We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highest standard of hospitality”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #18 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
WALES
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Highest standard of hospitality”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

On Thursday 22nd November, like many hundreds of people, I was stranded and unable to get home due to floods.My daughter managed to book a room for me in this hotel. The staff, without exception, were amazing and they dealt sympathetically with many stressed - out guests who had spent hours in their cars.The Imperial did not put up it's room rates either to take advantage of the number of people who were stranded like I understand other hotels did.
The Hotel itself is excellent, beautiful rooms and the breakfast was amazing with lots of choice.
If we need to stay in Llandudno again this is the hotel I would book into......and I won't wait for a flood !
To all the staff at the Imperial - thank you so much for a lovely stay and exceptional standards of hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRAVELALOTWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we were sorry to hear you were caught up in the terrible weather and floods last week but were pleased you enjoyed your unplanned stay. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again floods or no floods!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    350
    113
    29
    22
See reviews for
264
512
39
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The Imperial offers a very warm welcomi and has firendly staff and good food.
I have held meetings and conferences and they ahve been very helpful and efficient.
Overall it is a comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the seafront offer a great view over the promenade and out to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff690_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you had another comfortable an enjoyable stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is an excellent hotel. The bedroom was very comfortable, quiet and spacious. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very substantial with an excellent variety. This is our second stay at this hotel and look forward to renewing the pleasure in the future. Thanks.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side afford a good view of the bay and promenade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryann391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and very much look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Well appointed. Friendly staff. Luggage taken to room. Standard rooms are....well standard! Nice bathroom - could have used some instructions for shower. Had to ask for extra towels as only one bath/hand between two. Tea and cakes on the terrace good. Comfortable sitting area. Breakfast very good. Our one evening meal (we didn't stay for another) was not of the best quality. It was Sunday and those of us who had chosen a roast meal felt it had been left hanging around since lunch. That second day roast potato flavour and pre cut meat. Not what I would have served to my own guests. I complained three times but was not offered any satisfactory explanation - just apology- and no money off. Overall enjoyed our stay. But for a lovely home cooked meal go to Carol and Tom at the Queen Victoria on 4 Church Walks - super value and they have a gorgeous restaurant upstairs. Thanks to the taxi driver for recommending them. Llandudno is great. Imperial situated in a great position. We had a lovely break

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbaraharr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
We’re glad you had a lovely break with us and made the most of our superb location by relaxing on The Terrace. We are very sorry though to have read your comments about the Sunday dinner which we will obviously look into straight away so please accept our apologies and we hope when you return you will try Chantrey’s again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsbottom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We particularly wanted a sea view, so paid £70 to upgrade and paid the balance via the good old Tesco vouchers. We thought it seemed an expensive deal BUT the size of room (512 ask for it by name!), the balcony and the stunning sea & coast views made it worth every penny, I just wish I'd packed my binoculars.

The swimming pool sauna etc were all to a high standard, but the changing arrangement were a little quirky. Presumably due to a lack of space you got changed in your room, went & swam etc, then returned to your room to change back. we didn't mind it, but I can see it might put some folk off.

We didn't eat there in the evening, the prices seemed reasonable if the food was good, but I can't speak for it. However, the breakfast was sumptuous, so if that's any marker, you should be fine.

Staff were helpful & polite and nothing seemed too much trouble. Parking could be a problem, but we were fortunate to find a space on the small car park at the rear of the hotel, otherwise I guess you have to pay and walk a little way.

All in all a great hotel, and well worth a visit - in our case another visit, as Arnie says "We'll be back" and we'll be trying for room 512 again!

Room Tip: If you want a superb view ASK, some of the rooms on the 5th floor have balconies, but you will pay a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashwori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and was well worth the visit we very much look forward to welcoming you to the Imperial in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel has excellent facilities great for families with a pool sauna hot tub and gym. Ideal location on the sea front with very clean rooms and comfy beds. The breakfast menu was superb with friendly staff throughout. Good value for money definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nell1970-40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay and found the rooms comfortable, the breakfast menu and staff superb, and also good value for money. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We recently stayed with here with another couple, on a short break to Llandudno, We tried for St George Hotel where we had previously stayed, but the hotel would not 'play ball' with what I thought were high room prices.
However i'm quite glad we settled for The Imperial, the room here was excellent, even a partial sea view (214 I think) and the deal included champagne and chocolates. The restaurant service was fantastic, food very nice. Breakfast food and service second to none.
I thought the reception desk was a little frosty on arrival but any further encounters seemed OK. There is a nice looking pool, but unfortunately we had no time to test it out.
Parking can be an issue, but in all fairness this is a Llandudno wide issue. There is a small car park at the rear and I did manage to find a space for our two day visit, however this would probably not be the case if you arrived evening onwards. Public spaces (lounges, etc) a little dowdy in places, but I appreciate old Victorian buildings take a lot of upkeep, but maybe due a lick of paint in places.
Afternoon tea, for me always a pleasant experience, but needs bigger variety of items.
Overall a great weekend and I would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G4WLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your review we are pleased you enjoyed our Champagne Break these are one of our most popular offers. Great to hear you found the restaurant service and food fantastic. We will pass on your comments to the Restaurant staff, and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.5 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#9 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: Vaughan Street, The Promenade | Wales, Llandudno LL30 1AP, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Llandudno
#6 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#11 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#15 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#24 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial is the perfect venue for both business and leisure alike. Enjoy dinner in our elegant award-winning Restaurant offering mouth-watering dishes using only the freshest local produce and complemented by an extensive wine list or dine on the Terrace from our Evening Terrace menu. Lunches and light refreshments are served on our charming Terrace overlooking the promenade. Resident guests have full use of our health and fitness centre Mint Condition during their stay. Weddings, Celebrations and Conferences are also catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Llandudno
The Imperial Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing