We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very professional and friendly staff. Great hotel with good standards.”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #19 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 24, 2011

The hotel has modern services e.g. wifi, but still has traditional quality in terms of quality of service. The restaurant food was very good, but on the more expensive budget end (for the area).
Good hotel for a conference venue.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AderynCymraes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 29, 2011

Thanks for your review and we’re glad you valued our traditional quality and the seamless blend of modern services. We’re sorry though you felt Chantrey’s Restaurant was on the expensive side but we take pride in using only local, seasonal and market fresh produce and often there is a premium to be paid in offering the very best. Welsh food has a long-established reputation for distinctiveness, quality and taste and hope that as you rated our food highly you now feel it was justified. Please do come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,185 - 1,191 of 1,293 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2011

We stayed here for one night to see relatives and apart from a big problem with parking and access, the hotel was very good, the staff very pleasant, they even found large screen TV so we could watch the Rugby in the lounge.
It is a very traditional seaside hotel with high ceilings and lots of character, the rooms seem to have been refurbished and provide a good size bedroom and very large bed, the bathroom even had a bidet, we stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, note to hotel management you are allowed to put more than one of each on a breakfast plate, it looks a bit bare when you get one sausage, one bacon rasher etc.
You get bathroom products which are OK, the shower screen did have mould around the inside corner which should be cleaned room 424, but overall it was very clean.
I was going to give this review only 3 stars, due to the parking situation, but the staff and room swayed me to 4.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prs54fmpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 30, 2011

Thanks for your comments and we’re glad our staff sorted out a TV for you so you didn’t miss the Rugby – just hope the team you were supporting won! Thanks also for raising the other points which we will look into but sadly we’re unable to grow our car park as much as we’d like to. We are though one of the few hotels in the centre of Llandudno to offer any car parking facilities at all and find on the whole that guests have no problem parking on the Promenade and hope you were one of these and that you will return to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Okay, we must have had a refurbished room
as lots of comments left on trip advisor
show that many rooms clearly lack the 4 star
treatment. Although when they did
refurb they obviously didn't update the mattress!
Or the net curtain (dirty with holes) and I've not
Stayed in a four star hotel since the late 90's that
Has no duvet (ugly old brown blanket).
Desperate for a relaxing break we didn't want to
Complain about the fact that the bathroom floor
Hadn't been cleaned- wish we had now tho-
Isn't that to be expected at four star??
We had booked in as part of a one night offer-
Beaware that to get any extras that have inc in
Price they give you tatty bits of paper to hand in
To the staff as you order- first time I've EVER heard
Of that and it made us feel really uncomfortable
Esp after hearing a member of staff moan about
'Discount guests' ummmmmm awkward!!
The verander experience was also dissapointing.
Glass table top was filthy as were the chairs-
Dusting off bits of food others have left behind and
That staff had overlooked doesn't quite
Fit in with my previous four star experiences.
We didn't use the pool, totally Inappropriate in
this day and age to expect quests to walk
Around in small dressing gowns to get to the pool
Yet again the first time I've found that in an apparant
Four star.
Parking also a prob (explained in other guests
Reviews). Then the fact that the general manager
Has no customer service priority means that we were
Left shaken by his lack of sympathy over our
Rightfull complaints- nevermind any willingness
To take responsibility. Only consolation is the fact
That there are plenty of four star hotels nr by that
Do measure up to obvious standards of care.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hannybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 23, 2011

As the General Manager has only had cause to speak to one couple recently, as a result of their credit card being declined, it is evident that you and your husband have decided to post two separate, yet very similar, disparaging reviews on the hotel.

We stand by our reply below that when a guest makes a booking we trust they can meet and honour the cost of that, but if not then we are not to blame and it should not result in two unjust and unfair reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

Oh boy! Where do we start?

We booked a room direct with the Imperial on wed 16th March and arrived the next day at 2pm only to be told the room wasn't ready so we came back an hour later and
this time we were given the key to the room.
We decided to walk up the stairs instead of using the loft. The general decor looks tired with scuff marks on the wallpaper and just a feeling of wornness. Upon entering the roomthe first thing we noticed were some long black hairs on the bathroom floor. I'm folically challenged & my wife is blonde so it appeared the bathroom floor hadn't been cleaned properly. Also there was a hole in the bathroom curtain & the curtain in the bedroom was dirty but we had come for some relaxation as my wife is pregnant & we just wanted a stress free experience so we said nothing. We then went down to the veranda for cream teas. When we got there the table top was grubby & crumbs were on the chairs. We wiped them away & sat down. We then heard a guest tell a waitress that it was quite busy. She replied that it was due to the hotel having cheap room offers at the time. She then said that she wasn't going to accept guests sitting wherever they wanted on the veranda (the very place where aguest would want to sit seeing as it has sea views) instead she said she was going to cordon it off so that guests would have to sit in the hotel bar area ( by comparison a dark and dreary experience) and all because the waitresses couldn't be bothered
to walk an extra few yards to serve guests in the veranda! Sure enough,as we got up to leave the veranda had indeed been cordoned off by a very official looking red rope!

We went back up to our room & noticed that the bed didn't even have a duvet, but a sheet and blankets which I find really odd for a 4 star hotel. Then the phone rang!!! It was reception phoning to say
that, although we had paid by credit card the day before, they had only just decided to inform us that it had been declined so could we come down & settle by the evening at reception... We were shocked by this so we asked to speak to the duty manager. She just said that the software the hotel used meant there was a delay after accepting credit card bookings, before they could confirm whether the card had been cleared for payment! I said that if she couldn't determine at the time of booking whether or not the funds had been available on my cardn then why oh why did the Imperial accept my card details and say that all was ok at the time of booking??? She couldn't answer. Stress levels were rising esp my pregnant wifes. So instead of relaxing in our room we had to hunt around the town centre of Llandudno looking for a cashpoint to raise the money for the room! I found it all quite I
Incredulous.

It turned out the only money available to us was the spending money we were going to spend going out in the evening with. So when we got back to the Imperial we asked to speak to the general manager who arrived with the receptionist who had taken our booking over the phone and cleared it as being ok the day before. I explained to him that, had we been told on the day we booked that there were insufficient funds on my credit card, then we wouldn't have booked the room in the first place. I said it was only because the Imperial had said that it was fine and ok that I booked the room atall!!! The gen manager just stood there & said that I had made a contract for the room with the hotel. Therefore they had supplied the room so he wanted his money. They took no responsibility whatsoever for the fact that they were at least partially responsible for what was a very humiliating & extremely stressful for me & my pregnant wife. There were no apologies from him other than saying he was sorry she was finding the situation stressful ( a situation they had caused). But he refused to apologise for the shoddy unprofessional way the hotel had behaved in dealing with our booking. He treated us like a bank manager would a customer who has gone overdrawn ie fine them. He just kept repeating “You have made a contract-you have made a contract” I tried to explain that, by the hotel telling me that my payment had been accepted, the problem had been caused by them, not me, & that my wife was pregnant and that she was becoming very stressful due to the situation brought on by the hotel. He said the Imperial had tried to ring me but that it went to ansafone. I asked how often they had tried. They said once. I asked why didn't they leave a message on my voicemail so that I would have been able to make alternative arrangements before setting out on a 3 hour journey to the hotel? He pompously replied that they don't discuss money over the phone? I thought it was only the queen who didn't discuss money! He then said that if we didn't have the funds for the room (which we did as I'd already told him) then he said we should just get out and leave! At this point my pregnant wife was so stressed, so hurt that she just started packing our stuff right in front of them while he repeated his mantra about we entered into a contract with the hotel etc etc etc. I told him he was a disgrace.. We walked out never to return. I have stayed there in the past but would not recommend it to anyone after the shabby we were treated. Where was customer care in all this??

For the record we found a hotel only yards away who treated us with courtesy and a bit of dignity and respect. None othese qualities cost anything yet the lack of them cost the Imperial a rooms booking for the night and a meal at their restaurant in the evening.

PS the dressing gowns are sand paper rough too so bring some skin cream if you intend to wear them.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chrissyboyLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 22, 2011

We are extremely disappointed that you felt compelled to write such a review when it is obvious your total dissatisfaction with the hotel across the board was purely as a result of your credit card being declined.

We pride ourselves on treating all of our guests with respect and had, as you’d been informed, tried to contact you before arrival to let you know your credit card had been rejected but it is our policy not to leave messages regarding financial transactions on an answerphone. When a guest makes a booking, we trust they can meet and honour the cost but if they can’t we are not to blame.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

What a wonderful hotel went on the sunday by the sea offer. Had full use of the pool, sauna and steam room and had a lovely 3 course meal on the terrace, staff were very helpful and polite and the service was fast and perfect. The food was amazing!!! our room was very clean with fresh linen and towels and room service was quick and food was delicious. This was our first visit to the hotel and we are ready to book again in the next couple of months as we had enjoyed the stay so much.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank janesawbird84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 29, 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to do a review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We have Special Breaks running throughout the year so please do check our website or call freephone 0500 700 788 for more details and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

the hotel and staff were absolutely fabulous! In particular, the reception staff.

Although our stay was relatively short, we were able to have a terrific time, due to the care and thoughtfulness of the staff.

well done, keep up the standard.

2 Stokkies

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2stokkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 16, 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to do a review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We have Special Breaks running throughout the year so please do check our website or call freephone 0500 700 788 for more details and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

We stayed for a weekend break recently and were not dissappointed. Although a little on the small side, we had a 5th floor room with a balcony overlooking the sea. The room was clean throughout and quiet at night. All the staff we encountered were friendly, professional and very helpful. Use of the fitness club on the ground floor was a bonus. Although the the pool was a little cold (it had just been re-filled), the jaquzzi, sauna and stream room were a nice addition to the weekend. However, allowing hotel guests to use the club's changing rooms would have been a good idea. Alltogether, very good accommdation but then I was expecting it for the money. UK hotels ought to be at this standard for less money.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank roadwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 16, 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Mint Condition, our health and fitness centre, offers everything needed to take part in a healthy and fitter lifestyle but because we are the only hotel in the centre of the resort to offer these facilities, it is extremely popular with both guests and members which is why our changing rooms are only available to members. Our pool is ozone treated, which is relatively new technology but it enables less chlorine to be used so it is much safer for eyes and also better for children. It is though imperative that we keep the pool clean and hygienic and apologise that it had not reached its temperature of 30oC when you used it as it had recently been filled. We hope we will see you soon and maybe on one of our Special Breaks we run throughout the year, please check our website or call freephone 0500 700 788 for more details.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,449 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Llandudno
351 reviews
0.5 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
#11 of 60 in Llandudno
233 reviews
2 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#15 of 60 in Llandudno
718 reviews
0.5 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: The Promenade Vaughan Street | Wales, Llandudno LL30 1AP, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Llandudno
#6 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#12 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#15 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#24 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: $139 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial is the perfect venue for both business and leisure alike. Enjoy dinner in our elegant award-winning Restaurant offering mouth-watering dishes using only the freshest local produce and complemented by an extensive wine list or dine on the Terrace from our Evening Terrace menu. Lunches and light refreshments are served on our charming Terrace overlooking the promenade. Resident guests have full use of our health and fitness centre Mint Condition during their stay. Weddings, Celebrations and Conferences are also catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Llandudno
The Imperial Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing