We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bay County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay County Hotel
Ranked #32 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Horwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

we have just returned from a 5 day stay at this hotel, it was a nice and relaxing , food was ok got better as the week went on , the hotel is in a lovely quiet spot with great views .. we upgraded to a sea view room which im glad about, although we were on the top floor Im glad we are able to get up and down stairs easily as there is only one lift which holds 2 people at a time ( shearings need to spend some money on improvements in the bathrooms and maybe get another lift put it if possible .. the rest of the hotel was nice .. the staff were very good and Aggi our waitress was lovely always smiling and couldnt do enough for you , we met some lovely people whilst there and most of them were older than us but great to chat to , didnt watch the entertainment as it was'nt our cup of tea ! but in all had good time . the only downfall of Shearings coach holiday was the 2 hour wait at Stretton for our coach to take and return us home .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Anniej
Thank you for your review I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you were comfortable. I have passed on your comments to Aggi who sends her thanks.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    298
    119
    35
    23
See reviews for
96
347
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

very comfortable hotel,food very good, Nice quiet position overlooking the bay.We upgraded to a premier sea view room,which was well worth the money.The room was very large and airy,the only downside was the TINY bathroom,which you had to be very slim to get into to use.We would re-commend this hotel,one of the best shearings bay hotels.

Room Tip: re-commend upgrade to sea view room,or a premier sea view (no 111),if you dont mind a tiny bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JEFFREY j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Jefferyj.

I couldn't agree more that room 111 one of our superior twin rooms is well worth paying the upgrade for. Its Great to be called one of the best bay hotels many thanks.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

just back .don,t let any one say you get what you pay for this is a good hotel with good food and is very clean a manager who came out to meet our coach and lifted cases in . the resturant was also run the same do you ever go out for breakfast and see a picture of it and when you get it it'snot the same not the case here .did not see a lot of plates going back with anything on that must tell you something .some nice sitting places with nice views on the ground floor if it was wet outside .we were in room 54 in the basement you would think this would be a moan not the case .this room was clean and i mean clean (well done) kerina hope this is the right name thanks also to marton in the resturant . this cleanliness even goes as far as the prom i think i seen one empty plastic bottle here in 4 days on the beach nice flat walk at night to the pier about 2 miles. plenty shops about 5 mins away we went with caledonian travel and will go again even the tours were good the weather was great this place was nice if you dont like here blame me dont expect a lot of e mails but any way i thought it was good ANDY must be doing something right jan m

Room Tip: 54 not got see view but you will love the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear JanM
I think i am in love this is my first mention in months. It sounds like you had a terrific time with us and we look forwards to seeing you again .

Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Hotel is an ideal location on the Promenade and a short walk to the main shopping area.
The room had a sea view and was clean and tidy.The meals were of a very good quality with excellent and effecient waitress service.All the staff were friendly with efforts made to look after the guests.It was 3 day weekend break which was excellent value for money and would return.With Llandudno we visit once a year which has and is good shopping area an excellent part of North Wales which is worth a visit.

Room Tip: Second floor with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alanmccluskey194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear AlanmcCluskey194
It's so good to read that you enjoyed you stay and that you can appreciate what good value for money we offer. Thanks again for a wonderful review.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel's best asset is its helpful and friendly staff. The Reception staff and the Waiting staff where without exception polite, friendly and helpful. The housekeeping staff kept the hotel very clean and the rooms topped up with plenty of tea and coffee.

The lounges and dining room are nicely decorated and very clean. The lift holds only two people so is often busy, particularly when groups first arrive. The corridor leading to the bedroom I was allocated looked like something out of Rising Damp - I thought where the heck have I come to when I stepped out of the lift. However, on opening the door to my bedroom I was pleasantly surprised. The room was a decent size, well decorated with nice furniture and was spotlessly clean. I had booked a sea view and that was lovely. The en-suite was a good size - dated, but kept very clean. However, I was amazed to see that there was no shower - not even a shower attachment over the bath. I didn't think this was still the case in hotels in 2013!

Breakfasts were generally quite nice. Dinner was mostly edible, but that's about it to be honest.

The location didn't worry me as I knew where the hotel was before I booked the trip. It's all flat and although it's a long walk into the main part of the town it's not too much of a strain. It's cheap in a taxi if you want to do that, or I was told there was a regular bus service just behind the hotel.

I would say that the best way to sum up this hotel is: You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear AnneF
In the main a good fair review I apologise for your lack of shower but attachments don't work above a certain height because of the water pressure. You do sum it up when you say you get value for money.
Kind regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

From the moment we arrived at the County Hotel, even though we were part of a coach party, we were made to feel welcome and comfortable by the staff.
We had requested a room with a walk-in shower and were fortunate to be given a room with one on the ground floor.
The room was comfortable and clean but the decor could have done with a little tlc. This was Room 129, which is certainly ideal for anyone with mobility issues, being on the same level as Reception, Dining Room, Bar and Lounges.
We were booked on a half board basis with National Holidays and found both the choice and quality of food in the restaurant excellent value for money. Both breakfast and dinner had waiter service, which was both pleasant and speedy. Perhaps on occasion too speedy. But that's a minor gripe.
The hotel is situated towards the Eastern end of the Promenade and may be too far away from the centre of town for some. However there is a lovely flat walk along the Prom to the centre, which takes about 30 mins at a moderate pace and a frequent bus service, which can be caught less than 5 minutes walk away.

Room Tip: Room 129, which is certainly ideal for anyone with mobility issues, being on the same level as Recep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear kenruss
Many thanks for your very informative review I am sure lots of Trip Advisor readers will find it useful. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Eaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

just had 5 night stay , breakfast quite good, with large light dining room with sea view, evening meals poor although served fast , small 2 person lift!. entertainment only on two nights. one night good comedian, the other night audience participation !.ballroom smelt like a fusty cellar!. Room basic. towels smelt of vinegar! tiny bar of soap no shower gel shampoo, dull dark lounge seating areas, poor two ale bar, Hotel bus ride to town centre

Room Tip: first floor to avoid 2 person lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank regnif46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Regnif46
I must address the points you raise in your review, we don't five night breaks we have four night breaks which include three nights full entertainment. The towels are hired and cleaned by a contract Company and any towels that are not perfect are rejected. We have complimentary shower gel and Shampoo at reception on Request . The lounges were totally redecorated and refurbished in May 2013, we have three bars selling several ales and beers. My apologies if the County is not for you .

Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager


General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.5 mi away
Bay Marine Hotel
Bay Marine Hotel
#39 of 59 in Llandudno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
0.0 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#19 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.8 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#14 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#36 of 59 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#7 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay County Hotel

Property: Bay County Hotel
Address: East Parade, Llandudno LL30 1BD, Wales (Formerly The County Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a magnificent site of the Promenade with stunning views of both of the Ormes, this lovely Victorian hotel offers guests a friendly Welsh welcome. Tastefully furnished throughout, and retaining many of the original Victorian features throughout, the hotel’s bar and lounges provide the ideal locations in which to relax. Laid back days can be spent enjoying the beach, strolling the pier or shopping in the newly opened retail development by the main shops. Alternatively, take a tram ride up the Great Orme or discover the numerous sporting pursuits that are on offer locally, too. For a getaway discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you couldn’t be better placed than in Llandudno. A small car park is located at the rear of the hotel, or there is unlimited free parking at the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Llandudno
County Llandudno
Bay County Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing