We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ta Very Much for a Beltin' week!!”
Review of Bay County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay County Hotel
Ranked #30 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed February 11, 2011

This hotel was clean, comfortable and welcoming. The service was excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful. We felt at home here! The food was good value for money too.
We went self drive but were able to join in the coach trips which gave us a chance to see alot more of the surrounding area - than we would have done if we went out of our own bat.
Thanks again.x

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ratherbe59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2011

Great to read your comments we have put them on our staff board
for all to see thanks.

Regards

Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (711)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

658 - 664 of 711 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2011

Had a lovely weekend apart from the weather.Could not fault the hotel.The food was very good,the staff were very friendly and helpful.The rooms were very clean.The entertainment was very good.We are in our seventies and have used Shearings hotels before and found this hotel one of the best.We will definitely be going again.
The Jones family from Bolton

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ben187053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2011

To be one of the best in the Shearings group is high praise indeed. Glad you enjoyed our full entertainment programme no need to go out in that freezing weather we had.

Regards

Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2011

just returned from a 5 day break at the county hotel in Llandudno.Wonderful hotel,we had a sea view room,lovely and warm,clean,tea and coffee provided,excellent facilities.we went all inclusive with Shearings.Good entertainment every evening,bingo,all inclu drinks very good,apart from the misery guts in the upstairs bar who upset one of our friends by saying that he was "stockpiling drinks "when he was not.we felt like he thought it was his beer he was giving away!lovely position on the promenade,a 10 minute walk to the town centre.Excellent food,same service,Special mention to Lucas the waiter he was very efficient and polite too!All in all we could recommend the county to anyone and certainly will be returning soon!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BoltonPrendi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

The staff here are friendly and helpful people which makes a tremendous difference t any holiday.
I've stayed at the County Regularly and I'm always made very welcome!
The rooms are spacious enough and I prefer an en suite with a bath - all exactly as requested.
However, the roast lamb at dinner was bland and tasteless, whilst the bacon at breakfast was unbelievably crisp with just one tomato! Portions certainly appeared to be smaller this visit...

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FabFizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

we went on a tom jones caberet weekendOn arrival we went to our room it was on floor minus one There was a light missing it was very gloomy with a bad smell My partner went to reception and asked for another room We paid 30 pounds extra and got a sea view room on third floor On returning from the day trip the next day the room was freezing cold Phoned reception who said they would send someone up After half an hour i went down to reception who found a heater to plug in Apart from these minor problems the rest of the trip was fineThe driver entertainment food and staff were all goodWe complained to shearings as we had been charged extra for a room not fit for purpose without the temporary heater to no avail Thanks shearings

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jimbob025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2010

Nice hotel, bedrooms very warm and roomy. Our waiter in the dining room Dunson (think thats how its spelt) was excelent no waiting for service always helpful and polite. Nat king cole tribute was good.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wray1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

What a great holiday! This hotel was all we could ask for. The service was excellent and we were well looked after. My only complaint was the cost in the bar!
Not only was the hotel good but also our driver. Nothing was too much trouble for Ken - he thought nothing of putting my Mum's wheelchair on and off the coach and made sure everything was right for her. Unfortunately, for Shearings, this was Ken's last tour as he retired at the end of the week!
I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tattyali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.5 mi away
Bay Marine Hotel
Bay Marine Hotel
#31 of 60 in Llandudno
824 reviews
0 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
913 reviews
0.9 mi away
The New Loretta Hotel
The New Loretta Hotel
#54 of 60 in Llandudno
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Baytree Hotel
Baytree Hotel
#53 of 60 in Llandudno
274 reviews
0.8 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Llandudno
351 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay County Hotel

Address: East Parade, Llandudno LL30 1BD, Wales (Formerly The County Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: $78 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a magnificent site of the Promenade with stunning views of both of the Ormes, this lovely Victorian hotel offers guests a friendly Welsh welcome. Tastefully furnished throughout, and retaining many of the original Victorian features throughout, the hotel’s bar and lounges provide the ideal locations in which to relax. Laid back days can be spent enjoying the beach, strolling the pier or shopping in the newly opened retail development by the main shops. Alternatively, take a tram ride up the Great Orme or discover the numerous sporting pursuits that are on offer locally, too. For a getaway discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you couldn’t be better placed than in Llandudno. A small car park is located at the rear of the hotel, or there is unlimited free parking at the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
County Hotel Llandudno
County Llandudno
Bay County Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing