We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want a hotel to relax, the Imperial is the one”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #20 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We only booked three days in advance but was pleasantly agreeable to be given a seaview room with balcony for a three day leisure break. The Imperial is an ideal hotel in which to relax and big thanks to ALL the staff for making this so. Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the promenade and sea was the most enjoyable start to the day, whilst the evening meal nicely rounded off the day.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyChappyWirral_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 23, 2011

Thank you for your comments and we’re glad you enjoyed your break and found it relaxing, we will pass your comments on to the staff and hope to welcoming you back to the Imperial again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,250)
There are newer reviews for The Imperial Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,127 - 1,133 of 1,250 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2011

We had a 2 night break and it was a nice hotel, staff friendly we did have to wait a fraction after 2'oclock for our room but we had been upgraded to a seaview so a few extra minutes didn't matter. The room was one on the 5th floor with a balcony which was really nice but boy was it hot even with the window and door open and a fan on it was boiling. Neither of us got a really good nights sleep because even though it was a nice comfy bed the heat in the room was not good needed air conditioning!. The breakfast was good but didn't like the fact the waiters/waitresses put your sauce on and that if you are an avid coffee drinker like me you had to keep asking for more. We did not eat in the hotel as it seemed far too expensive I am not sure if a lot of people did but would have thought if they wanted more people to dine it would be good to have a set menu at a reasonable fixed price. Would recommend it as it was a nice hotel but not the balcony rooms

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chippy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 23, 2011

Thank you for your review and we take on board your comments about the room and breakfast. We are sorry you didn’t dine with us as our AA Rosette awarded Chantrey’s Restaurant has an outstanding reputation for its cuisine and know you would have enjoyed your meal especially as we use only the very best local Welsh produce, which has a long-established reputation for quality and taste.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Our 4 nights at the Imperial were a Mother's Day treat for my elderly mum. Our room, a sea facing executive room , was spacious, comfortable and immaculately clean. The public rooms were relaxing with plenty of comfortable seating - ideal for watching the world go by. The reception staff were efficient and friendly as, indeed, were all the other staff with whom we came in contact - waiters, chambermaids etc. The leisure facilities are good although I fail to understand why hotel guests are not allowed to use the changing facilities here. Breakfast was excellent and the service was efficient although the restaurant was very busy at times. The one dinner which we took at the hotel was not particularly memorable - the beef was tough and the food was not piping hot. I look forward to returning to the Imperial - but will probably choose to eat dinner elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meopi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 19, 2011

Thank you for your review and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay and are delighted you found all our staff right across the board efficient and friendly and will pass your comments on to them. We are very disappointed to hear your evening meal was not memorable as we take pride in our outstanding reputation for food, so we will be looking into this. Mint Condition, our health and fitness centre, offers everything needed to take part in a healthy and fitter lifestyle and because we are the only hotel in the centre of the resort to offer these facilities it is extremely popular with both guests and members which is why our changing rooms are only available to members. We look forward to welcoming you back and hope you will try Chantrey’s Restaurant again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

My wife and I stayed at The Imperial, for two nights commencing 9/5/2011.
The room was very comfortable. We did experience throughout both nights a 'tap, tap, tap' sound from some where in the room. On mentioning it to the Reception staff, they said that they would investigate and they did offer us the chance to move to another room, but we declined. The meals we had were enjoyable. Staff were all very friendly and we would stay there again.
Parking was relatively easy. How it might be later in the season I could not comment on.
The only negative was that the hot water in the taps could have been much hotter. The shower water was, but not the taps in the bathroom sink.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blandfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 16, 2011

Thank you for your review. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay but obviously sorry to hear about the annoying sound you had in your room which we will look into. The hot water taps for both the shower and the basin are fed from the same water pipe to ensure of a consistent temperature throughout the hotel so we are at a loss as to why you found the shower water hotter. We do look forward to welcoming you back and hope that will be soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Having stayed in many hotels, we rate the Imperial very highly. The reception area staff were top class (Gill and Sara dealt with our queries) as was Pat in the bar area and David the restaurant manager who helped with my gluten free food. The views, rooms & facilities (inc the gym) were excellent.
Chris Beale.

Room Tip: ask for sea view or balcony
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kateyMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 9, 2011

Thank you for your comments and we’re glad you found our service top class, we will pass your comments on to the staff and hope to welcoming you back to the Imperial again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

The hotel is situated right on the sea front and from the outside looks well maintained and not faded splendor as some of the seafront hotels appear. The staff were very efficient, friendly and helpful with parking advice. The room was on the top floor with a great view and was spotless with the biggest bathroom of any hotel I have stayed in. However there was one small problem that blighted what was an otherwise excellent stay, and this was the room ventilation, or lack of it !.

The room was stifflingly hot when we first went in to it, so we opened the window, which we closed within minutes as the wind buffeting the building was continually rattling all the doors, to such a degree that it sounded like someone constantly banging the doors open and shut. even with the window in eithe the bathroom or bedroom open just a small amount and the curtains closed the noise was really bad, so we had to suffer one of the hottest nights I have had outside the tropics.

This is a real shame as the rest of the stay including useing the swimming pool was first class. Not sure if I was just unlucky with the room or if others have complained of the same problem. I would be interested to hear other experiences.

Room Tip: Not rooms on the top floor facing Snowdon
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NCarlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 9, 2011

Thank you for posting a review and we appreciate your comments about the hotel, staff and Mint Condition but are naturally sorry your visit was marred by the room temperature, which was due to the fact that it was very hot but also exceptionally windy so can only apologise and hope it will not dissuade you from returning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Stayed here for a weekend whilst my husband was working, having lived in llandudno until marrying and moving away - I was looking forward to coming back and seeing lovely llandudno again. I am probably super critical as my parents used to own a rival hotel in llandudno some years ago.

But, I was so impressed - my husband had phone earlier and upgraded us to a sew view room - you cant go to llandudno without seeing that magnificent view.

We arrived, with it all organised, lovely room, nice view - staff helpful, breakfast great, we ate out at our old haunts and had a wonderful weekend in sunny llandudno.

Thank you Imperial - well done - we would stay again and next rime bring the rest of the family.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lamonts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 4, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review, we are please you enjoyed your stay and the fact it brought back happy memories of Llandudno. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#15 of 60 in Llandudno
1,399 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
341 reviews
0.5 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.5 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
957 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#40 of 60 in Llandudno
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: Vaughan Street, The Promenade | Wales, Llandudno LL30 1AP, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Llandudno
#6 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#12 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#15 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#24 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: $154 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial is the perfect venue for both business and leisure alike. Enjoy dinner in our elegant award-winning Restaurant offering mouth-watering dishes using only the freshest local produce and complemented by an extensive wine list or dine on the Terrace from our Evening Terrace menu. Lunches and light refreshments are served on our charming Terrace overlooking the promenade. Resident guests have full use of our health and fitness centre Mint Condition during their stay. Weddings, Celebrations and Conferences are also catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Llandudno
The Imperial Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing