We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“try it for yourself”
Review of Bay County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay County Hotel
Ranked #30 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed March 17, 2007

We had read reviews on this hotel and were appalled at some of the comments listing filthy roms and bedding, ignorant staff and a lousy hotel and these reviews had been read AFTER we had booked the hotel. However we decided to go ahead and how pleased we were! the hotel staff, although mainly of eastern block countries could not have been more friendly and courteous, the rooms, although a bit tired were spotlessly clean. Many of the downstairs rooms ie dining room, lounges, bar area etc all looked like they had just been refurbished and to a very high standard. My advise it to certainly pay a visit, we will definately be going back

Stayed: March 2007
17  Thank BoltonTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (711)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

700 - 706 of 711 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2007

My husband and I, together with our 2 sons and their wives, have just returned from a weekend break at The County,and I can't believe that we stayed in the same hotel as some of these people who have written the reviews!
The only thing that I can complain about was the vegetables, which were over cooked!
The hotel was VERY clean, all the staff were VERY friendly and helpful, and spoke excellent English ( even the English ones! ),I didn't speak to any Poles, but the Slovacians were really polite.
We paid £83pp for DBB for 3days,what do these people want!!!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank oldhamgranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2007

I read the reviews on here to my husband and our friends just the night before we were leaving for this hotel that I had chosen and booked for us all.

Imagine my disappointment at some of the negative reviews. The one about the cat smells was the most outrageous and really got to my friends. I told them to expect the worst and anything better would be a bonus.

We were pleasantly surprised that the hotel was clean and fresh. The rooms were basic but we had everything we needed apart from a hair dryer but even that was supplied when I asked at reception.
The food was great and lots of it, plenty of choice and always something you fancied yes there was a number of foreign staff but all were very friendly, smart and helpful.

The average age was about 65 and the entertainment was geared for the older guests but it was very good and varied. I think some people just like to pick fault. If you are considering this hotel go ahead try it for yourself I don’t think you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lancs-Sally-sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2006

Having been transferred from another Shearings hotel and having read the reports on Tripadvisor, I was duly worried as I had booked on behalf of friends. I was pleasantly suprised to find that most of the public rooms had been refurbished, and the bedrooms we were given were comfortable, and clean, with fresh towels everyday.
I read the comment from one reviewer that the staff couldn't be understood, well I fould them polite, efficient, and extremely helpful.
The County is not a 5 star hotel but this is reflected in the prices, and I fould the whole weekend package value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank lancstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2006

What a disappointment .We didn't realise that such a poor hotel, that lacked in both comfort and guest standard still in existence This hotel is owned by Washearing coaches who boast quality ..well not at the County
The hotel is set next to a empty old disused hotel ,that is frequented by the ,druggies and alcoholics . the county is not really in LLandudno town, the hotel is in Dhss bedsit land about a mile or amile and half from the town centre , too far to walk
The hotel we were told had been upgraded ( it must be been real dump before theupgrade ). both the bedroom and the publicdown stairs areas need sprucing up .

The meals were "Different "... that all we can say , the service at meal time was "Different " the staff in the hotel are mostly non speaking so when you ask a member of staff a question .they dont understand ,,,DONT KNOW WHAT WOULD HAPPEN IF A FIRE BROKE OUT IN THE HOTEL....""".PANIC""" Did not feel safe to go on the street at night . the hotel's public bar was full of the non guests heavy drinkers swearing their heads. Not A pleasant holiday experience ...All in all not what are expect from a holiday hotel ..... advice if your going there booked another holiday somewhere to get over iit

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank carbon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2006

We arrived at the hotel in the middle on chaos at the receiption. We were bemused at the confussion amidst the staff as guests tried to "check in" or "was it out" or both? .Quite entertaining.
it just got better as our stay

the room was damp cold and needed a good clean .we dont live the highlife but our home in clean and tidy this place we had One towel no tolet paper thea cup was dirty .

We were to too sure if thebed had been chaged from the previous guests. there was an general odour of "cat pee "
the food was lacking in both taste and imagination..under running theme of "cabbage and potatoes" the was not cooked very well.."stewed cabbage" non of the food served seemed to taste right..we thought it was us but other guests did comment.

There was a public bar in the hotel..we found out that also the problems drinkers drink in there because they have been banned from all the town pubs Some drink disorder scheme the County is not party to.
the Staff mostly polish .the locals joking ly called the town little Poland
.Llandudno is a very nice place to vivist but in the future we will be avioding the WAshearings hotel .
have standards dropped at washearing since the merger?
it certainly looks like it
no major competition anymore not value for money anymore

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank froggy1666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2006

This hotel needs to "get it together" or close down..
the room are dirty the bathroom we had was " grimie ,The back of the hotel smelt of cats and was festooned with hotel rubbish.

The service in the hotel was comically .There was a clear language problem between staff and between staff and guests...
Nearly went and bought a polish guide book to express our wishes ...but in the end "Ate out in local cafe "

tried to reslove the situation withstaff ...manger not available

Best advice to potential guests dont waste your money ..check the place out before you depart with your cash

Best advice to hotelier stop watching fawlty tower as a training video

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank galvinpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.5 mi away
Bay Marine Hotel
Bay Marine Hotel
#32 of 60 in Llandudno
824 reviews
0 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
910 reviews
0.9 mi away
The New Loretta Hotel
The New Loretta Hotel
#54 of 60 in Llandudno
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,449 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baytree Hotel
Baytree Hotel
#53 of 60 in Llandudno
274 reviews
0.8 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#24 of 60 in Llandudno
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay County Hotel

Address: East Parade, Llandudno LL30 1BD, Wales (Formerly The County Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: $77 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a magnificent site of the Promenade with stunning views of both of the Ormes, this lovely Victorian hotel offers guests a friendly Welsh welcome. Tastefully furnished throughout, and retaining many of the original Victorian features throughout, the hotel’s bar and lounges provide the ideal locations in which to relax. Laid back days can be spent enjoying the beach, strolling the pier or shopping in the newly opened retail development by the main shops. Alternatively, take a tram ride up the Great Orme or discover the numerous sporting pursuits that are on offer locally, too. For a getaway discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you couldn’t be better placed than in Llandudno. A small car park is located at the rear of the hotel, or there is unlimited free parking at the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
County Hotel Llandudno
County Llandudno
Bay County Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing