We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ripped Off”
Review of Rose Tor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rose Tor Hotel
Ranked #41 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Ripped Off”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Whilst on holiday in Llandudno on Saturday afternoonb we walked passed this hotel and noticed a board outside advertising a Carvery for £6.95 and that booking was advisable for Saturday evening. We went straight in at around 5 pm and booked a table for 7 pm. On arrival we were shown to our table and ordered drinks and the bought us a menu for starters, we told them we didn't want starters we would go straight into the Carvery. Another waitress came and asked if we were have just two courses the Carvery and a Sweet we said no just the Carvery. We said oh its two courses I will go and check for you. On her return she said that was fine we could have coffees instead of the sweet. We went to get our Carvery. We did get a good portion of meat and it was really nice. You could not help yourself to Veg they served same and it was very poor portions I asked for more and got more but even then it was very poor portions. At the end of the meal we got our coffee. When we went to pay they charged us £12.95 each. We said no its on the board outside at £6.95. There was no mention of two or three courses just a Carvery at £6.95. She took us outside to look at the board but it had been removed. I am rating them 3 because the food we got was very nice but it was not worth £12.95 for such small portions and only one course. We felt very ripped off and would not go again and want to warn people not to fall for there trick.

Room Tip: We didn't stay at this hotel just went in for a Carvery and got ripped off big style
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny4829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    52
    15
    8
    14
See reviews for
18
90
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Just come back from a weeks stay, having got a cheap deal on the 'net. We booked it blind but the reviews here gave me hope. We weren't disappointed. Because we booked a full week we got an upgrade to a premier room .Our room was spacious, had a beautiful 4-poster bed, plenty of storage and very clean. We had side views of the Great Orme and the lively Mostyn Street. (No noise problems even with the windows open)
The bathroom was also roomy with a separate shower cubicle (which could have been bigger) and a bath.
The only faults we could find were that the towels were poor quality and the D/G window units steamed up a bit (not surprising as it was constantly raining).
Breakfast was good, well presented and served by friendly staff. All hot breakfasts were cooked to order (no buffet)
The public areas were clean and tidy and the lounge / bar area was traditional with a nautical theme. Bar opening times were a bit erratic but not a major problem.
There is free wi-fi in the public areas (and some of the rooms on the right side of the hotel)
The location is excellent being 5 minutes walk to the pier & promenade, the same to the Great Orme tramway and all the bars and restaurants of Mostyn Street on the doorstep.
It isn't the Ritz but it certainly deserves better than it's current 2 star rating.
A great budget hotel to which the wife and i will be returning.

Room Tip: No lifts and quite narrow stairs hint that a lower floor is best .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicho54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I stayed Four nights in The Rose Tor Hotel. I was made feel very welcome. The rooms although on the small side everything was so clean. The breakfast was good with freshly cooked Welsh Breakfast. I would recommend this hotel as its ideally situated on the man street and two minutes walk from the promenade.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowdrop612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Manager was very unfriendly and threw us out After 1 night because he overcharged us and did not like us pointing this out!! Tried to come up with excuses but would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Slj100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Was very rude whole visit, overcharged and could tell he knew it when we was asked about it!!! Unfriendly & unhelpful, when asked why he was rude said he would phone the police???? Never stay or recommend to anyone!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Cnj12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

On arrival we had a lecture about taking takeaways in to our room and booking through laterooms!how rude, the owner (im guessing)seemed to have poor customer service skills with other customers too (at first I thought it was our age).Location of hotel is brilliant and the carvery was good, however our room was small and tired looking... Get what you pay for but a friendly welcome wouldnt go a miss at £140 for 3 nights

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Highgrade87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

One word to some up this 'hotel' would be disappointing. There are certain things you expect when checking into a hotel, complimentary toiletries and newspapers as standard. But not at the Rose Tor, newspapers are available from the newsagents across the road (thank you for including that in the welcome notice in the room, but if you don't do it, don't even mention it). I also read somewhere you get chocolates on the pillow, don't get your hopes up- no such luck!
Our room was pleasant enough, good enough size for a night or two, but the bathroom left alot to be desired. It was as though it had been lifted from a caravan and stuck to the side of our room- absolutely tiny! And the decor- must be updated right away, nobody likes an off green bathroom. But we weren't so bothered, we weren't staying for long and we still had breakfast to look forward to... Or did we? Nasty. Very limited choice of cereals, no fresh fruit or yoghurts and a standard cooked breakfast menu. The 'fresh orange juice' tasted like it had been watered down with orange cordial and the cooked breakfast my partner ordered was done on a budget for sure! (where is the need- don't you want your customers to come back?) You can forgive much or a hotel when you leave with a satisfied stomach in the morning, but unfortunately this was far from the case. Next time I stay in Llandudno it certainly won't be at The Rose Tor.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa_cheshire_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.6 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#7 of 60 in Llandudno
371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Karden House Hotel
Karden House Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Min y Don
Min y Don
#52 of 60 in Llandudno
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Llandudno Hotel
Travelodge Llandudno Hotel
#20 of 60 in Llandudno
820 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#36 of 60 in Llandudno
471 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trevone Hotel
Trevone Hotel
#44 of 60 in Llandudno
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Tor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Tor Hotel

Property: Rose Tor Hotel
Address: 120-124 Mostyn Street, Llandudno LL30 2SW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rose Tor Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Rose Tor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Tor Llandudno
Hotel Rose Tor
Rose Tor Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing