team polite and courteous, however would agree that a warm welcome is a lovely first impression, and will look to provide every time.
We are pleased to read,you found our breakfasts so enjoyable, however as for your room, we regret you were disappointed and would advise booking direct with Eve on Reservations who will always assist in finding the best room available.
We do of course have our windows regularly cleaned, however bad weather and yes seagulls can frustrate us no matter how hard we try, but appreciate you felt we provided, good standards of housekeeping.
As to finding better value, my suggestion would be to look on our website rather than a third party for any special offers or promotions.
Kind regards
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    809
    356
    109
    40
    31
See reviews for
276
635
37
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sassari
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We returned for our one year anniversary and the service was as fantastic as on our wedding day. The room was gorgeous with a massive bathroom, the meal by the window overlooking the front was delicious and the breakfast in bed was the icing on the cake. The best thing about the hotel is its staff as they are all friendly and willing to do anything to deliver good service. Natasha in particular helped to make our wedding wonderful and also our anniversary stay so thank-you very much. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SassariCharlieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Well first our very best wishes for your 1st. wedding anniversary and where has that year gone?
I would have to agree the best thing about St George's is the team, undoubtedly.
Thank you, for mentioning Natasha, who is invaluable to the hotel and our bridal couples, in making their weddings so special.
Best Wishes
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Enjoyed my stay at the hotel. We had a family room, two single beds and a sofa bed. Not enormous but a nice size room. The bathroom was a good size and clean except the mastic around the bath was discoloured. All the things were there that you expect from a hotel of this quality. The staff were very accommodating to our demands - more tea, milk, duvet and the complimentary water they supply etc. Llandudno was great for the kids, the beach was across the road, we went crabbing on the pier and played in the arcades. There are some nice walks from the hotel. We travelled by train which worked really well as the train station is really close to the hotel. There are a lot of restaurants and cafes. We kept going to Fortes for the ice cream. Do not feed the seagulls from the bedroom windows because you will have them banging on the window at 6am and putting their heads under the gap in the window and dragging bits outside.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for reviewing and telling us about your memorable family holiday. It is so encouraging to read how as a family you enjoyed Llandudno and it's attractions so much, and of course, not forgetting, St George's.
Hope we will be welcoming you all back at the next opportunity.
Kindest Regards and Best Wishes
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This hotel is definitely the best in Llandudno. I stayed here for one night with family for my Grandad's 88th birthday. The service from start to finish was outstanding. Staff were friendly, polite and showed great attention to detail with a personal touch without being intrusive. Sadly many of the major hotel chains lack these personal qualities which is why this hotel wins hands down.

The rooms a beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean, ours boasted a spectacular sea view. My Grandad was well looked after being given a complementary glass of sparkling wine and birthday cards from the staff that really made his day. A special mention to Valerie and the restaurant staff who were so friendly and looked after my Grandad so well. They are an asset to the hotel.

The hotel offers fine dining with delicious ingredients. We definitely hope to return in the near future. I would unreservedly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Llandudno or North Wales.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
A wonderful and kind review, thank you so much and so encouraging for the team, Valerie being especially pleased to be mentioned.
Special family occasions and such ''get together's '' mean a lot, and we are so pleased we contributed to the celebrations of Grandad's 88th......Well done Grandad !!
We hope we'll see you back for his next one...
With kind regards and best wishes to you all.
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed 2 nights with our 4 year old son who loved it. Family room good size and clean.

Great spot for the beach. Parking really difficult (general for llandudno) but managed to find somewhere.

Staff what should be expected of 4 star hotel but not personal.

We stayed bed and breakfast and both were of a good standard, though on 2nd morning they ran out of food for parts of the cooked breakfast (not something that should be expected !)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trainer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for reviewing, though not fully understanding some of the ratings given. Would have to say that the team, as shown by the hundreds of reviews are a friendly and enthusiastic team, and so really regret that personable aspect didn't come through for you.
We hope you will return to St George's and if so, promise you a warm welcome and enjoyable stay.
Kind regards
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

only stayed here for a sort time just loved the place, must come back one day
free car park too, only down side some knob head scraped my car while staying there, the staff tried there best with there cctv to i define the culprit with no result, but this not the hotels fault, apart from that we had an enjoyable stay here

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Well thank you for reviewing and we are so pleased you ''loved'' St George's.
It was so unfortunate regarding the car scrape, though the car park has cctv coverage it can be difficult at times to have a positive result.
Hopefully though we will see you back at St George's and James, our concierge will arrange specially, improved parking arrangements, so please contact me directly when the time comes.
Kind Regards and Best Wishes.
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed over bank holiday weekend and all in all had a pleasant stay. The greet was average at reception but should have been better. No offer of help was forthcoming to carry luggage. The room was clean and freshly serviced. The breakfast was first class and as good as any I have had. The restaurant staff were helpful and attentive. The hotel was at capacity but I guess this was to be expected on a bank holiday weekend.
Parking is at a premium with a limited number of spaces. The concierge do their best to assist the parking with a smile. The floors and landings look a little tired in places and they would benefit from an update and new carpets. The bar meals in the terrace restaurant were of good value and nicely served by the staff.
Overall, would stay again but that final finishing touch expected in a 4 star hotel was missing.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Well we do appreciate you will look to 'stay again.' and thank you for your balanced comments, we do look to offer assistance with luggage, including as you experienced, with our concierge all assistance, as well, with parking.
Of the 7 corridors and 5 landings, a rolling, never ending program of redecoration, is being carried out, with half completed, always the more difficult to work through the busy summer months,however I hope you did notice the amazing improvement there has been with the external painting now completed.
We hope and feel sure, on your return visit you will see the best of St George's.
All our best wishes
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,185 reviews
0.7 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
749 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
319 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
668 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George's Hotel

Property: St. George's Hotel
Address: The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LG, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#9 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#10 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#14 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. George's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Llandudno and all that the North Wales Coast has to offer in stylish sophistication and contemporary luxury at the AA Hotel of the Year for Wales. The Award Winning St Georges Hotel, cleverly combines traditional Victorian elegance and its stunning setting with the comfort of a luxurious 4 star Hotel. Every detail of the hotel is designed to offer a relaxed, intimate atmosphere, calm moods and a fresh, professional approach to service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your St. George's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Llandudno
St Georges Hotel Llandudno
St George Hotel Llandudno
St. George's Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing