We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Orme view? Strictly speaking maybe!?”
Review of St. George's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. George's Hotel
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Orme view? Strictly speaking maybe!?”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I'll be interested to see if the manager responds to our review as I emailed the hotel before I posted this review (a week ago) to see if they had any thoughts on what we experienced before we went to Tripadvisor and they didn't acknowledge us or reply (we gave them a chance). Therefore I feel that perspective clients need to know about the Orme View room and how conned they will feel upon walking in.


The room that we stayed in was definitely not what we expected. Orme View - room 400 - described as follows by the hotel:-
"This new and unique room is located on the 4th floor of the hotel. Floor-to-ceiling windows offer stunning views over the Great Orme and the Pier. The room has a standard sized double bed, touch screen smart TV and a deluxe walk-in Shower with rain canopy"
Firstly the room in the photo on the hotel website does not appear to be the room we stayed in.

In the room the windows are indeed large (but not floor to ceiling), but the way that the room is set up, does not allow guests to look out of the windows from any angle apart from if you sat on the windowsill or stood up. The room is high long and thin (2 ft / 3ft either side of the bed) with a sofa at the end of the bed (also missing from the hotel's room photo) which meant that the whole experience was something like sitting in a train carriage.

All furniture faces the opposite way from the views, which means if you want to enjoy watching a person accross the street cooking their tea (the main view), you have to do this standing up. Yes you can see the Orme beyond the hotels opposite, but this is not a special or unique room worthy of it's price tag. In fact we wondered if it had once been used as an office or for storage or perhaps staff quarters.

At the time we booked we could have picked any room and deeply regret booking the Orme View room (as it wasn't cheap @ £290 for 2 nights). We could have had a proper sea view in a larger better equipped space.
We would urge anyone thinking of upgrading to give this room a miss unless feeling mislead (by the hotels' own photos) is what they want.
Apart from this, we must say that the staff are excellent.

Room Tip: Do not book Orme View upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CG1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
I have contacted you directly on this matter as regrettably I have no knowledge of your original contact, as by my consistent responses over the years on this site alone, I hope it is indicative of our commitment to always respond to any of our guests queries or issues.
I would deny there is any conning...I would ask any TA user just to read the second last review ''AMAZING HOTEL'' Room Tip... 'Ask for the special room on the top floor- Orme View - Unbelievable Views.
However all this doesn't matter, what matters is your opinion and your disappointment and for that I am sorry and hope because of your previous enjoyable stay and your kind remarks how excellent the staff and service was, there will be an opportunity in the future to welcome you back to St George's for an enjoyable and comfortable stay.
Shall look forward to your contact.
With my kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    819
    359
    112
    41
    32
See reviews for
282
642
40
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Eastcote, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We arrived on a busy Saturday lunchtime, with lots of people having lunch and a wedding in full swing. None of this fazed the receptionist who gave us a lovely welcome, stored our bags and gave directions. Later when we went to our room the porter was exceptionally friendly and helpful. We didn't eat in the restaurant although the menu did look good, but went to the bar after eating elsewhere. Things were even more hectic, with a rom full of Christmas parties to add to the restaurant diners and the wedding which was still going strong. Again we had excellent service from very calm bar staff. Most other hotels we have stayed with would be struggling by this point!
An excellent nights sleep with the window open just a little so I could drift off to the sound of the waves.....then a very good breakfast again with friendly attentive waiters despite the fact that we knew they must have had a late night.
Finally at checkout very thoughtful service. A perfect stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyBic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Such a nice review and with such encouraging comments it is appreciated when even though we were very busy our guests still acknowledge the good service and friendliness of all the team.
I hope we will welcome you back to St George's in the future and hopefully you may try our Terrace Restaurant with great food and wonderful views.
Thank you and our best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Truly superb, well worth EVERY PENNY and would recommend to anyone! The room was clean and very well appointed, the food especially in the Restaurant was brilliant and ALL of the staff very warm and welcoming. I will CERTAINLY return FANTASTIC

Room Tip: Ask for the Special Room on the Top Floor - The Orme View - unbelievable views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeT209011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
How very kind and so much appreciated, even better that you will be returning to St George's.
It is lovely to read how much you enjoyed the 'Special Room' and would have to agree the dramatic windows do provide quite a view.
Thank you and all our best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Hotel is in excellent location with the sea on the front and the town just behind. Staff were very friendly and helpful, room was clean and spacious.
Excellent food, I had a steak which was very tender and the price was very reasonable.
Free wi-fi, just ask for the code.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Really pleased to have your comments and do so appreciate you taking the time to review.
We do hope you will return to St George's whether for business or pleasure and can onl y assure you of a warm welcome and another enjoyable stay.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed at the St George's Hotel for my birthday weekend and found it to be a fantastic hotel. We booked the break through Groupon and was not disappointed. We treated ourselves to a three course meal in the hotel restaurant which was one of the best al a carte meals we have had. The service and atmosphere was perfect. We had our 11 week old son with us and was made to feel welcome with him in the dining area and hotel bar. Our room was also lovely, very spacious and had a bottle of wine upon arrival.
We will definatly be returning to the hotel again next year.
Thank you for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Such great comments and thank you for reviewing. It is so encouraging for us all to read how much you enjoyed your stay along with such a memorable meal and more so that you will be wanting to return next year.
all our best wishes and kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

St George’s Hotel, Llandudno
Stayed here late November 2012. A nice hotel, friendly staff, clean; attractive architecture – always nice to be in an attractive building. I had Room 400 – Premier Orme View, 4th floor.
As you enter the room from the lift lobby (it was only a few steps, literally, from the lift – more on this in a minute) you enter a small entrance lobby where you find the wardrobe (hangers, shelves and an iron and ironing board) and a corner cupboard which contains the beverage making materials and a small kettle. There was no notice saying that’s where they are, I had to look.
Then you go up a couple of shallow steps to the main part of the room.
It was a nice room but rather small. Just wide enough for the double bed (comfy) and to get down each side of it. A settee at the footboard, a small space and then the bathroom – no bath but a good shower – again, not spacious. One point – the lift shaft runs right beside the room and you can clearly hear it, which was a nuisance.
I would say it was OK for a single but if I wanted a hotel break with my wife I would definitely want a more spacious and well-appointed room. For a Conference stay it was OK, but I would not want this room again.
Good view of the Orme – and some of the beach and pier.
The breakfast was good – very extensive choices, and good service.
Free WIFI but not in the room – no signal there – seems to be only on the ground floor. Bit of a pain, that.
Very small car park round the back of the hotel – 35 spaces they say. Free. There are a few places at the front of the hotel too, including a few disabled spaces. I managed to get one. You have to ask at Reception and they’ll give you a slip with your reg. no. to put on your dashboard. There was also plenty of parking on the road outside and along the sea front road – but you have to pay for that during the day. I was told this was £1.50 for the period 10am to 4pm and it was free 4pm to 10am.
I would stay here again, but I would want to ask for a better room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveC2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your review and we do note your comments on the room, this being our newest addition which has been so well commented on, however do note your couple of points raised which we will look into.
As for Wifi this free service is always available in all areas, unfortunately there was a difficulty during your stay which has now been remedied. Broadband is available in all rooms with connecting cables available from reception, as well as actually on the 4th. floor where you were, is a business/internet suite available for our guests.
Thank you for all your kind comments and hope we shall see you back at St George's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spennymoor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had booked a classic double room for a hree night weekend break. Upon arrival we asked about the possibility about an upgrade to a sea view room but unfortunately for us (fortunately for the hotel) the hotel was fully booked. We were however offered a sea view room for our third night which we declined as it had meant having to move all our luggage. Our allocated room was very nice with a king size bed and plenty of room to move about and plenty of storage room. Without us asking for it and without us being asked we were allocated a room for disabled access. This may have accounted for the extra space. However the bathroom layout was a bit disconcerting for two people who are relatively tall. The sink was at a lower level (our 8 year old grandson would have loved it) which meant we had to bend down when using the sink. The toilet was raised (not really a bad thing) but had no toilet lid as a fitted back cushion would not allow for this. So we were left looking at a toilet bowl every time we used the low level sink. As the hotel was fully booked we could not ask for another room :(. The WifFi never worked in our room although it worked perfectly in the restaurant. Reception tried to fix this on the first day of our arrival but then forgot to follow it up and when I mentioned it again on day 3 they were surprised that it hadn't been fixed. There was a big wedding on the weekend we stayed so all the staff were busy with the wedding party and guests. We felt a bit like a 3rd wheel. The hotel itself is very nice, warm and clean. No doubt if we had stayed when they were not fully booked we would have received more attention and probably the high standard of service that we expected based on other guests reviews. The hotel is in a lovely location right by the promenade and views across the bay and to the Great Orme are fantastic. There is also quick and easy access to the town centre with a great selection of shops. Parking was a bit of a struggle on the second night because of the wedding party and we had to park in one of the nearby sidestreets.

Room Tip: Rooms facing front entrance (not sea view) will be good. There is not a lot of traffic and the wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Well a mix review stemming clearly from the bathroom facilities being designed for disabled access. The rate charged was for our lowest standard room though you kindly pointed out it was large with a king size bed and good views an advantage, if there had been an alternative room we would have offered a move.
Finally you balanced your remarks and thank you and if ever visiting North Wales again please contact me directly so I may ensure a warm welcome and enjoyable stay
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,209 reviews
0.7 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
775 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#25 of 60 in Llandudno
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
903 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.3 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#11 of 60 in Llandudno
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George's Hotel

Property: St. George's Hotel
Address: The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LG, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#9 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#10 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#14 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. George's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Llandudno and all that the North Wales Coast has to offer in stylish sophistication and contemporary luxury at the AA Hotel of the Year for Wales. The Award Winning St Georges Hotel, cleverly combines traditional Victorian elegance and its stunning setting with the comfort of a luxurious 4 star Hotel. Every detail of the hotel is designed to offer a relaxed, intimate atmosphere, calm moods and a fresh, professional approach to service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your St. George's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Llandudno
St Georges Hotel Llandudno
St George Hotel Llandudno
St. George's Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing