We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother!”
Review of The Risboro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Risboro Hotel
Ranked #46 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Following our recent trip to Llandudno on 20th Sept, I regret to say that I am writing to state how utterly disappointed my wife and I were.

Upon arrival at The Risboro it was apparent immediately that it was not somewhere we would enjoy staying. The smell at reception was not something to relish and we felt that we had just arrived at Bristol zoo, with the array of animals - not something you'd expect at a hotel.

We were given keys to room 14 which I wished I'd read on reviews that had not had the best comments from previous guests. However, keys weren't required as the door was propped open with a stool..
Anyway, the bed was unmade, there were indistinguishable stains on the pillows, wall paper hanging off the wall, shower base propped up on wooden blocks, bedside drawer had not bottom to it, open electrics, a single room made into a double (when a double was requested, seeing as there were 2 of us!), so we asked for a new room.
We were told that we wouldn't have a different room available until the next day.
So unfortunately we had to spend our first night in this sorry state of a room, which was certainly not fit for purpose.

The following day, we asked which room we were moving to and were give keys to room 26. We were told we would have to move our own cases and did so, this second room was not a great of improvement. Here we were met with a toilet with a broken seat and which would not flush, mould in the shower cubicle, damp on the ceiling and no hot water, view of a flat roof covered in debris and rubbish with an old plastic chair - something no-one would want to see when they opened their curtains.

Following dinner that night, we asked to be moved again and were moved once more to room 4. At this point we had yet to shower and unpack our cases and again saw little improvement in the THIRD room. Thought things were on the up (it was dark when we arrived) and only noted here that there were holes in the duvet cover...small issue compared to the previous 2 rooms. However, we woke on our third day to find the bathroom had been flooded by the room above (no 53). We reported the leak to the receptionist who arranged for the leak to be cleaned while we were out, which was done but left a nasty smell.

During our final night, we were kept awake by a noise that sounded like a drill - ALL NIGHT! By now we had lost the will to live and were thankful we we heading home that morning.

Awful place, no great sympathy when asking for assistance and definitely a place not to recommend.
Was glad to get home to have a shower!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DW1232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (629)
There are newer reviews for The Risboro Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 630 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

I wish I had read " Happy Chappie" before I went to this Hotel,my wife and I stayed in room 28 for three nights and its decor was horrible,paper torn off wall,holes drilled in wall,carpet dirty seemed it had never been cleaned. Small bed (4ft) and another single with tissues from previous guests still down the side against the wall .Shower was unusable either red hot or stone cold with pipes hanging off the wall,soap tray covered in grunge and bottom wall tiles black slime, needless to say we did not use it at all,we used our friends who where in another room which was only slighty better.Hairdrier was fitted but did not work .Staff where good except the room cleaner who did not come into the room to clean once or change any towels or crockery.The food was fine for the price paid but all I can say is the room we had should be closed down on health and safety rules

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank reesalan0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was my 3rd stay at the risboro this year and stayed in room 28 no problems. a lot of cosmetic work has been done and is ongoing, the Staff r fantastic and Extremely Friendly. great breakfast buffet,3course evening meal (with fish and vegertarian options) Mike Jameson has a great caberet act and does a BRILLIANT double act with Crystal (alias mark the owner) never laughed so much. I would recommend the Risboro 2 all who want a family run hotel that accepts pets, and want good food and great entertainment. not a hotel 4 miserable people. I am hoping 2 go again b4 xmas.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

First of all, the staff were okay and the owner. Food was average. The decoration of the place let it down badly. In the dining room and lounge, paper was hanging down from the ceiling. Bulbs were missing, small things that could so easily be rectified. A coat of paint was needed on the outside.
DO NOT have room 28. The shower has a line of grease around the bottom tray. the pipes were not fixed to the wall and the shower head kept falling off. The wrong fitting!! The daily cleaner never vaccumed the carpet in the bedroom either. Having said all that, The coach trip was okay.

Room Tip: Do not take room 28 whatever you do!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank happy_chappie024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Lewisham Mencap's holiday for this year was in Llandudno, North Wales. We stayed in the Risboro Hotel which was only a short walk into the town.

Although is quite old it was very comfortable. I had a room of my own. The food was really nice and plenty of it.

The staff were also very nice and did everything they could help and support us.

There was entertainment every night which was really good. The owner of the hotel, Mark, dressed up as a woman and his act was very funny. The other entertainers were also very good.

In the foyer there were two parrotts, one wasn't very friendly but Rocky was very tame and came out of his cage to have a walk across the floor to greet us.

When we left to come home all the staffgot on our coach to say goodbye and wish us a safe journey back to London.

I would like to go back there again for another holiday

Room Tip: The rooms was absolutely first class
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lloyd_page
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Great welcome to a very friendly family run hotel. The main lounges were very nice and comfortable. The food was excellent and all the staff were really very helpful and attentive. The owners Mother seemed to be on the go from morning till night but always found time for a chat. Very well situated for the promenade and the shops and not too far to get to Snowden and the other beauty spots around. My only comment would be that the gym could have done without a new mattress in there and the sauna around the lovely pool could have done with not being a store room. I think the bedrooms although spacious and clean could do with a refresh to make it all that bit more of a better experience. We would go again, but the improvements would be nice.

Room Tip: Lift to all floors
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heather1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have just returned from the risboro hotel, I was very hesitant to go after awful reviews but after speaking to a very reassuring receptionist on booking was prepared to give it a go.
As soon as we arrived our room which was promised had been given to someone else ,this straight away spoilt it for us .we were shown three other rooms none of which look like pictures on Internet ,very tired and in need of a good spruce up especially in bathrooms.
We chose best out of three which was twin bedded ( not what we booked).
It really set the weekend off to a bad start and we spent most of morning trying to find alternative accomadation but been bank holiday had no chance.
We went and unpacked and got ready for dinner which I have to say dining room immaculate and service first class, we did smile though as my husband ordered mackerel and got kippers( with cauliflower etc) didn't seen right but he said they tasted nice, breakfast was fine and self service if you didn't eat enough it was your own fault.
Linen and towels were brilliant white.
Sorry but I think parrots in reception look very messy and give a very wrong impression.
I found out on checking out that our room had been given away by lady ( who I think but not sure checked us in) and NOT Nathan as she tried to blame , we don't blame you Nathan.
A very friendly gentleman checked us out and apologised for mistake .
Wouldn't say we will never go back but it will have to be when it is more presentable in bedrooms.
We paid a fair price for what we got ,but would pay more for better quality .

Room Tip: Sorry didn't see any
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dido50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.4 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#50 of 60 in Llandudno
842 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dunoon
Dunoon
#27 of 60 in Llandudno
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New Loretta Hotel
The New Loretta Hotel
#54 of 60 in Llandudno
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#20 of 60 in Llandudno
1,250 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#40 of 60 in Llandudno
463 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Risboro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Risboro Hotel

Address: 1 Clement Avenue, Llandudno LL30 2ED, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Llandudno
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: $34 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Risboro is perfectly placed for exploring the beauties and historic treasures of North Wales. Anglesey, Snowdonia, and the scenic Conwy and Denbigh coasts surround the Victorian resort of Llandudno which stands on the low isthmus that joins the Limestone rock of The Great Orm to the mainland. The Gardens of Bodnant and the Castles of Conwy, Penrhyn, Canaerfon and Beaumaris are all close by as are the mountains of the Snowdonia National Park and the Great Little Trains of Wales Llandudno boasts two beaches—the North shore with its elegant crescent of hotels and Victorian pier, and the wilder west shore, famous for inspiring Lewis Carroll to write Alice in Wonderland, with its sand dunes and fabulous views towards the mountains, the Menai Straits and the medieval walled town of Conwy. The Risboro sits between the two beaches at the foot of the Orm—a stone’s throw from the tram station for the summit of the Orm and at the western end of the vibrant town centre. with its wide range of shops, cafes and restaurants. Whatever your age there is a great holiday awaiting you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Risboro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llandudno Hotel Risboro
Risboro Hotel Llandudno
The Risboro Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing