We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel and restaurant”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #18 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Outstanding hotel and restaurant”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

The Imperial has been a favourite for many years. From booking a room over the telephone to the service in the bar and restaurant, everything is excellent. The rooms are quite simply stunning and immaculate, beyond clean! The food in the restaurant is first class so don't hesitate to book dinner. I defy you to find a better breakfast anywhere in the world, never mind Wales! We will be back soon!

Room Tip: Try a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirlandpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
We are always happy to read any reviews from our guests on trip advisor, as feedback is essential. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your comments to the team, and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    350
    113
    29
    22
See reviews for
264
512
39
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Imperial hotel, was most fantastic, nice staff, big comfortable rooms, incredible breakfast.Central lokation. We also had a wedding party, and the staff was so professional, and helped to make the wedding into a splended experience- thank you all, - absolutely no complains

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annieSkovlund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed the wedding and your stay here at the hotel and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We use the Imperial about once a quarter for a spur of the moment break. Its an imposing building and the rooms are very generous. The staff in the restaurant are all friendly and the food is second to none. A couple of negative points would be that the car park is very small and you're lucky if you can find a spot to park on it, and that the receptionist don't tell you about the fitness/pool facilities.

Room Tip: The only down side to this stay was that the room we stopped in on the 5th floor must have been near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzy050813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We have stayed in this hotel on many occasions (15+) and, obviously, we really enjoy it as our previous reviews show. Location is great, the rooms very comfortable and the staff very friendly. All-in-all excellent. The food is generally very good too, however, we stayed 2 nights on this occasion and although the food on the second night was up to the usual high standard, our first night, a Sunday, was a disappointment. The menu was substantially reduced (mainly comprising items we would not have chosen from the wider menu) and our main course was spirited from a source not close to the admirable normal menu - the lamb reminded us of the frozen ready meals of the 1960s - a great shame when the Welsh lamb normally on offer is so very good. We will be returning but will avoid Sunday bookings in future.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CheshireDiscerning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I used the Imperial as a base for a holiday exploring North Wales. It was excellent. The building is a huge Victorian pile with generous-sized rooms and efficient lifts. It is very clean, well-maintained, warm (important in Wales!) and kitted out with comfortable beds and modern bathrooms, flat-screen TVs and free wi-fi on request.
The staff are genuinely sweet and helpful, my 2nd floor room had a fabulous sea view and I loved the harpist who appeared in the bar and gave an impromptu concert on Friday night.
Parking is OK - there is a very small hotel car park. If that is full you have to pay £3 per day to park on the promenade road in front of the hotel but there are plenty of spaces and I didn't find this a real problem. Food is standard hotel food, not brilliant but good enough and made better by the very nice serving staff.
There's a spa with a very small pool. I didn't try it out.
Decor is old-fashioned fussy curtains and stripy wallpaper but none the worse for that - it made for a cosy atmosphere. Overall it was a really enjoyable stay. I'd come again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CleoMagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay, we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

I took my Mumto The Imperial for a 3 Day Break. Mum hadn't had a holiday in years and at 88 years old is quite reluctant to leave home. On the first day back home she said she is going to save up to go again she had enjoyed it so much. The room, the food the ambience was perfect and as for the service - the ever-so-pleasant, well trained staff not only went the extra mile but went the extra mile with a smile on their faces. The temperature in the Hotel was the same throughout - not cold and not overpoweringly hot. If I was being super-critical, maybe the chef could include an 'old-fashioned' pud such as Bread & Butter Pudding, Apple Crumble or just good old english Apple Pie, on the dessert menu. I can understand all the comments about parking but we must remember that when these wonderful Hotels were built nobody had cars. I actually didn't find parking a problem as the promenade and side street had spaces at £3 a throw and free if you had a Blue Badge. Thankyou EVERYONE at The Imperial for making our stay so wonderful. We'll see you next time.

Room Tip: 4th Floor, Close to Lift, Side & Partial Sea View - Perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kath I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Thank you for your review, we are very please you and your mum enjoyed the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

My wife and I stayed on a 2 night "Champagne Break" at this lovely hotel were the service by the friendly staff was first class and nothing was to much trouble. We had a room on the fifth floor with a balcony and lovely sea views. The room was well appointed and everything you needed was provided, such as iron and ironing board and also plenty of 13 amp sockets. There was ample tea, coffee and hot chocolate provided for making drinks when you wished, bottled water was also supplied. The room was very clean, with a comfortable bed and there was always plenty of hot water.
The restaurant was well laid out and there was a covered terrace area available as well. Breakfasts and dinners could not be faulted there was an excellent choice and they were beautifully presented. The restaurant staff were very helpful, polite and seemed to be pleased to be of service to the guests.
Parking on the hotel car park is limited but we had no problem finding a parking space. Alternative parking is available on the promenade and is free between 4.00pm and 10am.
We will certainly be returning for another short break in the not to distant future.

Room Tip: Some rooms on the fifth floor have a flat roof and can be noisy in heavy rain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Philip_Carole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Thank you for your positive review , we are always happy to read any reviews from our guests on trip advisor, as feedback is essential. I will pass on your comments to the team and we hope to see you again soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.5 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#9 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: Vaughan Street, The Promenade | Wales, Llandudno LL30 1AP, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Llandudno
#6 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#11 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#15 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#24 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial is the perfect venue for both business and leisure alike. Enjoy dinner in our elegant award-winning Restaurant offering mouth-watering dishes using only the freshest local produce and complemented by an extensive wine list or dine on the Terrace from our Evening Terrace menu. Lunches and light refreshments are served on our charming Terrace overlooking the promenade. Resident guests have full use of our health and fitness centre Mint Condition during their stay. Weddings, Celebrations and Conferences are also catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Llandudno
The Imperial Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing