We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really awful food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Ranked #13 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Really awful food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed in the Garden Cottage, quite nice, if a little tired, the garden was OK, and the grounds beautiful, looking over Conwy Castle. But the food was absolutely awful, never have I eaten such bad food in such an expensive hotel. Someone shoot the chef! or at least send him back to chef college. We ate dinner in the main fine dining restaurant. To start, I had a tomato and goats cheese salad, and it was just what it said on the tin! no dressing, nothing to make it special, except the price, of £11! I followed this with Sea Bass served with samphire, but limp off looking piece os sea bass turned up with no samphire, the chef forgot! £30...Really!! Deserts were £12.50 each, so needless to say we didn't have one. We went back to our room to eat the 3 biscuits that were in the tin, as we were still hungry. The atmosphere in the restaurant was also really stuffy, you felt like you had to whisper to each other, and this felt really uncomfortable.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JulienneX9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    127
    39
    25
    17
See reviews for
113
370
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Llanddulas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Went here for afternoon tea. It was lovely and you definately get treated like royalty, but it is very expensive for what you get.
There were lovely cakes and a good variety of tea which was good. The sandwiches were also very nice. This would be good for adults, but I don't think it's very suited to children.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotteey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is a beautiful house with superb gardens. We had a cottage room (Pineapple Lodge) which is seriously in need of an upgrade at this room price and is not suitable for anyone with mobility issues. The bed was hideously uncomfortable (much too hard). Hotel staff were very helpful organising an early breakfast and general advice. We ate both nights in the bistro and the food was average. Breakfast in the hotel was also uninspiring. We did not use the spa facilities. Would possibly stay again but definitely try another room with a softer bed. Not a great hotel for children very little in the way of facilities for them and spa times very restrictive. I had hoped to be writing a better review for this hotel having read other reports.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACSCCSHCS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had a lovely two night stay in a superior room. On our arrival the porter was walking across the car park and took our bags from us and into reception and then to our room. The room was tastefully decorated with a super-king size bed and plenty of wardrobe space. The room was spacious and had two easy chairs for us to sit in and two windows with different aspects.

The food in the dining room was excellent. The attention to detail of the serving and cooking staff was a pleasure to behold. Everything was beautifully presented and the food was delicious.

All the staff made us feel very welcome and there was always someone on hand to attend to our needs. Even the night porter, Martin, made a point of coming to talk to us while we were finishing our bottle of wine in the lounge after dinner.

The public rooms are all oldie-worldie with a lovely ambience. Afternoon tea, coffee after dinner and drinks beforehand can all be taken in whichever of the rooms you choose. Afternoon tea in the drawing room on the first floor was a delight.

The hotel has extensive grounds. We spent our one full day there in the gardens enjoying the sunshine and just generally relaxing.

Whilst the trip wasn't cheap, we had a wonderful time and felt that we had had value for money. We would love to go back one day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P_and_D_Trippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Took advantage of a good weather forecast to take an impromptu overnight stay and chose Bodysgallen on friends recommendation and a good deal on one of the holiday web sites. Chose a cottage as we feel this gives more freedom than a hotel room. On arrival we were informed that we had a free upgrade to the Park cottage which was the bottom half of one of the cottages close to the house ( the top half of the cottage is another let).This consisted of a kitchen with kettle etc, fridge but no cooker or crockery ( other than cups and saucers) so not self catering ( not advertised as such), a large lounge with TV , a very large bedroom with massive, very comfortable bed and two bathrooms. We had access to a shared cottage garden. The gardens make the place - so restful. The restaurant was closed on Monday so ate in the Bistro.Meal was disappointing - very hot but bland fish pie. Gave this feed back to manager on paying bill in hope it would be taken on board and we were offered a refund on the meal ( which we declined - it was edible after cooling down).

Room Tip: Many different design of cottages which are not well described on web site. Phone hotel to get more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PE07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We went for lunch on a perfect June day, early in time for a mid morning coffee, prior to a stroll around the gardens, which are being beautifully restored by a team of 4 gardeners, a knot garden, rock gardens fish pond, walled garden where fantastic corden fruit trees flourish . Flowers herbs and veg for hotel were well ahead after such a bad spring.
Then back to the terrace for a pre lunch drink in the sun, the service excellent, menus given and orders taken. We had the set menu with wines, the food excellent from starter to desert., and all clearly made in house. We took coffee on the terrace. And found that it was almost 4 pm. Just a perfect day in every way, yes made more so by the weather. But try it in winter when the house comes into its own, with great roaring fires, fantastic real potted orchids( those gardeners again) and the most beaufiful flower arrangements.

Our costs on this visit totalled £40 per head, yes not cheap but worth every penny.
Many thanks to all who contributed by serving us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank She9753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Over the New Year we stayed as a family at Bodysgallen and enjoyed a relaxing three night stay in which we used all the facilities.

As we had the dog with us we stayed in the cottages which was beautiful with our own sitting area, bedroom and kitchen, its was lovely and quaint.

Evening dinner at the hotel restaurant was not the best comparing to all the other qualities of the hotel. The ambience of Bodysgallen and the staff made our stay a very special stay. Thank you

Room Tip: Cottages excellent for dogs!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CATRINANNEHUGHES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandudno
2.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
2.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#14 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 59 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
21.7 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodysgallen Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodysgallen Hall & Spa

Property: Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Address: The Royal Royal Welsh Way, Llandudno LL30 1RS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#17 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#18 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodysgallen Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing in over 200 acres of its own parkland to the south of Llandudno with spectacular views of Snowdonia and Conwy Castle. Believed to have 13th century origins, Bodysgallen Hall provides all that is best in country house hospitality. Beautiful gardens include a rare 17th century parterre of box hedges filled with sweet-scented herbs, a rockery with a cascade, a walled rose garden, and several follies. Historic House Hotels Ltd bought and rescued the house from a dilapidated state in 1981 and restored the 17th century house and gardens. In September 2008 Historic House Hotels Ltd and its interest in all its properties were given to the National Trust to ensure their long-term protection, with all profits benefiting the houses and the charity.The 15 extremely comfortable bedrooms in the Main Hall offer several different room types, including the four elegant principal suites. Each bedroom is individually decorated and furnished with antique furniture, paintings and prints, enjoying glorious views of Bodysgallen's parkland or gardens, with some rooms having further reaching views of Conwy Castle or the distant Mountains of Snowdonia. There are 16 cottage suites with picturesque names like The Smithy, Box Cottage and Pineapple Lodge, are situated in the grounds, and provide accommodation for guests preferring a greater degree of privacy. Many cottages enjoy their own private gardens and some are in close proximity to the Bodysgallen Spa. All are charming and delightful. The Dining Room in the main hall has been awarded three rosettes for fine dining by the AA - the only restaurant in Llandudno to be awarded such - and offers imaginative meals prepared from fresh local produce and complemented by fine wine, and overlooks the gardens and has been recognised as one of the best places for Sunday Lunch in the United Kingdom by The Observer newspaper.The Spa is approached by a short walk through the garden or by a private road. Converted from an original stone built farm it contains a magnificent 50' swimming pool edged with comfortable reclining chairs, whirlpool spa bath, steam room and sauna. A superb gymnasium has all the latest technologically advanced equipment, suitable for all ranges of fitness. A comfortable Club Room is a place where guests and members can relax and enjoy drinks and light meals, which in the summer are also served on the terrace. Residential guests have full use of the Bodysgallen Spa.Bodysgallen Hall is situated about 2 miles south from Llandudno and the North Wales coast. It is surrounded by over 200 acres of beautiful gardens and wooded parkland. Bodysgallen Hall has magnificent views of Snowdonia, and Conwy Castle. It's the perfect setting for a relaxed holiday at all times of the year. The hotel is ideally placed for visiting the many historic castles and stately homes in North Wales as well as the famous golf courses that adorn the coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bodysgallen Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodysgallen Hall Hotel Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall And Spa
Bodysgallen Hall Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing