We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry, but it doesn't deliver.”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #19 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 5, 2010

Everything is relative, I know. But this hotel is not afraid to charge, and when you see a high price, you expect a high standard. And they do not deliver.

The reception service was not particularly firendly. No porter service that I could see, although I didn't need it so didn't look too hard. The key didn't work in the room when I got there, and took two trips back to reception to get a working one. The tv seemed to be the Freesat service, so no pay tv and no sports stations.

The corridoors were shabby. The room was nice, but plain. The bathroom was adequate, but nothing special. The shower water never got beyond "very warm", and occasionally jumped to "cool", causing many leaps out of the way. Bathroom accessories ok.

We had dinner, and most were happy with the food, even if it was on the pricey side, considering the fare on offer. Service from our waiter (possibly head waiter) over dinner was very good. Three course dinner, without drinks, was about £ 34 - 38, which was a little on the expensive side.

The bed was comfortable, and although my sleep was ok, colleagues complained about not getting any sleep at all, possibly due to some heavy weather. They were all to the front of the hotel, I was at the rear. Pillows were very good, and there was an iron plus board in the room.

The gym and pool were not good. A colleague was asked to get off the treadmill because one of the staff wanted to give a private workout to a member - thats not good enough. Another colleague attempted to go for a swim but there are no changing rooms for guests - again, only for members. You're supposed to change in your room and walk down in your togs and a robe, and then presumably walk back up again in wet togs and a robe. All no use of course if you cant fit into the robe - and one of my colleagues couldnt, so got no swim. If a workout in a nice gym or pool is part of your decision - then dont choose here !

The bar was nice, pleasant staff, and the breakfast was very good, and well served. I recommend the porridge - delicious !

The car park is tiny, and not secure, and if you enter the hotel from that side, you get a very bad first impression.

Wifi everywhere, but didnt seem a very fast.

Overall - good, but not great. Not even very good. And for the price, you expect more. Meets all minimum requirements.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathalr_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,201 - 1,207 of 1,291 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2010

This is a lovely hotel in Llandudno with nice veiw. We stay for weekend, our room was nice and clean, breakfast was fantastic.we had a great time. We will be come back again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superstar64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

Called in to the Imperial for a night on way home from a holiday in North Wales - had a room on sea front with balcony - excellent once again - lovely food, charming staff and a thoroughly good time. I can recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carl_angeloff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

I recently stayed for the second year in this luvely hotel with my elderly mum who is in a wheelchair. Nothing was too much trouble to the very friendly staff on both times we have been. I enjoyed the breakfast, being able to choose the dining room or to sit on the terrace looking out at the luvely front promenade was a very good idea. The standard of the food excellent. The rooms also good, no noise and nothing to complain of. I will definitely stay here again in the future. I have also learnt that this hotel has won the uk hotel award. Well done, and congrats. You deserve to win. Thank u for a luvely stay.

Stayed: September 2010
1  Thank debs186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

We stayed for two nights including a wine tasting event in the hotel and throughly enjoyed it. Great breakfasts and excellent service. While rooms are a little tired they were perfectly clean spacious and acceptable. A highlight was hearing the harp played one evening in the bar. Location perfect and great views of the area from our room on the 4th floor. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

I have always dreamed of staying at The Imperial hotel and last week that dream was realised and you certainly didn't disappoint.

We stayed in room 434 with a wonderful view of the Orme and also the West Shore (though any floor lower would not allow such a great view), the bedrooms are lovely and the bathroom just fabulous with everything the traveller could require, with the robes and slippers a wonderful touch.

We stayed on the Fish and Chip offer and the meal was gorgeous, if not a slightly large portion! The service at breakfast was also first rate with a large selection to choose from and we just love sitting in the terrace drinking either coffee or something stronger, just people watching.

I hope that we don't have to wait too long for another visit to your hotel and thanks again for a fantastic stay



Regards



Barbara and Stephen Carter, Liverpool, September 2010

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbaracarter74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

A venue that's great if you want to walk out onto the beach but if you want modern, clean and of value you'll get none of these things at the Imperial.

I was horrified to discover that the carpeting everywhere with the exception of the bedrooms, were dirty, worn and simply did not fit with the price per night they charge.

Further, I realise that the convenience of having all your requirements in one place mean establishments can almost charge what they wish - the captive audience game - but £14 for a single vodka and a glass of cider seems extortionate - actually it is extortionate...please, take my eyeballs next time!

All joking aside there are better hotels in the area and the Imperial is not one we will hurry back to use.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,452 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Llandudno
351 reviews
0.5 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
#9 of 60 in Llandudno
233 reviews
2 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#15 of 60 in Llandudno
718 reviews
0.5 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: The Promenade Vaughan Street | Wales, Llandudno LL30 1AP, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Llandudno
#6 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#11 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#12 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#24 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: $140 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial is the perfect venue for both business and leisure alike. Enjoy dinner in our elegant award-winning Restaurant offering mouth-watering dishes using only the freshest local produce and complemented by an extensive wine list or dine on the Terrace from our Evening Terrace menu. Lunches and light refreshments are served on our charming Terrace overlooking the promenade. Resident guests have full use of our health and fitness centre Mint Condition during their stay. Weddings, Celebrations and Conferences are also catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Llandudno
The Imperial Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing