We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return visit”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #18 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Shropshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Return visit”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

As it had been a couple of years since my last visit, I thought we would see if it was still good.

Good room this time, food was excellent, and the standard overall was very good. The only thing that lets it down for me Again was the lack of changing facilties for the swimming pool getting changed in your room and having nowhere to put your things is poor.

Just a residents changing room would make all the difference.

Overall the hotel is very good, and will be happy to go there agian anytime.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCarlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We’re delighted you decided to return to the hotel and are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your comments on the room, food and overall standard and I will be sure to pass your “food was excellent” comment on to our chefs. We appreciate your comments on the changing facilities in Mint Condition. Because we are the only hotel in the centre of the resort to offer a health and fitness centre it is extremely popular with guests and members and therefore in much demand. Our policy is that the changing rooms are only available to members as we provide all our guests with towelling robes. This overcomes the issue and normally guests are happy with this and feel it is a very small price to pay to enjoy Mint Condition’s facilities. We hope you won’t leave it too long before returning again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    350
    113
    29
    22
See reviews for
264
512
39
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Culcheth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Become our regular due to cost and good position in Victorian resort. One of the better hotels in Llandudno with large high ceiling rooms, many with good sea views. Service excellent, restaurant and food is good and special deals attractive.
The conservatory and lounge area are tired and needs some improvement to warrant 4* status.
We have booked again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goodvalue26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a reviews, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have just returned from a delightful two day break at The Imperial in Llandudno.This is our second stay this year.The first thing we noticed was the 5 star rating by Gwynedd Council for cleanliness,although living in Gwynedd we do not see many 5s.The place ,although old, is spotless throughout.Staff are all friendly and nothing is too much trouble.We enjoyed Dinner and Breakfasts,particularly in the huge conservatory on the front.Sadly Llandudno itself leaves much to be desired particularly the Pier area,completely spoilt by the run down, unfortunately named, "Grand Hotel".Normally we would find a small criticism but the only comment would be that a small fridge in the room would have been useful.We stayed in the Mostyn Suite which,although expensive is beautiful,spacious ,with three huge windows making the Lounge full of light. The Car Park ,although ,one would think was inadequate never seemed to be full even when the Hotel was busy,so no problem parking.Well Done to the staff for keeping such high standards..

Room Tip: Wonderful views from the rooms on the front of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derbydiner2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with friends. We are very pleased to have the 5 rating for Food Hygiene, and your comments regarding the staff and service are very much appreciated, these will be passed on as feedback is important. We look forward to welcoming you back soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

On our recent stay at Llandudno, one night we decided to have dinner at the Imperial Hotel.

The restaurant is not far from the bar area however it was nice to hear the piano playing in the background (piano played in the bar).
Me and my partner didnt have starter, however I ordered for mail lamb trio and my partner had the steak.
My partner said his main was very nice however he wished he had more of it.
The lamb trio come pea puree sauce, a squared shaped potatoe and few carrots. The meat just melted in your mouth and was lovely and would make you want to lick the plate clean lol.
For desert I had the chocolate trio which consisted of chocolate orange mouse, white chocolate & nuts, however I didnt have the chocolate truffle (dnt like custard) so chef gave me instead ice cream in brandy snap casing. Once again desert very nice especially chocolate orange mouse.
My partner had the apple pie and said pie part was quite creasey howeve portion size was about right.

Overall service was ok, not all staff were knowledgeable on the menu and to what it is, however to be fair they did go and obtain the answers.
Not all the staff are British and apears to be from elsewhere in Europe, however their English is rather good.
Only slight criticism staff towards end of services wasn't very assertive especially in collecting the bill we had paid along with tip we left. In the end we left it on the table (which I know is how things use to be years ago, however hardly anyone seems to this anymore).

From what we saw the hotel appeared to be very clean and based on what we have seen we would dine here again or even stay here of we were in the area.

Based on what we ordered with drinks you'd be looking about £33 upwards per person, we didnt have starters.



  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ZippySar82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your meal in the Restaurant and hope to welcoming to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I have been staying at the Imperial for the May Bank Holiday for 15 years. We always have the same room which is beautifully appointed and has an enormous bathroom. There is much attention to detail from the fluffy bath robes to the Welsh water and the local biscuits. The food is sensational both breakfast and dinner, I always have the smoked haddock for my first breakfast, it's big, succulent and none of this yellow dyed stuff. The proximity to the prom and the town makes it easy to walk on the flat every where. The weekend celebrates a Victorian Extravaganza and there is a great atmosphere with locals dressing up in Victorian costumes, ridding penny farthing bikes. There are fairground rides and a fantastic parade of steam engines every day .Back at the Imperial I can't fault the staff, we are remembered and treated well. They do have a pool and spa but although children are banned from 6 pm they take a long time to leave. We have already booked for next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellydawes47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us again over the May Bank Holiday with the Victorian Extravaganza, the atmosphere is great. We will pass on your comments to the staff and look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This hotel is amazing. The service and quailty of staff, food and accomodation was brilliant. I had an amzing time while at the hotel and the surroundings and view justtopped it off. Thanks for being so brilliant.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor front rooms as the views of the bay are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and agree the views from the 5th floor are amazing. We hope to welcome you back soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fylde
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had booked dinner with friends whilst visiting Llandudno but staying elsewhere. We all wished that we had been staying at the Imperial. We will certainly stay there for our next visit. The restaurant menu was varied and well presented and was excellent value, and the public areas of this large hotel were immaculate and made no attempt to be anything other than rather grand. One minor whinge - about something almost all restaurants do, particularly in hotels. Whilst guests appreciate the imperative for staff to "lay-up" for (say) the following days breakfast, it would be nice if they could wait until the current days diners had finished eating! Apart from that, brilliant!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal in the Restaurant and hope to welcome you to stay at the hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.5 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#9 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: Vaughan Street, The Promenade | Wales, Llandudno LL30 1AP, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Llandudno
#6 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#11 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#15 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#24 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial is the perfect venue for both business and leisure alike. Enjoy dinner in our elegant award-winning Restaurant offering mouth-watering dishes using only the freshest local produce and complemented by an extensive wine list or dine on the Terrace from our Evening Terrace menu. Lunches and light refreshments are served on our charming Terrace overlooking the promenade. Resident guests have full use of our health and fitness centre Mint Condition during their stay. Weddings, Celebrations and Conferences are also catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Llandudno
The Imperial Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing