We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dedicated hosts”
Review of Hen-Dy Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hen-Dy Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
merseyside
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dedicated hosts”
Reviewed June 9, 2008

David and Louise work very hard to make their hotel special and will go out of their way to please their guests and make their stay at hen-dy a happy one. hen-dy is a really clean hotel and the food is of a very high standard. in my opinion you wouldnt get better service at any of the other hotels along the front at llandudno and the hotel location has spectacular views. It is unlikely that as long as Hen-dy hotel is available under the ownership of David and Louise that i would even consider trying another hotel in llandudo such is our satisfaction with HEN-DY and its staff.

mr and mrs ...steve and chris taylor

  • Liked — i liked everything on offer
  • Disliked — i didnt dislike anything about it
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank urpbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    21
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
124
205
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
ORMSKIRK
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2008

Spent a 3 night break at Hen Dy and really enjoyed it, we were made very welcome on our arrival and throughout our stay. The Hotel had a relaxed feel about it and was well located, opposite the Pier . The food was especially good, both in quality and quantity and plenty of variety.
The rooms were of a high standard, better than some larger hotels we have stayed in and extremely clean.
We will definitely be making another visit to a beautiful part of the country.

  • Liked — Food & location
  • Disliked — Nothing for me personally, but the Dining room is downstairs and may be awkward for some people
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUGAR73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2008

A warm welcome on arrival and immediate assistance with parking the vehicle which was a wonderful help. I found it very child friendly. The food was of excellent quality and more than ample portions. The staff were polite and courteous at all times. The rooms were immaculate and spacious. Nothing was too much trouble and it felt like home from home. Louise and David took the time every evening to socialise with guests in the bar and made us feel most welcome. I have never stayed anywhere that was so nice before. I would definitely recommend the Hen-Dy experience to anyone. You will not be disappointed.

  • Liked — Immaculate, friendly, lovely people, home from home
  • Disliked — Nothing, it was perfect!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lichfield115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welshpool, Powys
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2008

Most of what we have to say has probably already been said. A superbly-situated hotel, on the sea front between the pier and the monument, with the main shopping, café and restaurant areas just around the corner, and at the ‘right’ end of town for the Great Orme tramway, cable car, Happy Valley, bus tours etc. The private car park at the rear of the hotel is quite small, but the immediate on-street parking is free, with no time restrictions.
We stayed in room 2, on the first floor, with wonderful views of the sea, the whole of the curved promenade, and the Little Orme. The room was nicely furnished, spotlessly clean, en-suite with a shower, and was well soundproofed. Louise and David were welcoming, friendly, informative and efficient without being intrusive. We stayed for three nights and ate in the hotel for two evening meals - the menu changes each day, and guests can book evening meals up till 4pm. Portions were substantial, the ingredients of good quality, and the cooking plain and homely. A four course meal was £15.50 - very good value when compared to eating out in the local restaurants. House wine by the glass was from the same selection as offered in the bottle, and no premium charged for single glass rate. The lounge and bar areas were pleasantly furnished and immaculate.
This hotel would not be suitable for anyone with a mobility problem - there are steps up from the pavement to the hotel reception, the dining room is downstairs, and the hotel does not have a lift. This was our first visit but we would be more than happy to stay again - excellent value for a family hotel in a premium spot. Well done Hen Dy!
Adele & Fred Cooper - Welshpool.

  • Liked — Everything - a credit to the British holiday trade.
  • Disliked — No personal dislikes - though the lack of lift would be a problem to some visitors.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halesowen
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2008

After staying at the Hen Dy during 2007 and having fantanstic food, we returned 2008 and found the food dissapointing this time around. The quality was just not the same.

  • Liked — warm welcome
  • Disliked — quality of food
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birmingham58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formby, Merseyside
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2008

I've been to Llandudno many times in the past for Ladies' Nights etc and always found the resort to be clean, safe and inviting.

So, when my wife said she (and our friends, also from Formby) would like to return, for a private holiday, I immediately went to Tripadvisor and decided that Hen-Dy (No.1) was the place to go.

We arrived by car and wondered where to park, but David soon came down the steps and showed us how to get to the private car park at the rear. He greeted us again and kindly carried our bags up to the top floor where our sea-view room was sited.

Everthing about the hotel gave a feeling of cleanliness, friendliness and a quiet efficiency. We were very pleased, but this turned to delight when we went down to dinner. The food was excellent with a good choice and ample portions. I would definitely recommend booking half board as you won't get such value anywhere else in the resort. The wine list was very reasonably priced for what was offered.

Louise and David run a super hotel and they are to be congratulated. We are planning to return again afore too long

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — I liked everything
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jjohnvmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2008

Just had another wonderful weekend at the Hen-Dy. We were given a warm welcome again from Louise and David who are the perfect hosts. If you enjoy your food this is the hotel for you as both the breakfasts and evening meals are excellent. We have already booked again for next year.
Colin & Hilary Turner - Skipton

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Hilary5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.0 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
901 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Milverton House
Milverton House
#4 of 60 in Llandudno
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,206 reviews
0.5 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#7 of 60 in Llandudno
371 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hen-Dy Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hen-Dy Guesthouse

Property: Hen-Dy Guesthouse
Address: 10 North Parade, Llandudno LL30 2LP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#5 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#11 Business Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hen-Dy is situated on the seafront opposite the pier and beach,in possibly the best location inLlandudno,convenient for all the best restaurants,shops,and attractions.We offer bed,and a full Welsh breakfast,with plenty of other choices available to suit vegetarians etc.we also offer limited car parking and Internet accessibility in all rooms,and have a bar and lounge for the use of our guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hen-Dy Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hen Dy Hotel Llandudno
Hen-Dy Guesthouse Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing