We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely hotel good value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bay County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay County Hotel
Ranked #30 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
burnley
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“lovely hotel good value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Just returned from a weekend break at the County Hotel and and can say I found it far superoir to the Bay Marine. The staff were very friendly and helpful and I would like to say a special mention to Anna our waitress who was very efficient and pleasant. The food was good and very well served. The entertainment was ok and we even got some on Sunday night which you usually don't get at most Shearings hotels. There is usually space to park outside the hotel and it is free unlike further down the promenade. It is quite a walk to the pier but a pleasant one along the promenade next to the sea but it is well placed for the theatre. I booked a superior room with seaview and it was lovely and clean and well worth the extra cost. I would recommend this hotel as I feel it provides good value for money and for me I found it far superior to the Marine which we stayed at the end of May with the exception of the location (the Marine is better placed for the shops and pier etc )but for everything else food,service, rooms I feel the County is far better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deborah028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Deborah028
Thank you for your brilliant review I am delighted you enjoyed your Superior room and the value for money we offer. I will pass on your comments to Anna in the dining room.

Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    298
    119
    35
    23
See reviews for
96
347
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Had a very nice break in this lovely well located hotel with friends. Staff very friendly and hotel spotless. Lovely quiet room on 3rd floor but disappointed no shower. Meals lovely and service excellent. Warm welcome at reception like most shearing hotels we have visited. Parking no problem-outside hotel and free. Entertainment was ok , the resident singer and host was good. Well situated lots of places to visit, good shopping centre and plenty of bargains to be had in local shops. We visited Caenarvon and also Anglesey . Would have preferred longer evening meal slot as was bit rushed if you have been out for day but that's personal choice . Our first trip to Wales was most enjoyable and we look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: If you want a shower ask for one when booking or ring up to ensure you get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186478Marilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear 186478Marilyn
It sounds like you managed to fit a lot into your first visit to Wales. We hope to see you again many thanks for your review.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wa7 6nn
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

went to county hotel for a long weekend its in a lovely spot right opposite the beach and long promenade. The staff were lovely especially Anne our waitress she was so pleasant and realy efficient nothing was too much trouble. We had a room with a seaview which was nice the entertainment was ok more suited to the older clientelle . Lots of things to do in Llandudno we went for a walk up the Great Orme which was quite hard work but you can get a chairlift or a tram well worth the walk for the view from the top. I would recommend this hotel for people without children. The food was lovely and plenty of choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank irenewrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear IreneWrexham
Many thanks for your review I am delighted with your comments and totally agree the walk up the Great Orme is not for the faint hearted but well worth it for the views of Llandudno and Conwy. I will pass on your comments to Chef and Anne.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster england uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

just had holiday at the county. great hotel had lovely veiw.fantastic staff very helpful even found me an emergency dentist which was much appreciated.meals were very good even with sore mouth.
the two nights entertainment were enjoyable even though the artist had to dance on his own after trying very hard to get someone to join in he still made it a good night.our waitress was lovely italian girl always a smile and prompt with good service .we will certainly come back againif we are able.

Room Tip: any room with front veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Maryh

Thank you for your wonderful review. I do hope your tooth ache has cleared up we would love to see you return.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

A good location for parking and I parked outside, just 10 m up the road and left and returned a number of times during my stay with no problems.
Hotel is being refurbished and the bedroom was clean and modern with a sea view in the mirror or if you leant over the desk. It was not sold as a sea view so this was a bonus. The bathroom was a little disappointing in that there was no shower over the bath. This meant lots of baths after out walikng and again in the morning. Thank goodness its not my wayter biill!
The room was comfortable and adequately equipped.
Mealtimes were odd. Instead of the normal 2 hr slot for dinner there was only 1 hour. I arrived at 45 mins into this at 7:15 and was greeted by name, obviously the last to arrive. One course was not available and this was disappointing. The following evening I arrived at 6:50 and when at about 7:20 I asked for a main course was told that the kitchen had closed. I politely said that this was not acceptable and was then offered a meat salad. As I had walked alot during the day I asked for a cooked meal and was offered pork which was mt third choice, of 4, on the menu. This arrived with swede and lots of pettit pois but no potatoes and jellified gravy. I was hungry. I ate it.
I complained at reception and the staff were very good. The receptionist got the restaurant manager who apologised and promised better service next day. The manager rang later, getting my name wrong, to apologise and ask if I wanted a meal. As I had eaten I responded that I did not. He then apologised for the problem and agreed it was unacceptable.
Service was better for the next 2 days but I still felt rushed as I prefer to eat towards the end of the time slot, ie 7:30.
Hotel staff were polite and helpful, housekeepers.and reception staff in particular. Having been a guest of Shearings for 20 odd years I was sad about this experience and hope it will not be repeated at their other hotels.

Room Tip: Adequate free on street parking, premium for sea view may be worth it as on the promenade and good s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank RandallEv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Randalliev

Our evening meal times have been one hour for many years now and we do have a table plan so that we know the names and table numbers of all our guests. My apologies for getting your name wrong when I rang to help you.

Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Hotel ok, right on front. Room at the side could just see the sea in top left hand corner of window! Single bedroom! Single bed, had to ask for duvet and did get 1 on second night, no shower only small bath, only 5 channels on tv, asked about it as other people had Freeview, was told they had paid extra but the ladies I spoke to hadnt!
Food okish but some of the vegatable choices did not go with the main meals!!! Great to see porridge at breakfast, 2 huge hot containers!
Staff very helpful and efficient. Lift to all floors but only 2 people at a time, then bit of a walk to my room!
Entertainment most nights but I didnt go cos I'm not a bingo fan and other not my cup of tea!!!
Went with Shearings overall ok holiday! Good trips + extras available at reasonable price.
Easy to get into town, nice walk along prom, buses round corner!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank glospurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Glospurs
Thank you for your very fair and balanced review I am sure trip advisor readers will find it very useful.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We found the hotel very good value for the money you pay. The staff are very helpful courteous and friendly. The food is good and you have a good choice the waitress Beata was very efficient, and friendly she always had a smile. The bedroom was clean and comfortable however it did need updating there was noise from a extractor fan at 6am and early evening. In the lounge the lighting is poor if you want to read or play cards at night.
The entertainment was very good particularly the comedian. Thank you for making us feel welcome.

Room Tip: Don't have room 120.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandyc007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Sandy007
I agree we are very good value for money. My apologies for the noisy fan I will look into it right away.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.5 mi away
Bay Marine Hotel
Bay Marine Hotel
#38 of 59 in Llandudno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
0.0 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#19 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.8 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#14 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#36 of 59 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#8 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay County Hotel

Property: Bay County Hotel
Address: East Parade, Llandudno LL30 1BD, Wales (Formerly The County Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a magnificent site of the Promenade with stunning views of both of the Ormes, this lovely Victorian hotel offers guests a friendly Welsh welcome. Tastefully furnished throughout, and retaining many of the original Victorian features throughout, the hotel’s bar and lounges provide the ideal locations in which to relax. Laid back days can be spent enjoying the beach, strolling the pier or shopping in the newly opened retail development by the main shops. Alternatively, take a tram ride up the Great Orme or discover the numerous sporting pursuits that are on offer locally, too. For a getaway discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you couldn’t be better placed than in Llandudno. A small car park is located at the rear of the hotel, or there is unlimited free parking at the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Llandudno
County Llandudno
Bay County Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing