We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - staff un-welcoming”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #19 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - staff un-welcoming”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at the Imperial, Llandudno. Beautiful hotel and facilities. Bedrooms very well decorated and extremely comfortable beds - nice breakfast.
Unfortunately we found, in general, that the staff did not reflect our opinion of the four star hotel.
Reception staff were very matter of fact on arrival, no interest in us or any welcoming gesture or phrase. Asked about booking dinner - she abruptly replied "let me do this first". Bar staff and restaurant staff seemed unsure of their responsibilites and lacking in customer service. The restaurant staff (evening and breakfast) had no idea of how to deal with their customers, use their initiative to respond to customer wishes and continually scanning the dining room for requests for help. The Restauant manger seemed to be clearing tables, whilst the head waiter was dashing about doing everyone's job, but failing to his own by telling guests what they needed to do and the breakfast system worked. He rudely pointed a direction in which they had to make their own way. It was a shame that the staff had not had the training they needed and looked like they didn't care about their jobs and possibly didn't really want to be there.
I would visit the hotal again, but I hope that these customer service training issues would be addressed by then. Go to this hotel, but hope that the hard workers aren't stressed out by the inept casual work force.

Room Tip: Fifth floor with terracte - great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your review we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room comfortable and you enjoyed Breakfast . We are disappointed to read your comments regarding our staff we will take this up with the relevant departments. We hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    358
    121
    30
    24
See reviews for
275
525
40
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Looking forward to our stay next week. We stay on a regular basis in the spring and autumn. Always stay in the same room, which has a balcony. The staff are wonderful, always helpful and the food is great. Love eating breakfast and dinner looking out to the sea.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LichfieldCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
We look forward to welcoming you and enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel on business early February. I would definitely return. Below is a summary of my feedback:-
Rooms:- I was in room 301 a standard. For a standard room I could not fault it, the bathroom was large and had a lovely free standing bath and separate shower. The rest of the room was perfectly comfortable.
Car park:- small and tight but free. If you don't manage to squeeze into then small car park you will incur a charge parking on the road.
Service:- generally very good certainly from bar and reception team. Breakfast on the second day had very poor and in attentive service and the staff looked miserable.
Food:- excellent on all occasions.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DavidL22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review we’re glad you enjoyed your stay found our service and food good. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with breakfast on your second day, we will look into this. We are fortunate in that we are one of the few hotels in the centre of the resort to offer any car parking facilities at all and find on the whole that guests, and trust you one of these, that had no problem parking and that you will return to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We just love this Hotel, wonderful bedrooms, crisp white sheets, lovely bathroom, nice and roomy with fluffy white towels and a balcony. The food is fantastic, the breakfasts are to die for. Nothing is too much trouble for the extremely helpful staff. Especially love to eat looking out to sea. Can't wait for our next stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

My partner booked us a last minute weekend away at the Imperial in one of their suites. The hotel is situated on the beach front and has very limited parking which is situated around the back. It's in an excellent location and very close to the town with its array of shops. The hotel is clean but does need a lick of paint here and there. The suite it's self was lovely, big and clean but VERY warm. We turned the heating off and opened the windows but the baby monitor still read 24°c all night. We ate in the restaurant both in the day and night and the food was good. We would stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your recent review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in one of our suites. We are sorry to hear you found the suite too warm, thank you for bringing it to our attention we will refer this to our maintenance team. We are also pleased you enjoyed the food in our Restaurant and hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hay on Wye
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We live in Hay on Wye and, prompted by Cerys Matthews excellent programme on the Welsh M1 (the A470!) on BBC Radio 4, we decided to do the journey north and stay in Llandudno. Firstly, the journey passes though some simply breath-taking scenery - we are so fortunate to live close to it. Our welcome at the hotel was very friendly and we were very happy with our room. The service in the restaurant and choice/quality of meals for dinner was very good too. The only downside to our stay was the unavailability of parking as a function was taking place. But a minor quibble and we'd happily recommend The Imperial.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you to Cerys Matthews Radio Programme! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, especially the room, food and service from our staff. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

As we were on unscheduled trip had no accommodation planned. Walked in off street and were lucky enough to acquire double room with balcony and sea view at very reasonable rate. Extremely helpful staff on reception and throughout hotel in general, restaurant staff speedy and efficient and food delicious. Beautiful views from room centrally situated on bay. Spotlessly clean relaxing atmosphere , not only would we stay here again but are already planning our return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and are planning your return.Thank you once again for choosing The Imperial and we very much look forward to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#25 of 60 in Llandudno
329 reviews
0.5 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#11 of 60 in Llandudno
929 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
2.0 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#15 of 60 in Llandudno
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: Vaughan Street, The Promenade | Wales, Llandudno LL30 1AP, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Llandudno
#6 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#11 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#15 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#24 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial is the perfect venue for both business and leisure alike. Enjoy dinner in our elegant award-winning Restaurant offering mouth-watering dishes using only the freshest local produce and complemented by an extensive wine list or dine on the Terrace from our Evening Terrace menu. Lunches and light refreshments are served on our charming Terrace overlooking the promenade. Resident guests have full use of our health and fitness centre Mint Condition during their stay. Weddings, Celebrations and Conferences are also catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Llandudno
The Imperial Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing