We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOMELY”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #18 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“HOMELY”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed for festive fun Christmas Dinner with overnight room. Service at dinner excellent, though a little hurried. Gerry makes his mark, all overseen by Dave the restaurant manager. A little noisey, Laing O'Rourke;s malevoice choir wouldn't win any prizes but all good natured. Room overlooking Vaughan St. excellent, warm, quiet appart from noisey guests at 3.30 AM, but that wasn't the fault of the hotel. Wonderful breakfast. to be recommended.

Room Tip: Sea view would be nice I'm sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuckleeSalop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed the Christmas party night, they were very popular once again this year,we will pass you comments on to Jerry and David and hope you see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    349
    113
    29
    22
See reviews for
263
511
39
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Lovely superior room, good housekeeping, friendly reception staff, comfy bed adequate parking. Breakfast fruit very fresh but the cooked breakfast very disappointing it must have been kept warm as it was not freshly cooked and although we had looked forward to it we had to leave it uneaten.. Swimming pool and all The Mint areas clean and tidy. Staff polite and pleasant too. This room was expensive at £139 per night and due to the poor breakfast we will look elsewhere for our next stay.

Room Tip: Choose the superior rooms they are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 76readytogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for your comments and praise on our rooms, staff and health and fitness centre. We are sorry though you were disappointed with the cooked breakfast and are surprised when the reviews from guests staying at the same time are full of praise but we would have preferred that you had spoken to either the Restaurant Manager or Duty Manager at the time to have given us the opportunity to address your issues and if necessary rectify the situation. We are surprised with your comment regarding the cost as our rates are highly competitive for a Four Star hotel within this resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Another short break and again we stayed at the Imperial in Llandudno. From the moment we arrived (Wed 5th December) till the day we left (Sat 8th December) everyone at the hotel was kind and hospitable. The front reception desk staff were helpful and informative, the bar staff professional and kind and the staff in the restaurant were equally good. The food was superb (we stayed Dinner Bed & Breakfast). We had a large room on the second floor overlooking the sea and the room was clean and fresh when we arrived and remained so throughout our stay. Staff were friendly and made the stay so delightful. It is a little more expensive than some hotels in Llandudno but you really do get what you pay for.

Room Tip: We booked a Superior Executive Sea view - a little more expensive but worth the extra - King size be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your comments and we’re glad you found our staff professional and the food superb, we will pass your comments on to the staff and hope to welcoming you back to the Imperial again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay I can only say I was totaly impressed with everything. The room was comfortable, spacious and well equipped. The dining area and bar were welcoming as were the staff. We made use of the pool and steam room which was why we chose this hotel. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice. We booked a meal in restaurant on second night and our table was on terrace which had a lovely ambiance food was also very good. We will definately return next year

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda1934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review, we are pleased you enjoyed your chill out weekend. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Was given quite a small basic room but it was clean. Staff friendly. Asked for sea view and got a car park view although the hotel is clearly empty. Food in restaurant was awful, fish smelled and chocolate dessert was stale. Quite disappointed as not cheap. :(

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albertoalligator1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Further to your review, our Front Facing rooms carry supplements as they would in all hotels. We are very disappointed to hear your evening meal was not to your expectation we take pride in our outstanding reputation for food, and would have preferred if you had taken this up with the duty manager at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

we went to the hotel as we were seeing the hairy bikers the hotel was lovely it was our wedding annavsiary and our friends 40th we got upgraded tp balcony room the rooms were fab big bathrooms water in rooms iron and board. after the show back at hotel where hairy bikers were also staying the atmosphere was great staff smiled and were pleasent even though we kept them up until early hours. breakfast was also brill as was the lunch we will defo be back.

Room Tip: room 523 and 522 sea veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We visited the hotel on10th November to arrange a special treat for my mum and dads golden wedding anniversary. We found out that they booked the Imperial for their special occasion, We spoke to Reception on the 10th and dropped off Champagne and Balloons to be put in their room the following weekend. We also booked for 6 people the traditional afternoon tea as a surprise. We advised the staff that we would like them to advise my parents that I had paid for the treat for them for the afternoon of their anniversary being the 17th November.
On the Friday I rang to double check the arrangements with Reception and that all was ok. They confirmed that all was organised. They were going to tell them when they arrived that their afternoon tea for two was booked for 3.00pm.

We arrived at the hotel on the 17th to surprise my parents and were informed by the staff in the lounge that no booking had been made !!! We were astounded as the very staff that we booked it with were on Reception. He informed us that he didn t know if he had a table available for 6 and proceeded to go and see as it was very busy. In the meantime we waited around in the hopes that the parents did not arrive early and the surprise be totally spoilt.

He eventually got us a window table as we had requested and we sat and awaited my parents arrival. However in the meantime my parents arrived at the other end of the lounge and were sat at the opposite end of the lounge even though the waiter was informed by them that "our son has booked afternoon tea for us for a treat" and still the waiter did not put two and two together. We then had to get the waiters attention to inform him that they were the parents !!!
He then proceeded to go and get them telling them "there are some people waiting for you over there" spoiling the surprise totally.

Once we had made our greetings etc the waiter then asked us did we want tea or coffee. We all asked for tea and it promptly arrived with a plate of packet biscuits !!!

We asked the waiter once again where the afternoon tea was and his response was again "sorry I didnt know you wanted the full afternoon tea "

What eventually came were a few dried up sandwiches (2 each) of 1 tomato and 1 cucumber and 1 smoked salmon between 2 people and a warmed up scone,. which had obviously been warmed up stale ones. By the time the heat had gone from them they were dry and more like rock cakes, revolting. We had a younger member of the group who did not like scones so we asked for a piece of chocolate cake instead, to be told by a foreign member of staff that "We have already warmed scones for you" and she would have to check if it was OK !! Total disrespect for the customer's request.

The whole experience was shambolic and utterly embarrassing. However we did not make too much fuss as we did not want to spoil the occasion and they had another 2 nights to stay.

On our arrival back home we rang the hotel and in fact spoke to the receptionist who we had dealt with. She too was completely baffled by what had happened and she said she would try to find out what went so badly wrong.

To this day we have never had a response or apology, When my parents left the hotel they were not given an apology either.

For a four star hotel I find this unbelievable service and would have expected much better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank phoenix201109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialLlandudno, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
I am shocked to read your review and can only profusely apologise that what should have been a celebratory family occasion turned out to be anything but. We take pride in offering our guests outstanding food and service and in this instance we obviously fell very short across the board which is totally unacceptable so I will be looking into this straight away. I understand you have spoken direct with reception but would have preferred that you had spoken to the manager on duty at the time so this could have been dealt with immediately and also to your satisfaction. Please do accept my sincerest apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.5 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#9 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: Vaughan Street, The Promenade | Wales, Llandudno LL30 1AP, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Llandudno
#6 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#11 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#15 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#24 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial is the perfect venue for both business and leisure alike. Enjoy dinner in our elegant award-winning Restaurant offering mouth-watering dishes using only the freshest local produce and complemented by an extensive wine list or dine on the Terrace from our Evening Terrace menu. Lunches and light refreshments are served on our charming Terrace overlooking the promenade. Resident guests have full use of our health and fitness centre Mint Condition during their stay. Weddings, Celebrations and Conferences are also catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Llandudno
The Imperial Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing