We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“North Wales weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Ranked #14 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“North Wales weekend”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, ideally situated for visiting North Wales and Snowdonia. Food and service was very good although, being picky, a few small things stopped this hotel from getting a '5' rating from us. We had one of the cottages which was great (and dog friendly, big plus) but the sitting room heating was unable to cope with the cold snap so we had to retreat to the bedroom to watch TV. When reported, the hotel offered an additional heater but seemed to know about the problem so why not provide it in the first place during cold weather? However, on balance we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel - it also has a great spa. Ideal for adult breaks, spa and exploring the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterG1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    131
    39
    25
    17
See reviews for
113
382
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful stay and I really did not want to leave. One of the most beautiful hotels I have ever stayed in. They gave me the attic suite and the views on Snowdonia were just stunning.
Excellent breakfast in the morning, wonderful food in general. I even email the chef for some recipes! So kind to share them with me! (This is an italian writing)
I was even lucky enough to find 'sunbathing' weather for most of my stay! Love the little touches:
Great teas in the room, DVD player, bathtub, info on things to do and see...one word: heaven.
And if you need somewhere close to London don't miss Hartwell House (been there too!). Its another National Trust property.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank french_letter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed at Bodysgallen this week courtesy of a friend buying a voucher at a charity auction. We booked treatments in the spa which as always were excellent and then retired to the hotel for a glass of champagne and some afternoon tea - delicious and as always served promptly by the delightful staff who never fail to remember you. It was a very cold night and our room was cosy and warm and extremely comfortable - dinner was delicious and breakfast in bed the following morning was piping hot and very enjoyable. Bodysgallen never fails to deliver - always comfortable and staff who go out if their way to make you feel at home - love it!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Conway34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I have copied across the email I wrote as it says everything about the hotel. Terrific.

Thank you so very much for your prompt return of the chargers we so stupidly left in your room No 1.

While I have finger to keyboard we had a lovely stay. All your staff without exception were wonderful. Your log fires were so very homely. Your public room and the various nooks and crannies were relaxing and comfortable. We only wish we had had room for a cream tea that appeared in front of the couple sitting opposite us one afternoon, it looked absolutely fabulous and it seemed that they had come to Bodysgallen specifically for the lovely afternoon tea.

Once again many thanks.

The only comment I would like to add to the above is that all the food was extremely tasty but that we preferred to eat in the bistro; fine dining is fine, but we prefer a less formal atmosphere.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main hotel as we do not like staying in any annexes that are not attached to the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnaby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsager, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I took my wife and two friends to Bodysgallen Hall for lunch on 3rd Nov, when ever we take this couple out the sun shines and it sure didn't disappoint. I advised the hotel when booking,some two weeks earlier that one friend was a Celiac sufferer,and could we have the table in the dining room with a view? We arrived on time ,went in and sat in the ground floor sitting room in a intimate area next to a small fireplace, staff were courteous and offered drinks,at this point I reminded them that a guest was Celiac, they were a little taken aback but nevertheless continued to cope remarkably well. Nibbles were provided as well as canapés and in our own time we went to the dining room. Starters excellent, 2x belly pork with black pudding and 2x salmon..no complaints,mains 2 roast beef and 2 lamb. The lamb according to the ladies was superb,the beef average, Yorkshire pudding 1st class. Offered plenty of bread and gluten free through out. The sun shone throughout and we were given an excellent table (without reminder) also two interesting well known celebrities sitting aside us! Puddings excellent throughout,the celebrities had cheese it stank to high heaven, when questioned it appeared to be of a welsh variety! Not popular with our waitress. Coffee and fudge in the lounge ,very satisfactory. Value...good considering the courtesy and surroundings .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomsksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights at Bodysgallen in October. The first telephone contact was professional and friendly, which was important to securing our booking. The hotel is a fine retreat into quiet surroundings. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable, with fine views over large enough formal gardens and beyond to Conwy Castle. The communal rooms were relaxing and quiet, good places to enjoy drinks away from bedroom and restaurant. The gardens provided a pleasant walk in evening October sunshine. I noted Echium Pininana against a sheltering wall. The evening meals were very good, albeit having the same menu for our two visits to the restaurant. The large, good-quality (full) breakfast was particularly welcome and set me up for the day. The spa was relaxing, and I found the gym to be particularly well equipped. The staff, most notably in the restaurant, but also around the hotel and spa in general, helped make our stay. We particularly enjoyed visits to Great Orme and Bodnant gardens (we aim to return for the wildflowers and Laburnum arch, respectively.) while Llandudno and Conwy were also interesting to see, in very different ways. All within a few miles. We had a very pleasant short break.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alandju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We spent two nights here for my daughter to have an essential break from the constant demands of her new job as a teacher. She spent her day in the spa and reading in one of the several grand public rooms. I went up the railway to Blaenau Ffestiniog, stopping off on the way back in Betws-y-Coed. We ate in the Bistro which was very good and reasonably priced. All the staff were extremely efficient and friendly. Our cottage was spacious but also very cosy. The gardens are beautiful and the view from the Obelisk would be wonderful on a good day! It's expensive but also unique. I shall save up to go again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gardenlover10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandudno
2.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,203 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,561 reviews
2.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
1.8 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
772 reviews
2.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodysgallen Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodysgallen Hall & Spa

Property: Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Address: The Royal Royal Welsh Way, Llandudno LL30 1RS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#17 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#18 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodysgallen Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing in over 200 acres of its own parkland to the south of Llandudno with spectacular views of Snowdonia and Conwy Castle. Believed to have 13th century origins, Bodysgallen Hall provides all that is best in country house hospitality. Beautiful gardens include a rare 17th century parterre of box hedges filled with sweet-scented herbs, a rockery with a cascade, a walled rose garden, and several follies. Historic House Hotels Ltd bought and rescued the house from a dilapidated state in 1981 and restored the 17th century house and gardens. In September 2008 Historic House Hotels Ltd and its interest in all its properties were given to the National Trust to ensure their long-term protection, with all profits benefiting the houses and the charity.The 15 extremely comfortable bedrooms in the Main Hall offer several different room types, including the four elegant principal suites. Each bedroom is individually decorated and furnished with antique furniture, paintings and prints, enjoying glorious views of Bodysgallen's parkland or gardens, with some rooms having further reaching views of Conwy Castle or the distant Mountains of Snowdonia. There are 16 cottage suites with picturesque names like The Smithy, Box Cottage and Pineapple Lodge, are situated in the grounds, and provide accommodation for guests preferring a greater degree of privacy. Many cottages enjoy their own private gardens and some are in close proximity to the Bodysgallen Spa. All are charming and delightful. The Dining Room in the main hall has been awarded three rosettes for fine dining by the AA - the only restaurant in Llandudno to be awarded such - and offers imaginative meals prepared from fresh local produce and complemented by fine wine, and overlooks the gardens and has been recognised as one of the best places for Sunday Lunch in the United Kingdom by The Observer newspaper.The Spa is approached by a short walk through the garden or by a private road. Converted from an original stone built farm it contains a magnificent 50' swimming pool edged with comfortable reclining chairs, whirlpool spa bath, steam room and sauna. A superb gymnasium has all the latest technologically advanced equipment, suitable for all ranges of fitness. A comfortable Club Room is a place where guests and members can relax and enjoy drinks and light meals, which in the summer are also served on the terrace. Residential guests have full use of the Bodysgallen Spa.Bodysgallen Hall is situated about 2 miles south from Llandudno and the North Wales coast. It is surrounded by over 200 acres of beautiful gardens and wooded parkland. Bodysgallen Hall has magnificent views of Snowdonia, and Conwy Castle. It's the perfect setting for a relaxed holiday at all times of the year. The hotel is ideally placed for visiting the many historic castles and stately homes in North Wales as well as the famous golf courses that adorn the coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bodysgallen Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodysgallen Hall Hotel Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall And Spa
Bodysgallen Hall Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing