We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time at the Imperial!”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #17 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 14, 2007

My husband and I have just come back from a 3 night break at the Imperial, and cannot recommend the place highly enough!!

The breakfast was wonderful, with a good selection of cereals, fruit, fresh juices and croissants, followed by a full cooked breakfast of your choice. We didn't try the restaurant in the evenings, although it seemed very popular! However, the food ordered from room service was delicious.

The staff were all very friendly, efficient and attentive, and were keen to make sure that we were happy. Our room, although quite small, had an enormous bathroom, and even though we were on the fifth floor, overlooking the car park, we actually had lovely views of the Great Orme and the sea, towards Conwy in the distance!

The hotel itself was immaculate and very well equipped, with a gym and an indoor swimming pool, which is ideal to keep children entertained during bad weather. The hotel is situated in a fantastic position right on the sea front, which makes it a very pleasant 2 min stroll to the shops, the pier and the Great Orme.

People in previous reviews have criticised the hotel's car park, as it is very small and will only fit about 20 - 30 cars. However, parking in front of the hotel works out at only £1.50 for 24 hours, so we didn't even bother with the car park!

If it helps, we got quite a good deal through the hotel's own website, so it might be worth checking the prices / special offers on there before booking. We would definitely return!

Stayed: February 2007
1  Thank sunshinepenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,274 - 1,280 of 1,301 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2007

This was our first visit to the Imperial Hotel at Llandudno and overall we enjoyed our stay. The hotel is well-maintained and well-managed and has an excellent position on the seafront. My wife and I asked for (and got) a quiet room on the fifth floor because of previous experiences of kitchen extractor fans keeping us awake on the non-view side of some hotels we've visited. As we were on a 4 day package over the Christmas 2006 holiday period we had excellent food, service, organised entertainment and presents.

The good points? The staff (many from Eastern Europe) were extremely hard-working and a request to change from a duvet to sheets and blankets, for example, was actioned within minutes. The building was warm and clean and the bedroom excellent.

The bad points? We agree with an earlier tripadvisor commentator that the car park is tiny and we were effectively blocked in for the duration. The dance area was a bit austere and could have done with a bit more of the festive spirit. Oh yes, and then there were the OAPs ... not the fault of the hotel but we felt a little overwhelmed by the Zimmer brigade!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandranne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2006

Hotel has been refurbished sice my last stay, reception friendly on check in but no help offered with luggage etc, even though its obvious I am disabled. Not shown to room either. Front of hotel has steps so used back entrence which was quite dirty and a bit wiffy!

Room large (very large!) bathroom a very good size, bath excellent also.

A bit nosiy if you open the windows (extractor fan? music) but ok.

Small carpark which was not easy to find and not always a space.

Breakfasts not good. Ordered porridge and kippers given kippers before porridge twice.
Asked for runny eggs but always rock hard. The table was dirty, and getting a coffee was very hard work. The staff did not seem to be allocated tables.

Ordered cheese and biscuits but no biscuits!
Was supposed to have a veggie option but also ran out!
No relaxing areas to sit in as open to non residents and people tend to use it as a base for the days so residents often unable to find seats.

If they got the food in order this could be a nice hotel, but otherwise chose the St Tudno, Empire or Osbourne if you want to eat!

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Vicci142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Wollaton, Nottingham
12
Reviewed July 9, 2006

I have just returned from a three night break at the Imperial Hotel in Llandudno and wished to share my enjoyment of this superb hotel with other holiday makers.

My room was clean, comfy, light and airy with wonderful decor and the food, both in the restaurant at breakfast and in the evening, and also on the terrace at lunch time was to a very high standard.

All in all, this hotel and the staff gave me a holiday to be fondly remembered.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2006

my husband and i have just come back from a holiday here.
the drinks are a little expensive and if you buy extra vegetables at dinner you will be charged for these but i feel you need them in order to bulk out your meal.
there are no changing facilities for the health club so you need to change in your room and go down in a robe provided by the hotel so take your slippers
having said all that i loved the hotel it was spotlessley clean and our room was huge
the food is delicious and the view breathtaking
the staff were lovely and i felt like i was staying on a paradise island.
well worth the money

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeedsJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2006

Stayed here week end 17/18 Feb 2006. 48 people in our party and the hotel coped brilliantly. It was lovely and warm, the rooms were large, clean and well stocked. The food was a very high standard. The staff were so obliging. There is a great pool, sauna, jacusie. Would recomend it to anyone. Great Place

2  Thank textiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2006

Had one night at this hotel,birthday surprise from my husband.We enjoyed are stay nice evening meal,only thing it was either 2 or 3 course meal £21.50 2course £25.00 3 course if you wanted steak it was,a £5 supplement witch we thought was a bit much, we did'nt think you should have to pay supplement.The staff were all very nice and nothing was too much trouble for them,large glass of wine was £5 would stay again sometime might take the chldren next time.Nice area to sit and have snack,coffee etc was the verhanda looking out over the prom especally when the weather is'nt to good very hot in our room we were on the 5th floor non smoking,could'nt complain about the heat the hotel was lovely and worm which is what you wont on a cold febuary day.Overall great location and very nice hotel would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1finney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 59 in Llandudno
1,461 reviews
0.5 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#18 of 59 in Llandudno
942 reviews
0.5 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#10 of 59 in Llandudno
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#24 of 59 in Llandudno
353 reviews
2 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#15 of 59 in Llandudno
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: The Promenade Vaughan Street | Wales, Llandudno LL30 1AP, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Llandudno
#6 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#10 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#11 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#24 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: $127 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial is the perfect venue for both business and leisure alike. Enjoy dinner in our elegant award-winning Restaurant offering mouth-watering dishes using only the freshest local produce and complemented by an extensive wine list or dine on the Terrace from our Evening Terrace menu. Lunches and light refreshments are served on our charming Terrace overlooking the promenade. Resident guests have full use of our health and fitness centre Mint Condition during their stay. Weddings, Celebrations and Conferences are also catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Llandudno
The Imperial Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing