We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Enjoyed it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Ranked #14 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2014

As a member of a party of 7 attending for a luncheon here and having read some of the reviews appertaining to this establishment It appears to be something of an enigma. I cannot pass comment on the quality of the rooms as I have not had an overnight stay here, but what I can comment on is the staff and the food.
The former. It appears to be a bit Upstairs, Downstairs (if that means anything to you), but it does promote good values of courtesy and pride.
The latter. If you are expecting a pig out at next to nothing then go to a burger place or such like (plenty on the A55). If you enjoy well presented food with tastes that linger and make you think that I might try that next time, then indulge. Overall a beautiful building in beautiful grounds. Some people have commented that it is ia little dark and gloomy-that is the price that you pay for history. I would personally not like to see a deep grained dark mahogany or oak or whatever building material was available at that time and now so full of life and memories overpainted with Accented White or whatever the latest colour trend is. Leave history as it was and absorb it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (702)
There are newer reviews for Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 702 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2014

My family and I stayed in both a cottage suite and a room in the main house and found both to be very comfortable. The grounds are spectacular and we had a wonderful walk through the gardens and the trails. This is great spot from which to visit Llandudno which is a great seaside town with a breathtaking coastal drive and elevated walking trails. The main house is quite old and quirky (not in a bad way). The staff we encountered were (and I hate to generalize, but we all noticed it) slow to smile and not particularly warm. We are from the south and have a pretty high standard for friendliness so perhaps its not fair to compare to N Wales. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surfzup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Bodysgallen is a beautifully furnished country hotel sitting on 200 private acres with 40 acres of lovely and well-maintained gardens. The hotel has a professional staff and excellent restaurants. It also has a separate large facility that includes a first rate spa, a large indoor pool and a fitness center. This is the best hotel we stayed in on a tour of Wales.

Room Tip: The suites are large, sunny and have great views.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cosmo144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed five days in a stone cottage adjoining the hotel with our Jack Russell. Wonderful walks around the hotel. The Fine Dining restaurant and Bistro were superb. The service was excellent and matched anything we have experienced in Dubai. This hotel is top quality but not at all snobby. Very relaxed atmosphere. Great location for touring. Voted Best in Wales i would go so far as saying it is the best we have at stayed at in the UK. Well done National Trust in promoting quality.

Room Tip: The hotel have allocated specific cottages for clients with dogs. We had the Bailiffs Cottage which...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank penderowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The hotel and gardens are part of the National Trust but you can't get into the Gardens unless you are a guest of the hotel. The Gardens are the best we've seen in such a compact area. There are flowers everywhere in a formal setting , one leading into another with a woodland walking path also. The oldest part of the hotel dates to 1620. The facility is in a parklike setting with a long drive up from the road. The rooms consist of cottages. Ours consisted of a sitting room and kitchen downstairs with a bedroom bathroom upstairs. It was traditional and very comfortable. We did not try the dining room but it seems to have an excellent reputation. I was sitting in the lobby when two guests ordered High Tea. The caddy, covered in various cakes biscuits and pastries, was gigantic.

Room Tip: I doubt there is a bad room in this place
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobxxxxCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

My family and I visited with our 3 dogs in Aigust 2013, I was so in love with the cottage house we stayed in I knew I wanted to go back for my 21st Birthday in the following December.
We booked the same cottage. It was all beautifully clean and tidy! Very cosy and perfect for my little family and dogs.
We had a meal in the evening - lovely food!! Very tasty deserts! The Prosecco went down well, too.
The breakfast was yummy!
We loved the spa area - swimming pool waa great - hardly anyone in it.
Beautiful surrounding views.
Definately worth a visit!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DweenaLouisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is one expensive hotel and with very good reason - it is tiny and seems to have an enormous staff.

All British hotels I have ever stayed in have the custom of providing a kettle and tea bags - even Bovey Castle (who provide fine bone china) does it! So we were taken aback not to be able to find the kettle despite a search - yes there were biscuits, water, cotton wool balls, bath robes and even 2 phones but no kettle. When I eventually picked up the phone and asked for some tea it arrived via room service instantly and it was great - real tea, real tea pot, real milk and fresh cookies. It is so much better to be able to pick up the phone and even better when it is sometimes free. I'm now a fan.

The hotel is shabby chic and all the better for it. The views are amazing from room 5 - they must be heaven from 18. The staff are great. The garden is to die for.

Then add the leisure centre - people were complaining it was crowded - there must have been 8 people there! Everything is clean and - a rarity these days- everything worked. Simply and elegantly done.

If one has to be super critical (and I don't but it would be good if the management read this)- the staff in the restaurant are all trying to do a good job but they need more co-ordination or maybe training. They need to understand the theatre they are presenting.

So if you are minted, have no kids and can stand the weather then this is for you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank englishman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandudno
2.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#20 of 60 in Llandudno
1,250 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,631 reviews
2.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#15 of 60 in Llandudno
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
341 reviews
21.7 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
1.8 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodysgallen Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodysgallen Hall & Spa

Address: The Royal Royal Welsh Way, Llandudno LL30 1RS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#17 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#18 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: $270 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodysgallen Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing in over 200 acres of its own parkland to the south of Llandudno with spectacular views of Snowdonia and Conwy Castle. Believed to have 13th century origins, Bodysgallen Hall provides all that is best in country house hospitality. Beautiful gardens include a rare 17th century parterre of box hedges filled with sweet-scented herbs, a rockery with a cascade, a walled rose garden, and several follies. Historic House Hotels Ltd bought and rescued the house from a dilapidated state in 1981 and restored the 17th century house and gardens. In September 2008 Historic House Hotels Ltd and its interest in all its properties were given to the National Trust to ensure their long-term protection, with all profits benefiting the houses and the charity.The 15 extremely comfortable bedrooms in the Main Hall offer several different room types, including the four elegant principal suites. Each bedroom is individually decorated and furnished with antique furniture, paintings and prints, enjoying glorious views of Bodysgallen's parkland or gardens, with some rooms having further reaching views of Conwy Castle or the distant Mountains of Snowdonia. There are 16 cottage suites with picturesque names like The Smithy, Box Cottage and Pineapple Lodge, are situated in the grounds, and provide accommodation for guests preferring a greater degree of privacy. Many cottages enjoy their own private gardens and some are in close proximity to the Bodysgallen Spa. All are charming and delightful. The Dining Room in the main hall has been awarded three rosettes for fine dining by the AA - the only restaurant in Llandudno to be awarded such - and offers imaginative meals prepared from fresh local produce and complemented by fine wine, and overlooks the gardens and has been recognised as one of the best places for Sunday Lunch in the United Kingdom by The Observer newspaper.The Spa is approached by a short walk through the garden or by a private road. Converted from an original stone built farm it contains a magnificent 50' swimming pool edged with comfortable reclining chairs, whirlpool spa bath, steam room and sauna. A superb gymnasium has all the latest technologically advanced equipment, suitable for all ranges of fitness. A comfortable Club Room is a place where guests and members can relax and enjoy drinks and light meals, which in the summer are also served on the terrace. Residential guests have full use of the Bodysgallen Spa.Bodysgallen Hall is situated about 2 miles south from Llandudno and the North Wales coast. It is surrounded by over 200 acres of beautiful gardens and wooded parkland. Bodysgallen Hall has magnificent views of Snowdonia, and Conwy Castle. It's the perfect setting for a relaxed holiday at all times of the year. The hotel is ideally placed for visiting the many historic castles and stately homes in North Wales as well as the famous golf courses that adorn the coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bodysgallen Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodysgallen Hall Hotel Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall And Spa
Bodysgallen Hall Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing