We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family reunion” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. George's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St. George's Hotel
Ranked #13 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family reunion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Ten members of my family went to Llandudno for a reunion with a further eleven relatives
The hotel gave us a great time. My wife stated the breakfast was the best ever anywhere.(I agree) All staff were charming and helpful. We congratulate them all

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Marvelous to know the reunion went so well, and we contributed to such a special occasion, for all the family.
I have to agree, the breakfasts do seem to be so popular, and we try to provide a wide choice and offer local products, where we can.
Well we do hope it's not too long, before another family get to together and we shall look forward, to welcoming you back to St George's.
With all our best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    337
    104
    38
    29
See reviews for
270
614
34
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Morfa Nefyn, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed at the St George on Saturday 11th May and had an absolutely fantastic weekend.

Parking was not a problem, there were spaces available at the back of the hotel, meant a very short walk to the hotel with our bags.

We arrived at 1.30pm for a cream tea, and although the hotel was busy with a wedding on, the staff were efficient, friendly and ensured we were served quickly. Even a request for an extra cup and plate was met with a smile. We couldn't finish all the lovely scones, and the waitress kindly put them on a plate with jams and a knife and covered with clingfilm so we could enjoy them later in our room.

Our room was ready early, and when we entered we couldn't have been happier. Travelling with my son who is 6 we were delighted to see a large spacious room with an extra bed for my son, meant there was still plenty of room to move around. Such a lovely touch to leave him an activities/colouring pack on his bed, it meant he felt special and it was really appreciated!

Lovely fresh cotton crisp white bedding and soft fluffy towels. Everything was very clean and comfortable! A good selection of toiletries, tea and coffees with yummy biscuits and the bottled water was really apreciated!

We had a truly wonderful weekend, the hotel is so well situated being right in the middle of llandudno, but without the noise! so much to see and do for all ages to enjoy!

We had a great nights sleep, again with the wedding going on we were worried that we may hear some noise, but we didn't hear a peep, it was so peaceful and we slept well, my son who normally wakes up at 6am slept in until 7am - what a treat!

Breakfast was lovely again, we were served quickly and efficiently. Fantastic selection of fruit and pastries, a hot buffet, AND choices on the menu. I opted for the smoked haddock and poached egg, and it was one of the best breakfasts I've had in a long time.

All in all we had a perfect stay, I wouldn't highly recommend this to anyone. Fantastic with or without children, nothing too much trouble for the staff, and in a great location!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review and it is so much appreciated by all the team. It is encouraging to read how even with such a busy hotel you still found the service and overall stay so good and so thank you again.
We hope with or without the whole family we shall be welcoming you back soon to Llandudno and St George's.
All our best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed at St Georges for a weekend break. The hotel is well placed for a stroll on the beach or if you fancy a bit of shopping. Lovely clean room, fantastic food, very welcoming and helpful staff. We will certainly be staying at St Georges again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
To the point and couldn't have been better or more appreciated.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

The St Georges Hotel is situated in a prominent position on Llandudnos sea front, It is clean, well appointed and the staff are absolutely great.
The rooms are clean and tidy, with all needs catered for, plenty of tea and coffee readily available.
I have two tips.
Book a room with a sea view, but be aware that occasionally the sea gulls are quite noisey, and if you get a chance, try the fish and chips in the restaurant down stairs. My wife and I had the best ever fish and chips, great freshly cooked ,excellent light batter, dry and crisp chips and fab mushy peas !!!

Room Tip: Grab a sea view its worth it to just wake up to the view on a clear morning! Ask about regular room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
A lovely review, thank you and you made me smile, with the comment on the noisy seagulls.
We hope it won't be too long before returning to St George's, and will make sure the batter is light and crisp and the Seagulls quiet and clean.
Well we'll get one of them right at least.
All our best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Me and my wife had a 2 night stay at the St George' Hotel in sunny (and it was!) Llandudno. The staff were so friendly and helpful, the location is fabulous with lovely views looking out to sea - we had a room with sea view. Came at a premium but worth it, especially as it was a Bank Holiday and prices were obviously inflated. The first impression of the place is fantastic from its great location and the pristine and ornate reception area. The staff on reception seemed genuinely welcoming and pleased to help us check in. Our room was comfortable albeit a bit small (Room 222) but for 2 nights we coped. It was well equipped with iron and ironing board (which was really helpful as we were in Llandudno to attend a staff reunion so we could get our clothes all crease free after them being in the suitcase) sadly no fridge as they clearly wanted you to drink at the bar - in fact if they found drinks in your room cork-age would be charged! The beds was comfy and clean and we slept very well for being in a strange bed (I can never sleep in these places anyway - my failing, not theirs) - and not squeaky for a change! Housekeeping staff were really friendly and check out was efficient. It was expensive (£380 for two nights, incl welsh breakfast which was served by staff so you couldn't over indulge on the bacon!) which is much more than I'd usually spend on a hotel. I would definitely recommend this hotel as some on the front have clearly seen better days. It's so easy to get around, everything is pretty much in walking distance and the hotel's location really facilitates this, whilst enjoying a good scenic position. The night life is virtually non existent and the restaurants are very few so would recommend eating in the Hotel if you get stuck elsewhere. Don't miss a trip up the Orme on the tram built in 1902 as it's still going strong - a must as the views are stunning! For the fitter traveller I dare you to walk! Enjoy folks.

Room Tip: Suggest you book a room with a Sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markco47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Well we do appreciate your kind words especially regarding your first impression and our team.
Yet we hope the lasting impression, will be to return to Llandudno and St George's and if so, for best value do contact our Reservations who will offer the best rates and promotions.
We hope to welcome you back soon to St George's.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had visited St George's a year earlier, staying in a large room on the top floor (highest numbered room in the hotel) so when I called to book a room over the May Day holiday I was pleasantly surprised to be offered a room with a view, and a balcony!
Room 121. The corridor leading to the room had great Victorian character with huge pictures adorning the walls. But as soon as you entered the room, the Victorian charm disappeared and you were confronted by a small box, totally stripped of its past character.
It was just as well the weather was nice so we could enjoy the balcony.
Nights were awful. Either you were too cold or too hot. Awake due to the noise of the air conditioning unit or awake due to the temperature of the room.
There were no windows to open, just a door, which if opened, would render the room insecure.
Staff encountered were friendly however. Breakfast was good, but the star of the show must be the dinner. We'd booked one for Saturday night and the location (Terrace) was just stunning. It is a far superior meal to the one offered by the hotel beginning with an I (that shall not be named).
Saying that though we decided on Saturday to repeat this experience on Sunday, but as we'd not prebooked it was charged an extra 18 pounds for the privilege. If you're deciding to have a dinner, prebook it before you arrive.
it would have been nice if I'd been told of the £1 I was being charged on my bill too (charity donation).
That said three things spring to mind.
1/ I would come again but not come during the Victorian Extravaganza (first weekend in May)
2/ Have a larger room like the one we had last June.
3/ Prebook dinners and save 18 quid.

Room Tip: Don't choose a sea view room on the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flikster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for reviewing, I would say the room is the smallest of our sea view rooms, however does have the benefit of our beautiful balcony...which I have to say has plenty of character and am pleased to read how much you enjoyed it.
But we regret you were uncomfortable, the air conditioning can be put on timed or alternatively the bathroom window could have been opened. But can we say thank you for all your kind remarks and yes an incentive for guests booking we do include a discounted dinner rate.
The £1.00 charity donation to the local children's hospice is left to choice on settling the account.
I would ask when next considering a return please do contact me directly to assist in the arrangements and to ensure we offer you the right room for your next stay at St George's.
Thank you and our very best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llandudno
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed recently as we were going to a concert at Venue Cymru, hotel in grat location for venue. Good staff, lovely room, spotlesly clean with a great view of the promenade. Nice breakfast. Not cheap, but nice for a treat, would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review, it is so very much appreciated.
Wonderful to know you will return and suggest calling Reservations for our best offers and promotions.
Thank you again and all best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.7 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#36 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#9 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George's Hotel

Property: St. George's Hotel
Address: The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LG, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#7 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#10 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#14 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. George's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Llandudno and all that the North Wales Coast has to offer in stylish sophistication and contemporary luxury at the AA Hotel of the Year for Wales. The Award Winning St Georges Hotel, cleverly combines traditional Victorian elegance and its stunning setting with the comfort of a luxurious 4 star Hotel. Every detail of the hotel is designed to offer a relaxed, intimate atmosphere, calm moods and a fresh, professional approach to service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your St. George's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Llandudno
St Georges Hotel Llandudno
St George Hotel Llandudno
St. George's Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing