We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hotel stay 9th August 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Risboro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Risboro Hotel
Ranked #46 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“hotel stay 9th August 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Well, where do i start!! these people writing bad reviews and nasty comments are lies and portray the hotel as if its of poor quality, yes it is a bit dated and tired but the owners are improving the facilities of the hotel to make accomadtion more to everybodys taste. The problem is people expect champagne lifestyles on a lemonade budget, get a grip you only get what you pay for. On a good note the food was of a nice standard hot, well presented and food of nice quality, dining room was immaculate. The rooms where dated, but the bedding and towels where pure white and could tell they where laundered well. Entertainment was fantastic. Some people just dont give people a chance, dont they reliase the hotel operated 365 days a year, and the owners are doing there best, they still need income in like everybody else. If only people looked at the bigger picture rather than making derogatery comments maybe they would see sense We had a ball, very laid back weekend, off good quality and good company, staff where also very helpful and pleasent. Thank you for a lovely stay at the risboro hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are currently being upgraded and re-decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    184
    73
    44
    88
See reviews for
96
179
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I booked a Mon - Fri break 3 weeks ago for the next week I booked for my dad and two grandparents and my younger cousin. It was very last minute but I called the hotel after finding it on google and told them what I needed rooms wise, the lad I spoke to was so helpful and accommodating I told him that 3 out of the 4 guests where disabled and 1 of them was in an electric wheel chair. He told me the rooms I had booked gave me a description I was happy so then confirmed the booking. Then horror struck I made a rookie mistake I actually work for a travel agents and have done for years as well as working on cruise ships. I NEVER CHECKED THE REVIEWS !! I was so worried after reading all the horrendous reviews I contemplated canceling the break for them. Instead I called the hotel the hotel and spoke to the manager I told him about my concerns he assured me that they would do everything they could to accommodate them and that they where in the process of doing over the rooms as and when they can. He told me that 1 of the rooms I had booked had been renovated in the last 12 months and one of me hadn't. He put my mind at ease and the fact he was honest with me about the rooms settled my mind. My family went on the Monday and I gave them I call to see how they where getting on (I was crapping myself !!) my dad said they had arrived at the hotel and there was a mix up with the rooms which was sorted straight away. My grandad can only sleep in a chair and the staff where so helpful they even put an arm chair and stool in his room and removed the bed for him. My dad needed clothes washing one night and one of the female members of staff possibly Dana ??? Washed them for him. My family said that there was a lot of choice for breakfast and that the soup was the nicest soup that they had had in years. The lady on the first night changed their dining table to accommodate for them for access. I am so glad that I didn't cancel because of the reviews and they are already planning for there next stay at the hotel in October thank you so much to all the staff that helped make their little break truly amazing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed at the Risboro fri to mon very good hotel in a good position too seafront staff cant do enough for you , food very good yes there are parrots and lizards in cages but they are all very well kept, lots of stairs and steps with a small lift that goes too the 2nd floor but one floor above that good swimming pool i would go back again how its got such bad press is beyond me well worth a visit well run

Room Tip: low numbers are on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonypandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Risboro Hotel at the beginning of July. Do not be taken in by the brochure as the hotel is far from what is portrayed in it. There is a collection of parrots and lizards in cages in the Reception area! The roof garden was inaccessible due to furniture blocking the stairway up to it. The male changing area of the pool had no lighting, no fitting for the shower head in the one and only male shower cubicle, dirty first aid plasters on the floor which made it clear that the whole area was not serviced regularly. The lounge bar was often unattended. The room was dirty and had broken furniture. The bathroom had black mould round the bath and wash basin/taps and the bathroom suite was an assortment of colours. The cutlery/crockery in the Restaurant was dirty. We have been in many and "old and tired" hotel in our travels but this one beats them all. We read reviews about this hotel before we booked and thought maybe it wouldn't be as bad as some of the reviews given but it was! In our opinion, this hotel should be closed down as it is a health and safety risk. Thankfully the weather was good!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BruFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Just on my way back from a weeks stay in the Risboro Hotel Llandudno ( Gee Vee coach travel )

I will start from the very beginning & give my honest opion I'm not a picky person or just being nasty just stating the facts so others know & after talking to alot of people am sure many agree. I did read the reviews but thought it can't be that dirty!!!!

The Coach driver was great no problems at all always friendly & reliable!!

On arriving at the hotel we were greeted by young guy ( can't remember his name ) was 26 i think looked alot younger, he was always really friendly, helpful & genuine!! We were told that the rooms we requested were not ready til tomorrow so could we swop then, annoying as we had rung twice to make sure as my family have restricted mobility & swopping rooms Isnt as easy as that. This was sorted out but not a great start.

The rooms are terrible & scabby & old fashioned. I wasn't expecting a 5* by any means . But I expect a clean room, this was NOT. I know everyone has different options on clean but I assure you it was mucky by any standards you could write your name in dirt on the telephone, wall paper in places was hangin off. This comment on dirty rooms is put alot SORT IT OUT!! The cleaner really DOES NOT do a good job!! The TV was sooo old I wouldn't bother putting it in, the shower just trickled. My grandad didt have a shower, some rooms don't which is very odd for hotels not to have a shower these days.

My door key opened my mum / dads room & my Auntys & next but 1s I found this out by mistake . Not safe at all!!!!! Why does this happen!! God knows what other keys opened what!?

Maid service wasn't good. I did get clean towels everyday ( some didt ) but our bed was only made once, dont know why?? think she came in dumped the towels & left. Sink never cleaned. Does anyone check the maid or cleaners work ever??

Breakfast was good plenty of it, waiting staff are brilliant nothing is too much trouble for them. Dinner is quite poor very processed & limited choice the desert menu is very boring was almost the same every night.


Entertainment was pretty good. Altnough it didt turn up 1 night. ( 4 out of 6 nights on ) Elvis was good but he is on twice in the week, needs something different really. Mark I think his name was the other singer was good, bubbley & friendly. The last night was a drag act that was good.

The swimming pool was dirty round the sides the window had green slime down it from just not been cleaned properly! Why isn't this hotel cleaned properly ?? Who cleans it?? Get a new cleaner.

Llandudno is a great place very friendly & great for people with restricted mobility as the sea front shopping area are nice and flat.

The Risboro has terrible disabled access, to say mainly older people stop there. We struggled round the back entrance through a fire door with 3 wheel chairs which led into the ballroom where someone put an old unsafe looking ramp down on a very steep step. ( she was very helpful ) but was a joke!

There are parrots in cages in reception as other people mention my boyfriend loved them I quite liked them some thought it was weird!!

The Risboro is old fashioned which i dont mind yeah the carpet is old but NO EXCUSE for dirt!! Shirting boards not clean.

Thanks to the staff that did help us out on our stay & get cleaning & updating the rooms. Unfortunetly we will not be returning to the Risboro!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rowellen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a weekend break in the Risboro hotel and after reading the reviews we were a bit nervous to go, however I can honestly say that these reviews in my opinion are some way from the truth. The staff are exceptionally hard working and polite, The rooms are clean and tidy. The food was delicious with a good selection and the entertainment was first class. All in all we would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and will be returning in August

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jenks8055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Dirty hotel rooms not cleaned every day even if you asked. The bathroom not cleaned the whole week we were there. try to pack in as many people as possible without having suitable rooms to allocate. In our group some had good rooms others had to put up with what we were given .Would not recommend and if I had been on my own would have left the same evening we arrived.I do not recognise the description posted by Paddy who was on the same tour.Others in the group also complained. Shabby I can take but dirty no.

Room Tip: Was only offered the same but on another floor slightly cleaner
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ann t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.4 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#51 of 59 in Llandudno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#36 of 59 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#14 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.2 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#10 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Risboro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Risboro Hotel

Property: The Risboro Hotel
Address: 1 Clement Avenue, Llandudno LL30 2ED, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Llandudno
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Risboro is perfectly placed for exploring the beauties and historic treasures of North Wales. Anglesey, Snowdonia, and the scenic Conwy and Denbigh coasts surround the Victorian resort of Llandudno which stands on the low isthmus that joins the Limestone rock of The Great Orm to the mainland. The Gardens of Bodnant and the Castles of Conwy, Penrhyn, Canaerfon and Beaumaris are all close by as are the mountains of the Snowdonia National Park and the Great Little Trains of Wales Llandudno boasts two beaches—the North shore with its elegant crescent of hotels and Victorian pier, and the wilder west shore, famous for inspiring Lewis Carroll to write Alice in Wonderland, with its sand dunes and fabulous views towards the mountains, the Menai Straits and the medieval walled town of Conwy. The Risboro sits between the two beaches at the foot of the Orm—a stone’s throw from the tram station for the summit of the Orm and at the western end of the vibrant town centre. with its wide range of shops, cafes and restaurants. Whatever your age there is a great holiday awaiting you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Risboro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llandudno Hotel Risboro
Risboro Hotel Llandudno
The Risboro Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing