We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor management”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #17 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pennsylvania Furnace, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Poor management”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2007

Imperial has recently upgraded to 4 star. Sits on Promenade with view of sea. Room has energy key and every where is clean.

Management not friendly and completely unflexible with late check out. Duty Officer ( sounds like a prison position ) said she could ntogive me a late check out because others 'might' also ask for one. Yes and if everyone in New York City was to flush the toilet at the same time!

Nice size room and bathroom. TV is difficult to see when in bed. Tea pot has no indicator to see when on and working.

Food OK, good breakfast,

Llandudno is a nice location for touring Snowdonia. There is not much to do in town after 5 PM, except Venue Cymru which is a performing arts center. Unfortunately they do not have a 7 days a week small movie house for independent and foreign films.

The Imperial like most hotels and B&B in Wales suffers from poor managment. The ethos of 'customer first' seems to be lost on them as they do things to make things convenient for theme self. There is no extra effort that qualifies them for 4 star status.

Try the Maes Y Neuadd f near Harlech for a real 4 star experience.

  • Liked — Clean, good location.
  • Disliked — Inflexible management, not customer focused.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank EricBlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    342
    113
    29
    22
See reviews for
260
502
38
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2007

Just had 4 days at the Imperial. Some of the rooms have been refurbished and ours was. Lovely huge bathroom with brilliant power shower. Staff lovely - quite a number of Polish staff working at the hotel - their English is good and customer service excellent. Pool nice too. Entertainment on some evenings. Really enjoyed sitting in the foyer overlooking the sea and having coffee or a drink from the bar - bar prices reasonable.
One complaint would be the breakfast - hot food arrived lukewarm most days.
Overall, very nice stay and would return.

  • Liked — sea view
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DorothyGale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2007

We stayed for four nights at the Imperial and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The staff are welcoming and very efficient - we had a small problem with our room which was corrected immediately. The hotel has been refurbished recently and is beautifully decorated and very comfortable. There is easy access for disabled guests and even wicked smokers like me are catered for with ashtrays, chairs, tables and umbrellas at the front and side entrances of the hotel.

The food was generally very good, although we would have liked more vegetables with our evening meals, and breakfasts were fine.

The hotel is in the centre of the promenade, with superb views of the bay, and the main shopping street is only a couple of minutes walk away, behind the hotel.

Thoroughly recommended!

  • Liked — Comfortable and beautiful decor
  • Disliked — Breakfasts
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Trongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2007

Stayed for one night following a business trip.
Staff were very professional and accomodating.
Room was nice enough having recently been decorated. Bathroom too was fresh and clean.

Warning to anyone who has problems with stairs... although there is a lift available, the hotel has a maze of stairs and corridors, however I am sure the welcoming staff would be able to accomdate for anyones needs. Breakfast was nice and didn't look deep fried!

  • Liked — Homely comfort
  • Disliked — lots and lots and lots of stairs
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Orisinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsager, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2007

Was here for 5 days on business with a group of six. This is one of the better "old style" seafront hotels in Llandudno. It's location is very good being situated at the eastern end of the town centre and an easy walk to restaurants, etc. Public areas are spacious and well appointed and the staff very friendly and helpful.

The hotel is being renovated and first room I was given had yet to be done. It was very spacious but shabby and there was no shower. I asked for a better room and was moved to one of the new ones. Hotels lose big points from me when they do this. They should always fill the best rooms first, you shouldn't have to ask!

The second room was very spacious and this time with a magnificent shower - massive shower head and loads of pressure. I also saw some of my colleagues rooms and the standard appears to vary widely across the hotel. There is also no internet access in the rooms, a big downside for business travelers.

The restaurant is worth a mention. I only ate there once but it was excellent.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no internet
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Dobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2007

My husband and I have just come back from a 3 night break at the Imperial, and cannot recommend the place highly enough!!

The breakfast was wonderful, with a good selection of cereals, fruit, fresh juices and croissants, followed by a full cooked breakfast of your choice. We didn't try the restaurant in the evenings, although it seemed very popular! However, the food ordered from room service was delicious.

The staff were all very friendly, efficient and attentive, and were keen to make sure that we were happy. Our room, although quite small, had an enormous bathroom, and even though we were on the fifth floor, overlooking the car park, we actually had lovely views of the Great Orme and the sea, towards Conwy in the distance!

The hotel itself was immaculate and very well equipped, with a gym and an indoor swimming pool, which is ideal to keep children entertained during bad weather. The hotel is situated in a fantastic position right on the sea front, which makes it a very pleasant 2 min stroll to the shops, the pier and the Great Orme.

People in previous reviews have criticised the hotel's car park, as it is very small and will only fit about 20 - 30 cars. However, parking in front of the hotel works out at only £1.50 for 24 hours, so we didn't even bother with the car park!

If it helps, we got quite a good deal through the hotel's own website, so it might be worth checking the prices / special offers on there before booking. We would definitely return!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshinepenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2007

This was our first visit to the Imperial Hotel at Llandudno and overall we enjoyed our stay. The hotel is well-maintained and well-managed and has an excellent position on the seafront. My wife and I asked for (and got) a quiet room on the fifth floor because of previous experiences of kitchen extractor fans keeping us awake on the non-view side of some hotels we've visited. As we were on a 4 day package over the Christmas 2006 holiday period we had excellent food, service, organised entertainment and presents.

The good points? The staff (many from Eastern Europe) were extremely hard-working and a request to change from a duvet to sheets and blankets, for example, was actioned within minutes. The building was warm and clean and the bedroom excellent.

The bad points? We agree with an earlier tripadvisor commentator that the car park is tiny and we were effectively blocked in for the duration. The dance area was a bit austere and could have done with a bit more of the festive spirit. Oh yes, and then there were the OAPs ... not the fault of the hotel but we felt a little overwhelmed by the Zimmer brigade!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Parking space
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandranne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#14 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 59 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#13 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#19 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 59 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.5 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#10 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: Vaughan Street, The Promenade | Wales, Llandudno LL30 1AP, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Llandudno
#6 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#9 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#15 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#24 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial is the perfect venue for both business and leisure alike. Enjoy dinner in our elegant award-winning Restaurant offering mouth-watering dishes using only the freshest local produce and complemented by an extensive wine list or dine on the Terrace from our Evening Terrace menu. Lunches and light refreshments are served on our charming Terrace overlooking the promenade. Resident guests have full use of our health and fitness centre Mint Condition during their stay. Weddings, Celebrations and Conferences are also catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Llandudno
The Imperial Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing