We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #18 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Liverpool
Level Contributor
119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

We went for a family break in July (grandparents/parents/children). At reception they had no booking for us until the following weekend! This was sorted promptly but if they were full we would have been disappointed. Bedrooms were fine with extra large bathrooms. Nice pianist and singer were on in the bar in the evening although bar prices were expensive. We would have eaten in but the prices in the restaurant were on the high side for Llandudno. Good breakfast in the morning. Car park inadequate for size of hotel and we were blocked in on departure.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank infast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    342
    111
    29
    22
See reviews for
259
502
38
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

Very helpful and cheerful staff lifts this hotel above good. We loved the meals, especially breakfasts (the best we have had in any hotels, including 5-star). Good wine list if a bit pricey. Room very comfortable (top floor), except for seagull noises on the roof most of the night. The management had thought of the details, which always please us (like water bottles in the room, and not in the room bar). Good hot shower, plenty of 13-amp sockets around the place, mirrors high enough for tall people, good quality tea and coffee facilities. Excellent view of the bay. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rugosaplants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments and we’re delighted you had an enjoyable stay and you found the whole experience at the hotel great. We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

We visited The Imperial Hotel for lunch on a glorious sunny day. Unfortunately the good weather had not put ANY member of staff in a cheerful mood. For such a beautiful hotel, in an idylic position, you would think that each employee would be delighted to be part of a team in one of the best hotels in the area. The service/greeting in the reception, bar and terrace were all the same, MISERABLE and not at all interested in their guests or work. The reason for our visit was to book for our family to stay at this hotel over the Christmas period. What a wise decision it was to pop in for lunch before making the reservation and paying a deposit. Unfortunately we will not be returning

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carys P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights recently. The hotel is classic in style so don't expect modern or contemporary however, we loved it and it oozes class.
We booked through late rooms and as we have. Had problems booking through them in the past,we called the Imperial to ensure they got the booking. We then asked if we could have a sea view but unfortunately they were all taken,however, they upgraded us to an executive room which was great.
The staff are great and unusually for a hotel, most of them were British which made a refreshing change (other hotels should take note!)
The only downside is the parking situation but then again it is the same for every hotel in the town. All in all, we were very,very pleased with everything about it.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and if none available,ask for an executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harro2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zambia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

Enjoyed ourselves at this hotel, comfortable family room, good position, helpful staff, great English Breakfast.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ZambiaAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

Just a short review to back up the many others who have given a good review. We stayed here in August 2011. Room and hotel facilities well worth the money. Nice swimming pool, great position on the front. We used the car most days, it is true parking spaces limited but you can get a space most of the time and there is plenty of parking within short walking distance of the hotel. Breakfast was really good and the evening meals were of a high standard. True you can get room and board cheaper elsewhere but we did feel we had value for our money at the Imperial.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank helpau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments and we’re delighted you had an enjoyable stay and you found the whole experience at the hotel great. Hope we will be able to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed here at about the same time last year; we thought that the hotel was quite good so we came back again this year for a short break.
This year it is better than ever.
I do not usually gush over hotels but in the Imperials case I will make an exception, the service was first class nothing seemed to be too much trouble. I was a little worried because we were unable to get a see view this time, but I need not have been concerned the room was lovely, I don’t know if they have been recently refurbished but they are gleaming, a good size and fully equipped with everything that you could want, a good size bathroom and a large bath/shower, complementary dressing gown and slippers a properly stocked hospitality tray with homemade biscuits and chocolate.Free Wi Fi,
Breakfast was first rate, plenty of attentative staff to make sure everyone got prompt service, we will certainly be going back again hopefully this year

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#14 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 59 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#13 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#19 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 59 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.5 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#9 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: Vaughan Street, The Promenade | Wales, Llandudno LL30 1AP, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Llandudno
#6 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#9 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#15 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#24 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial is the perfect venue for both business and leisure alike. Enjoy dinner in our elegant award-winning Restaurant offering mouth-watering dishes using only the freshest local produce and complemented by an extensive wine list or dine on the Terrace from our Evening Terrace menu. Lunches and light refreshments are served on our charming Terrace overlooking the promenade. Resident guests have full use of our health and fitness centre Mint Condition during their stay. Weddings, Celebrations and Conferences are also catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Llandudno
The Imperial Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing