We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Ranked #14 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Real Class”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed again at this wonderful hotel for the New Year break.
We always find the New Year event at home to be a damp squib after the excitement of Christmas and unless you want to be depressed you should endeavor to stay away 30th December to the 2nd Jan.
This hotel oozes quality even from the start point of cruising up the mile long single track approach road.
When opening the heavy oak door you are greeted with faint aromas of the crackling log fire with a vista of sumptuous carpeting and comfy armchairs. More than this though, the friendly glances of satisfied guests says it all.
The rooms are huge, warm and contain furniture and beds you would never part with at home.
The views are to die for and the restaurant, well you just have to try this!
Final comment, in the inimitable words of Arnie, "I'll be back" Again.

Room Tip: Take your pick!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank THEMAGPIE95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    129
    39
    25
    17
See reviews for
113
378
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
swindon
Level Contributor
99 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The hotel is a couple of miles outside of Llandudno in extensive grounds. The hotel is an old house built in 1620, with lots of original oak pannelling in the bar, restaurant and lounges, and there are many old paintings and antiques. There is also a separate bistro called 1620 which is in a separate building down a flight of steps, this is closed on Sundays. The spa is in another building a short walk from the hotel, but if the weather is bad you could drive.

The accomodation is either in the main building, or in cottages behind the hotel. We stayed in a second floor cottage which had a small bedroom, a bathroom, a small kitchen with a fridge and kettle, and a lounge. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided with authentic cups and teapot, bottle water was also provided. The lounge was comfortable with a sofa, an armchair and a tv and dvd player. The bedroom was small with built in wardrobe, a small double bed which was rather hard for our tastes, and a dresser and side tables. An umbrella is also provided.

The spa has a resaonable size pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. It also has a couple of treatment rooms. There is also a rest area where you can have a buffet breakfast.

The service at the hotel is excellent, the staff are friendly and want to please. The evening menu had a choice of about 6 starters, main courses and desserts, the quality was good, it was well presented, but the portions were a little on the small size, with few vegetables. Be prepared to spend £50 per head excluding wine, although the wine prices themselves were reasonable. The bistro was more reasonably priced, but we couldn't try this as it was closed on a Sunday. Breakfast was a good choice, with freshly cooked full breakfast and porridge.

On our second evening we drove to an Italian restaurant called Carlos which was about 3 miles from the hotel on the outskirts of the town. I cannot recommend this highly enough, excellent service, great food and well priced.

Room Tip: The cottages are like going back in time, but we liked them. There are also rooms in the main buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank We_Love_Sun_Days
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knutsford
Level Contributor
238 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is the hotel that I first had lunch with my now wife, nearly 16 years ago, and try to visit at least each year. This is the oldy worldt type of hotel where service is king and the accomadation and food are without equal. It is expensive, but it leaves a warm feeling each time we visit, I realise we might be slightly biased because of what it means to us, but all the staff are so friendly and helpful, and the gardens and cottages are beautiful.Just the place for a very special treat

Room Tip: The cottages are a wonderful place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebonylynton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I decided to take my Mother for her 80th birthday just for lunch. Unfortunately the restaurant in the main hotel wasn't open (it being a Tuesday in February) but I decided to book the 1620 bistro as my Mother loves Llandudno and it was a chance to experience the hotel. My husbad and I have stayed preivously (for New Year) and had lunch in the bistro.

We arrived late as we got slightly lost! My Mother did mention to the lovely waitress that it might be helpful if there were more signs available around Llandudno pointing you in the right direction. We had to ask several locals before eventually finding it. (SatNav is not an option - my husband and I tried that and ended up ringing the hotel for directions anyway!)

That said, we had a most enjoyable lunch experience. We chose a main/dessert option. My Mother had the chicken with polenta which was beautifully presented and I opted for the mussels as a main course. They were absolutely gorgeous, hot and the "jus" divine. I ordered chips as an afterthought and they arrived promptly and were really crisp and hot!

Chocolate Mousse was my Mother's choice and I opted for the rhubarb crumble which was absolutely delicious. I have to say the presentation and attention to detail was second to none in all the dishes.

The young lady waitress was extremely attentive and a delightful addition to the experience.

I would definitely make the trip again and hopefully enjoy lunch in the main hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pubcritic192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We looked forward to returning to this hotel from the minute we left last time. It did not disappoint, staff and facilities were excellent yet again. The food in the Bistro was excellent and very reasonably priced too. Our room this time was Mill Cottage and as we had our small dog with us it had a little garden area. There are walks in the grounds and really no need to move the car during your stay, this makes it all the more relaxing. The gardens are very well cared for and in the next couple of weeks will be wonderful with all the spring flowers.
We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Always fancied staying in this National Trust hotel, and the day came at last on my birthday.
Suffice to say everything met up with expectations. Our room - park cottage- was more like a little flat, with large lounge, enormous bedroom and bed (zip link). There was a little "kitchen" to make tea (no cooker though - as if you would want one).
Two bathrooms, two tvs, and the soft furnishings were sumptuous.
The pool was gorgeous, nice and warm.
The food in the main restaurant was delicious - expensive yes but you knew that when you booked it didn't you? Little tip, when you order your main course order some extra veg, because you don't receive any. didn't take anything away from the gorgeousness of the food but we were a bit hungry, no matter we had pud!
The building itself was beautiful, yes very national trust - and the garden, well it reminded us of Powys castle nuff said.
Finally, the staff were lovely, welcoming, informal, just right.

Oh yes, we will be back!

Room Tip: Park cottage is enormous,and allowed our little dog
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

I attended my first wine and champagne evening last night- such an amazing experience and thoroughly enjoyable. Staff were so helpful. I didn't stay at the hotel- seemed a bit extravagant when I only live 10 minutes away!!
Will certainly be visiting again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ndh1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandudno
2.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,185 reviews
2.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,345 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
14.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
958 reviews
1.8 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodysgallen Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodysgallen Hall & Spa

Property: Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Address: The Royal Royal Welsh Way, Llandudno LL30 1RS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#17 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#18 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodysgallen Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing in over 200 acres of its own parkland to the south of Llandudno with spectacular views of Snowdonia and Conwy Castle. Believed to have 13th century origins, Bodysgallen Hall provides all that is best in country house hospitality. Beautiful gardens include a rare 17th century parterre of box hedges filled with sweet-scented herbs, a rockery with a cascade, a walled rose garden, and several follies. Historic House Hotels Ltd bought and rescued the house from a dilapidated state in 1981 and restored the 17th century house and gardens. In September 2008 Historic House Hotels Ltd and its interest in all its properties were given to the National Trust to ensure their long-term protection, with all profits benefiting the houses and the charity.The 15 extremely comfortable bedrooms in the Main Hall offer several different room types, including the four elegant principal suites. Each bedroom is individually decorated and furnished with antique furniture, paintings and prints, enjoying glorious views of Bodysgallen's parkland or gardens, with some rooms having further reaching views of Conwy Castle or the distant Mountains of Snowdonia. There are 16 cottage suites with picturesque names like The Smithy, Box Cottage and Pineapple Lodge, are situated in the grounds, and provide accommodation for guests preferring a greater degree of privacy. Many cottages enjoy their own private gardens and some are in close proximity to the Bodysgallen Spa. All are charming and delightful. The Dining Room in the main hall has been awarded three rosettes for fine dining by the AA - the only restaurant in Llandudno to be awarded such - and offers imaginative meals prepared from fresh local produce and complemented by fine wine, and overlooks the gardens and has been recognised as one of the best places for Sunday Lunch in the United Kingdom by The Observer newspaper.The Spa is approached by a short walk through the garden or by a private road. Converted from an original stone built farm it contains a magnificent 50' swimming pool edged with comfortable reclining chairs, whirlpool spa bath, steam room and sauna. A superb gymnasium has all the latest technologically advanced equipment, suitable for all ranges of fitness. A comfortable Club Room is a place where guests and members can relax and enjoy drinks and light meals, which in the summer are also served on the terrace. Residential guests have full use of the Bodysgallen Spa.Bodysgallen Hall is situated about 2 miles south from Llandudno and the North Wales coast. It is surrounded by over 200 acres of beautiful gardens and wooded parkland. Bodysgallen Hall has magnificent views of Snowdonia, and Conwy Castle. It's the perfect setting for a relaxed holiday at all times of the year. The hotel is ideally placed for visiting the many historic castles and stately homes in North Wales as well as the famous golf courses that adorn the coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bodysgallen Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodysgallen Hall And Spa
Bodysgallen Hall Hotel Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing