We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay County Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$202
$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. George's Hotel(Llandudno)
$115
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$476
$360
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor Hotel(Llandudno)
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$157
$152
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Broadway Hotel(Llandudno)(Great Value!)
$99
$96
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Queens Hotel(Llandudno)
$143
$133
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Tynedale Hotel(Llandudno)
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaclyffe Hotel(Llandudno)
$98
Toprooms.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (740)
Filter reviews
741 results
Traveler rating
204
337
137
38
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
204
337
137
38
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshearings hotelsdining roomsea viewself driveshearings breaknational holidaysshearings coachevening meallovely positionentertainment roomtown centrepublic roomsmonday to fridayexcellent value for moneymobility problemsthird floorplenty of hot water
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
587 - 592 of 741 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is in a great position overlooking the vast promenade. The staff are all really friendly and helpful. Food is good. Ballroom a bit on small side and seating not very well set out but upstairs lounge bars very comfy if you just want to have a drink and a chat. Our room was spacious although bathroom tiny! Great shower over bath. Overall a great weekend!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear JulieW.
It's fantastic to read how much you enjoyed your weekend with us. Thank you for your very pleasing review.
Kind regards
Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

had a four day break with shearings , our room was very clean and comforable, shower room a little small but clean and it "did the job", the reception rooms are lovely, can i just say I stayed the same week as someone else who has said the food was poor and they had boiled potatoes every night. did we eat at the same place? we did not have boiled potatoe every night the food was very good and had a good choice on the menu, all the staff could not have been more helpfull and friendly. well done to you all

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 663amanda1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear 663Amanda1974
Thank you so much for your lovely review. You have made my day.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a Shearings owned Hotel, and we stayed here for 4 nights from 22nd - 26th October 2012, we found the room which should have been a double room, was only really sufficient as a good single. The Double Bed was really uncomfortable, and squeky springs or similar. We had 2 nights where the heating never came on, and it was pretty miserable to say the least, we did then after the second night complain to reception who admitted that the Hotel had always had heating problems due to old plumbing system, needs money spending on it. The food in the Restaurant was very poor, we had boiled potatoes every night we were there, and the food choice was hardly different each night or morning. We have each of us decided that as we have been using Shearings now for some considerable time, years in fact, we are going to try Just Go Holidays a chance in the future, at least they use good Hotels which we already know serve up a good meal at all times, also thinking of using David Urqhart Travel, they have been recommended to us by several of the guests we met in the County. We did overhear one of the senior members of staff say that the Hotel was this year to date £2000 per week down on its takings. Well we were not surprised. We shall not be staying here again in future. To sum up the establishment is run more on the lines of a 2 star Bed and Breakfast, and the Management was none existant.

Room Tip: We honestly heard none of the other Guests say they had a good room
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BALI2007BALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear Bali2007Bali
Sorry for you disapointment with your stay with us . I'm not sure what or who you overheard regarding the takings but I can assure you that,s just not true. During your stay I was on duty every day and would have been only to happy to Help.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

just returned from weekend at county payed extra for sea view expected more from our room
which was very cold.t.v from dark ages.12 inch no complimentary shampoo and shower gel etc.
food was mediocre,quality poor.
must say staff nice and friendly. entertainment.was ok sorry.will not stay here again.


w

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patricia65890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear Patricia
I'M sorry for your disapointment with your room. I believe all our rooms are comfortable and in good decorative order and that we offer excellent value for money. My apologies if the heating wasn't working at some time during your stay but we do offer portable heaters if necessary.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed at the County 22nd-26th October.
We were so pleasantly surprised at the quality of this hotel after having a disastrous experience in Great Yarmouth.
The sea view room was clean, comfortable, well lit - not always Shearings strongest point - and warm. The TV was a decent size and reception good. The bathroom was huge with wall tiles, shower and bath.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly in reception and the dining room. Anna deserves a medal for her patience and memory! Whatever we asked for was delivered quickly and there was no rush to finish the meals.
The food was way above our expectations, nicely presented, enough choice and plenty of it.
The entertainment was varied.
Clive Cole, the comedian was BRILLIANT, he had the guests crying with laughter. Thanks for a super evening.
Chrissy the singer had a bad night! Leave it at that!
Carl, the resident compere, left much to be desired. He was SO scruffy, hole in his trouser leg, shirt fastened with safety pin. His performance was, at times, a bit unsuitable for his audience. His appearance was at variance with all other members of staff.
Bar prices were OK but they varied from hour to hour! Very strange.
We had a great holiday and will certainly be back!

Room Tip: Sea view room worth paying extra for.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear Jackie G
Thank you for your review I am so pleased that we exceeded your expectations. I have passed on your comments regarding our entertainment host to those concerned.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews