We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel overall”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #18 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel overall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Bearing in mind that most hotels in this town have to work round the fact they are old Victorian buildings that have been altered over the years, The Imperial was very nice, clean, comfortable, friendly, and all the staff did what they could to make your stay enjoyable. Food was very good, as was it's position on the sea front .
Car parking can be an issue, due to point made above, but of course this is not the fault of the hotel. There were only 2 small capacity lifts, which could pose a problem for people with mobilty problems.
a good hotel overall, however, at times they appeared to struggle to maintain the good service,such as slow food and drink delivery, having to be reminded of orders, etc, and on the last day of our 4 day stay, breakfast was a complete and utter shambles.
Other than this "blip" and the occasional lapse of service, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room at the side overlooking car park, but could hear a slight "humming" noise fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coastersteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you found the food and service overall good. We are one of the few large hotels in the resort to have a car park and while we appreciate it is small..
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    342
    111
    29
    22
See reviews for
259
502
38
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Hi.just come back from a weekend in llandudno,stayed in the imperial great hotel great spot on the front,everything was spotless lovely big rooms and lovelt comfy beds ,stayed in the back but still lovely room ,i would recommend this hotel,and the breakfast is great too.

Room Tip: if you can get one at the front of the hotel for lovely sea views,but not sure if they charge extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harvey776264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your great review, we are pleased your enjoyed your stay and everything was spot on. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed for our wedding anniversary over the August bank holiday and the hotel really lived up to expectations. We love Llandudno anyway and have eaten lunch here many times, but it was still nice to see that the rest of the hotel is of the same high quality as the dining room, terrace and bar. I had booked a special offer Superior room, with chocolates, champagne and dinner (which was great value). The room was huge, with a great sea view and the house champagne was excellent. Dinner and breakfast were both excellent and the service was spot on.

It wasn't cheap, but was great value for money. I can't wait to go and stay again.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a sea view, it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deano86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your review , we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay for your anniversary and the hotel lived up to your expectations. We will pass on you comments to the staff and hope to welcome you here again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We booked a "champagne weekend" in the Imperial and we were not disappointed. Our room, although at the back, gave an excellent view over the rooftops to the mountains along the coast, with some amazing sunsets. It was also bright and clean, with well appointed furniture and flat screen TV.
The breakfasts were superb, with local produce on offer and bright, friendly staff, both local and international!
Our dinner, as part of the deal, was memorable for the quality and presentation of the food and it was a pleasure to sit in the verandah room and watch life going by.
We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben_Nevis69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, your comments will be passed on to the staff and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed here again and the room was lovely again.Very clean with lots of little extras, gowns, slippers ,bottled water etc. We ate in the restaurant and the food was very good. Always dissapointed with the harpist and piano playing , which is not for everyone. Something a bit more contemporary would be nice .Parking is a problem....even with a disabled badge we managed to get a ticket outside! I have to challenge this, but it leaves a bad taste to the break.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. The Harpist and Pianist are very popular with our guests but understand if it is not to your taste. We hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed for one night as in the area with work. On arriving was shown to room on 5th floor. Room looked as if recently modernised. Large 6ft bed, 2 armchairs and coffee table together with wardrobe, dressing table and free wifi. The bathroom was really spacious with plenty of toiletries. Did not eat in the restaurant in the evening but had breakfast in the morning. Excellent attentive service with nothing too much trouble. Sat in the verandah area overlooking the sea. Had a full cooked breakfast with fresh coffee but plenty of other options available. Hotel also has leisure facilities but I did not have time to use

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judith_aubrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in July we upgraded to sea view and was excellent,
Car parking impossible had to park car about half mile from hotel,
We were looking forward to evening meal but it was very average , with a grumpy waiter ,but again had lovely view looking over the sea. The stay was very expensive for what we had and the hotel needs refurbishment Llandudno lovely and will return , will try a different hotel next time

Room Tip: sea view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186466Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.5 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#9 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: Vaughan Street, The Promenade | Wales, Llandudno LL30 1AP, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Llandudno
#6 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#9 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#15 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#24 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial is the perfect venue for both business and leisure alike. Enjoy dinner in our elegant award-winning Restaurant offering mouth-watering dishes using only the freshest local produce and complemented by an extensive wine list or dine on the Terrace from our Evening Terrace menu. Lunches and light refreshments are served on our charming Terrace overlooking the promenade. Resident guests have full use of our health and fitness centre Mint Condition during their stay. Weddings, Celebrations and Conferences are also catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Llandudno
The Imperial Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing