We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An incredibly romantic place to stay with gorgeous historical gardens.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Ranked #15 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Panama City, Panama
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“An incredibly romantic place to stay with gorgeous historical gardens.”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Standing in over 200 acres of its own parkland to the south of Llandudno with spectacular views of Snowdonia and Conwy Castle. Believed to have 13th century origins, Bodysgallen Hall provides all that is best in country house hospitality, in fact, it is the highest rated country house hotel in Wales. Beautiful gardens include a rare 17th century parterre of box hedges filled with sweet-scented herbs, a rockery with a cascade, a walled rose garden, and several follies.

Historic House Hotels Limited has skillfully and sympathetically restored the 17th century house. The hotel has two restaurants, with imaginative food, which has been awarded three rosettes by the AA for fine-dining in the Main Hall, and is prepared from fresh local produce and complemented by fine wine. A Bistro called 1620, named after the oldest build-date of the Main Hall. In September 2008 this company donated all its interests in BODYSGALLEN HALL and the other two HISTORIC HOUSE HOTELS to the NATIONAL TRUST, with all profits benefiting the houses and the charity.

Bodysgallen's Spa, reached by a short walk through the gardens, was converted from an original stone-built farmhouse. It contains a magnificent 50-foot swimming pool, five treatment rooms, a relaxation room, whirlpool spa bath, steam room and sauna. The gymnasium has a wide range of equipment for all levels of fitness. http://www.bodysgallen.com/

Some of us had rooms in the main house while others had rooms in Hall Cottages…I had the Bailiffs Cottage. The cottages offer a greater degree of privacy and some have their own private garden. They are the ideal place for couples and families travelling together or a romantic break, and a perfect base from which to discover the glorious countryside. The cottages have a bedroom, some with two or three bedrooms, bathroom, sitting room and a separate area for making tea or coffee. VERY POSH INDEED and I cannot begin to tell you how wonderful it was to wake up the next morning and see all this incredibly green lush landscape surrounding us. The 17th Century Parterre garden was just below where I was with boxwood planted in 1885.. All the cottages have beautiful gardens enveloping them. A joy to get up early, walk and take photographs.

Room Tip: The cottages are wonderful to stay in, very private and have everything you need for a perfect stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ICanTravelPanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    131
    39
    25
    17
See reviews for
113
385
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

This was my second visit to Bodysgallen and there is a reason why.

~I LOVE THIS PLACE.!!!!!

I first visited Bodysgallen in May 2011 with my Sister and Mother.
We stayed 3 nights in Blythe cottage, which is a beautiful 3-bedroom cottage with its own garden. The Lounge area is huge and the bedrooms are a reasonable size. There was enough space in the cottage for 3 of us, possible even more. Was certainly handy to have 2 showers for 3 girls.

We made good use of the Spa facilities by having 6 treatments between us. We all felt very relaxed and happy with the service we had received. We had consulted with the beautician that my mother wasn’t well at the time and they made sure they could do everything possible to make her visit was special and as comfortable as possible. This included letting her fall asleep in the lounge for 30mins.

We ate in the dining room the first night, we were like a bunch of schoolgirls, so excited with what we had ordered and jealous of what each other had got. The food was super fantastic, could not fault a thing. There was a fantastic Greek waiter called Nicolas, which made our dining experience complete.

On the second night my mother wasn’t feeling too well, so my sister and me ate in the Dining room, but we ordered food to the room and the standard was just like eating in the restaurant. The scallop with braised Pork is totally amazing!

We were all very happy with the service we had received and were quite sad to leave. We all came away with some very special memories, never to be forgotten.

So now I am writing another review after visiting for my second time. My partner and me have just spent two nights in Bodysgallen as a week-retreat. We booked this because of the special “late-availability” offer. Which is fantastic value.

This time we stayed in Park Cottage. The cottage was lovely and enchanting. My partner was very impressed with the cottage (it was the first time he’d come here) and the facilities available. This is a one-bedroom cottage with a lovely lounge and superb bedroom. The bedroom is a fantastic size for a cottage.
We walked in the grounds, which we lovely and well maintained.

We ate in the main dining room every night and the food is totally amazing. The food was a definite highlight to our stay, couldn’t wait to eat in the evening.
(Only thing I would change is to have maybe a little background music to break the silence).

I would defiantly stay in Bodysgallen again, I do love it here. It’s a fantastic place for an escape. The location setting makes, everything tranquil and beautiful.

I would recommend this place to anyone. I have never received any stuffy or snotty behavior from the staff, and I walk about in my usual jeans and trainers (apart from in the Dining Room, obviously).

Cant wait to go again.... Thankyou Bodysgallen for everything...!!!

Room Tip: I have always stayed in the cottages, so i cant comment on the rooms in the actual house. But i kno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ms_Orange81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We called at this hotel on spec for tea...it was empty and we were given a very rude and hostile reception and a huge fuss was made as to whether we had booked to arrive for tea ! During the visit the waiter service was hostile and unfriendly to the point where we thought it was hilarious...fawlty towers but very expensively so...we expected a snooty Basil to turn up any minute at all and ask whether we would make sure that we booked if we intended to call for tea again. Basically the staff need to be sent to a charm school for a couple of months and shown how to make people welcome. If I were a foreign visitor to Wales and this was my first encounter with Welsh hospitality I would be on the first plane home..... given the tourist downturn in Wales generally I would have thought they would make more effort. Definitely a place I shall not visit again

Michael Smith

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank pinto1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed in The Gingerbread House for a long weekend and were thrilled with our experience. Having stayed at many five-star spa resorts and country houses across the UK, I was initially a bit disappointed with the fact that the spa and rooms weren't as "slick" as the places I was used to frequenting. However, it quickly became evident that these were only minor criticisms that could be easily overlooked in light of the beautiful, expansive grounds the Hall occupies and the stellar service from staff who are clearly proud to work at such a distinguished establishment. The weather was windy but warm when we visited and we took the opportunity to walk to Conwy Castle, which only took about 45 minutes from the Hall itself and was a lovely, leisurely walk. We spent much of our time in the spa using the facilities and I had a massage treatment carried out by a highly professional and friendly therapist. Although it was clear that the clientele staying at the Hall that weekend were quite a bit older than us and seemingly regular visitors, not once were we met with any sort of snobbery or judgment from the staff, who were always courteous, eager to help, and friendly. We left to return to our hectic lives in the city feeling refreshed, pampered and happy. I would definitely recommend Bodysgallen for a short getaway in all seasons.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angloyankophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

This is the second time i have stayed here, and it didn't disappoint. The Gingerbread House was a little cottage in the grounds, with it's own little garden. Utterly charming. The staff are immensely helpful, and the food superb. We ate on Friday in the bistro, pricey but brilliant, and the main restaurant on Saturday, which I felt was in many ways better value, as the food was a s good as any in a top London restaurant, and fairly priced.. Would rec@d to anyone, as the gardens are well worth a visit alone. The spa staff were a delight and the pool divine...would love to go again soon. Just ensure you book thru a website like late rooms etc, as the savings from there make it a sensible price. Sara & Lauren G, Reading Berks , Sept 2011

Room Tip: Take any, they are al llovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sra f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Bodysgallen is a lovely historic property in a gorgeous part of Wales.
Our room was a gorgeous four poster room with a fireplace and sympathetic period decoration. The bed was very comfortable and the hotel provides a turn down service at night.
Unfortunately the view was over the car park, but there was a field and trees beyond.
The bathroom was quite plain but had a good shower. The wooden toilet seat cover could do with being changed as the rubber stopper on the lid has eroded the seat a little.
There is complementary mineral water and homemade shortbread in the room which was lovely. We were given tea and coffee making facilities on request but were told there were only 2 trays available for all of the hotel bedrooms. As all the cottages have tea and coffee making facilities they should ensure all main hotel rooms have access to this as well- only fair and a bit of a hotel basic.

The gardens are lovely and well manicured, including a parterre and a walled orchard.

The spa is very nice, with a good length pool and nice facilities.

A few thinks to improve on considering the price:
Whilst walking in the grounds we walked past two 'dump' areas, with old matresses, air con units etc. Whilst you wouldn't see these unless you properly explored the gardens, they were not well concealed and really surprised us. The one by the orchard smelt really bad as well.
The breakfast consisted of cereal, plain yoghurt, pastries, toast and fruit salad, as well as tea and coffee and fruit juice. Nothing wrong with this but it would have been nice to see a bit more variety. At other hotels we have stayed in of a similar standard they have a large choice of breads, nuts, more pastries, cheeses, sliced meats and more exotic fruit like blueberries to put on your cereal. It was also an extra £7.50 to upgrade to a cooked breakfast which we didn't try.

There are two lovely public rooms with fireplaces and sofas. It would be nice to have a bit more public space though. We never saw the bar area or the library. The common rooms are more comfy than grand like the rooms at, say, Hartwell House.

Overall, a lovely hotel, but a few things could be improved considering the price!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjpj2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We last visited Bodysgallen nearly 20 years ago. It was expensive, but everything about our stay was fabulous. We knew it was still expensive (£280 a night to include an allowance £78 for dinner for two) for a standard room, but we had high hopes when we arrived and were met and greeted by very pleasant and helpful reception staff. However we had no idea just how basic our room would be. Although it was pretty big in area, the ceiling height was oppressively low. But worse still, it was gloomy, drab, and stuffy or noisy and smelly. It only had a small window with one opening light – right over the kitchen extractor. So, if you wanted to breathe, you had to put up with the roar of the fans and the odours of whatever was being cooked. To their credit, the staff upgraded us, without any fuss, to a very pleasant double aspect room and reduced the two night price by £30, but the fact remains there is no way that our original room should have been offered to any guest in such a hotel – let alone at the price we were being charged.

We ate once at the Bistro and once in the dining room. The Bistro was O.K. The dining room food was good: the service was exceptional. (The staff were so attentive that would not have been out of place on the set of a 1920s country house party.) But we were irritated that the £39 a head allowance only covered one choice of starter, main and dessert – and that it was unchanged from the previous evening. A proper choice cost an extra £5 - rather mean, if you are paying nearly £300 a night. Wine was expensive - £55 for Cloudy Bay sauvignon Blanc.

The Spa offers the usual sort of treatments, a small gym, sauna, steam room and a pretty good 16m pool.

The Hall grew over the years from a 13th Century watchtower and retains many of its original features. The gardens are truly wonderful and well worth an inspection.

So, a fine setting and superb service. Why only four stars? First, because it is so expensive. Secondly, because of the quality of first room we were offered. It was simply awful and unbecoming of a hotel of this standard. And lastly, but less seriously, because the niggle about the dinner allowance.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 14 at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suffolkcodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandudno
2.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,209 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,562 reviews
2.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
1.8 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
775 reviews
2.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#25 of 60 in Llandudno
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodysgallen Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodysgallen Hall & Spa

Property: Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Address: The Royal Royal Welsh Way, Llandudno LL30 1RS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#17 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#18 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodysgallen Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing in over 200 acres of its own parkland to the south of Llandudno with spectacular views of Snowdonia and Conwy Castle. Believed to have 13th century origins, Bodysgallen Hall provides all that is best in country house hospitality. Beautiful gardens include a rare 17th century parterre of box hedges filled with sweet-scented herbs, a rockery with a cascade, a walled rose garden, and several follies. Historic House Hotels Ltd bought and rescued the house from a dilapidated state in 1981 and restored the 17th century house and gardens. In September 2008 Historic House Hotels Ltd and its interest in all its properties were given to the National Trust to ensure their long-term protection, with all profits benefiting the houses and the charity.The 15 extremely comfortable bedrooms in the Main Hall offer several different room types, including the four elegant principal suites. Each bedroom is individually decorated and furnished with antique furniture, paintings and prints, enjoying glorious views of Bodysgallen's parkland or gardens, with some rooms having further reaching views of Conwy Castle or the distant Mountains of Snowdonia. There are 16 cottage suites with picturesque names like The Smithy, Box Cottage and Pineapple Lodge, are situated in the grounds, and provide accommodation for guests preferring a greater degree of privacy. Many cottages enjoy their own private gardens and some are in close proximity to the Bodysgallen Spa. All are charming and delightful. The Dining Room in the main hall has been awarded three rosettes for fine dining by the AA - the only restaurant in Llandudno to be awarded such - and offers imaginative meals prepared from fresh local produce and complemented by fine wine, and overlooks the gardens and has been recognised as one of the best places for Sunday Lunch in the United Kingdom by The Observer newspaper.The Spa is approached by a short walk through the garden or by a private road. Converted from an original stone built farm it contains a magnificent 50' swimming pool edged with comfortable reclining chairs, whirlpool spa bath, steam room and sauna. A superb gymnasium has all the latest technologically advanced equipment, suitable for all ranges of fitness. A comfortable Club Room is a place where guests and members can relax and enjoy drinks and light meals, which in the summer are also served on the terrace. Residential guests have full use of the Bodysgallen Spa.Bodysgallen Hall is situated about 2 miles south from Llandudno and the North Wales coast. It is surrounded by over 200 acres of beautiful gardens and wooded parkland. Bodysgallen Hall has magnificent views of Snowdonia, and Conwy Castle. It's the perfect setting for a relaxed holiday at all times of the year. The hotel is ideally placed for visiting the many historic castles and stately homes in North Wales as well as the famous golf courses that adorn the coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bodysgallen Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodysgallen Hall Hotel Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall And Spa
Bodysgallen Hall Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing