We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable break but not good value for money” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay County Hotel
Ranked #31 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Wigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Enjoyable break but not good value for money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

A large group of us stayed at this hotel for a four night break in April. This was a Shearings self-drive holiday for which we paid £179 per person. We were allocated a room in the basement which we didn't like so upgraded to a better room with a sea view at an additional cost of £78. There was also a car-parking charge of £5 per day (although you can park on the road but we were not aware of this when we booked). The total cost to us was therefore approximately £230 per person. I consider this to be quite expensive considering the standard of hotel and the fact that it was self-drive. Also, Shearings appear to have stopped giving drinks tokens. However, I suspect that many people had got a cheaper deal than us.

The food was ok on the whole but some meals were rather tasteless. The staff were very nice and friendly and we enjoyed most of the entertainment but I wouldn 't pay so much again for this standard of hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you want to ensure you get a decent room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilianw6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Lillian.
The upgrade you mention was at a reduced rate from £78.00 to To £39.00 each made by me. You stayed in a Superior sea view room with bed ,breakfast , evening meal and full entertainment programme for less the £55.00 per night I think that represents very good value for money. I am happy that your group enjoyed the weekend.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    296
    118
    34
    22
See reviews for
96
343
33
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the County Hotel and have enjoyed every minute of it the staff are obviously well trained in customer service. Every request or query was promptly dealt with in a friendly and polite manner.
The food represents excellent value for money and I marvelled at how good the service was, considering the numbers they catered for.
This is the third time we have stayed at the County and notice they are currently under going a refurbishment the bar area has been tastefully redecorated and the additional lounge area was under going redecoration.
Our bedroom was clean and functional it was a rear bedroom with limited views, but considering the cost of the holiday we anticipated this.
To summarize our holiday was very good value for money with excellent customer service which created a very pleasant atmosphere and we look forward to returning in the autumn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank minters1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Minters1
Customer care is extremly important to us here at the County and I am glad that you appreciate it. We look forward to your return when you can see how the lounges turn out.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I had a Monday to Friday break at the Hotel. Check in was good and our bedroom was quite big and very comfortable. The shower worked on the first night but on the second day only red hot water was coming from it with no cold water, therefore we had to use the bath which was not very easy on my part as it was quite difficult to get out of. We reported the matter to the reception staff who said it would be attended to. On the next afternoon when we returned, we asked at reception if the shower was sorted but unfortunately it was not. Eventually, in time for our shower it was sorted for us.
The hotel was quite a way from the main shopping area of Mostyn street, it took 25 minutes at a normal pace but at least we got some exercise!
The breakfast was lovely and the evening meals passable. The staff were very nice and friendly.
The hotel really needs modernising and it would have been nice to have free wi-fi included and perhaps a bigger bar of soap in the en suite.
Apart from a few niggles, we had a very pleasant stay at the County. The evening entertainment was first class and everyone seemed to enjoy it.
We would certainly go there again.

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the first floor go for it as if you do not like lifts there are a lot of st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarilynLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear MarilynLancashire.

My apologies for your inconvenience with your shower I am happy to hear that we did resolve the problem. We are in the process of modernising the reception areas and hoping to get WIFI soon. Many thanks for your review.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

My wife and i had a great weekend in this hotel staff were friendly and the waiter who served us was really nice the hotel was very clean and we could not fault the food at all a delicious cooked breakfast every morning and 3 course meal every evening . To our surprise we also chose to stay on a cabaret weekend so we had full entertainment Elvis tribute and Nat king Cole also a really funny comedian. This was booked with sherrings but we had self drive parking the car was free outside the hotel . most definitely return

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angdavebirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear AngDaveBirmingham
Thank you for your fantastic review. I do agree that the tribute weekends are brilliant entertainment and very popular.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

stayed about 4 years ago monday to friday on a shearings holiday. I couldnt fault anything the staff were friendly and corteous food excellent and good entertainment. Would return at some point in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizil0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Lizilou
These are all the ingredients that make up a smashing holiday and I'm glad you enjoyed yours. We look forward to your return in the near future.

Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

First stay at this hotel,check in was fine,hotel needs updating but quite clean ,warm and comfortable.Restaurant was excellent also entertainment.Beautiful setting looking over the sea,would definately return and recommend,staff very good.Most enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tuckswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Tuckswood
I am really pleased that we have created a good first impression with you. We are currently busy updating the reception area so I hope you will be impressed should you return.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

My wife and I booked a much needed last minute break and stayed at this hotel for two reasons. Firstly it was at a bargain price and secondly all in all because the hotel seemed to have good reviews! To be fair the hotel certainly lived up expectation! Our room was both clean and modern and of a good size. All the staff where very pleasant and helpful, and the breakfast was of a good standard. Would definitely look to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear peterJ
I,m pleased that we lived up to your expectations and that you would return to us. Thank you for your wonderful review and thank you for mentioning our staff we always appreciate the good comments we get.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.5 mi away
Bay Marine Hotel
Bay Marine Hotel
#38 of 60 in Llandudno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.0 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#35 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#8 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.5 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay County Hotel

Property: Bay County Hotel
Address: East Parade, Llandudno LL30 1BD, Wales (Formerly The County Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a magnificent site of the Promenade with stunning views of both of the Ormes, this lovely Victorian hotel offers guests a friendly Welsh welcome. Tastefully furnished throughout, and retaining many of the original Victorian features throughout, the hotel’s bar and lounges provide the ideal locations in which to relax. Laid back days can be spent enjoying the beach, strolling the pier or shopping in the newly opened retail development by the main shops. Alternatively, take a tram ride up the Great Orme or discover the numerous sporting pursuits that are on offer locally, too. For a getaway discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you couldn’t be better placed than in Llandudno. A small car park is located at the rear of the hotel, or there is unlimited free parking at the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Llandudno
County Llandudno
Bay County Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing