We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the better shearings”
Review of Bay County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay County Hotel
Ranked #31 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
cressington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“one of the better shearings”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

had a five day holiday at the county last week. we really had a nice time.we met some lovely people who we made friends with. the hotel was well looked after and was one of the best shearings we have stayed in up to now. we had a seaview room which was very nice. food was good entertainment with carl was a good laugh especially his line dancing. we are going to come again in february with more family. see you soon county.

Room Tip: try a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank balancedview_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear Balancedview 7
To be one of the better shearings hotels says it all for us we thank you and look forwards to seeing you again.

Kind Regards

Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    310
    123
    36
    23
See reviews for
98
359
38
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
coedpoeth
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Stayed at county from 23rd to 27th Dec what a fantastic way to spend xmas from manager to reception, bar staff,room staff, and last but not least Chef and his band of superb staff on the Fri it was Peter White as himself not Kenny Rogers,Saturday Mike Sealy comedian 90 mins of entertainment and not one swear word(fantastic)Sunday Damian Matthews had brilliant voice but far to loud for size of room,Monday Carole Rees-Jones excellant voice from Shirley Bassey to Patsy Cline Once again Thanks Shearings i hope you realize what a fantastic manager and staff you have at this hotel

Mr & Mrs Fraiser

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank edwin f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Dear Edwin F.

Getting reviews like this one makes working over Christmas worthwhile.
Happy new Year !!.

Kind Regards

Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackburn Lancs
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We have just returned home from a lovely holiday at the county hotel in Llandudno.
The staff were really efficient and nice and the coach driver steve was excellent.
Thank-you so much.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jean t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Dear Jean T
Brilliant to get such a positive review thanks for taking the time to post it. Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Andy travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

we stayed at the county earlier in the year,and have booked for a 5 day break to get away after all the christmas shopping,enjoyed our stay,hotel staff all very nice,roll on january 9th,shearings breaks are very good value

Room Tip: we will be staying this time with a sea view,on high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank seaside009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Dear Seaside 009
We look forward to welcoming you to your high floor sea view room in Jan 2012 all the very best.

Kind regards

Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Spent our holiday weekend here with our daughter and son-in-law. Although the rooms and lounges never seemed quite warm enough, especially for my wife, the stay was quite comfortable. Very good food, excelent service from staff in all capacities and good entertainment and dancing.

Room Tip: rooms are quieter on the south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Dear Kenneth W

Really pleased you enjoyed your weekend with us . Sorry your wife didn't feel warm enough. I'm so glad it didn't stop you enjoying yourselves and having a good time.

Kind Regards


Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London NW10
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

I spent a great four day weekend at this hotel, with excellent food and very friendly customer service, togethe with very comfortable accomodation.

Room Tip: Request a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2011
Dear David B

Your comments are much appreciated I'm sure our head Chef's head is getting bigger
many thanks.

Kind Regards

Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lichfield
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Had a great time. Hotel & food very good and a great location at the quiet end of the promenade.
The staff were excellent our waiter Peter really made our meal times enjoyable, for all 12 of us.
Would really recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ken h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Dear Ken H

Thanks for taking the time to post such a possitive review I have passed on your comment to peter he was very pleased and remembers your group very well.

Kind Regards

Andy Travis
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.5 mi away
Bay Marine Hotel
Bay Marine Hotel
#36 of 60 in Llandudno
782 reviews
0.0 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
769 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#51 of 60 in Llandudno
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,360 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#39 of 60 in Llandudno
449 reviews
0.8 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay County Hotel

Property: Bay County Hotel
Address: East Parade, Llandudno LL30 1BD, Wales (Formerly The County Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a magnificent site of the Promenade with stunning views of both of the Ormes, this lovely Victorian hotel offers guests a friendly Welsh welcome. Tastefully furnished throughout, and retaining many of the original Victorian features throughout, the hotel’s bar and lounges provide the ideal locations in which to relax. Laid back days can be spent enjoying the beach, strolling the pier or shopping in the newly opened retail development by the main shops. Alternatively, take a tram ride up the Great Orme or discover the numerous sporting pursuits that are on offer locally, too. For a getaway discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you couldn’t be better placed than in Llandudno. A small car park is located at the rear of the hotel, or there is unlimited free parking at the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Llandudno
County Llandudno
Bay County Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing