We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“REALLY GOOD YOU SHOULD TRY THIS”
Review of Min y Don

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Min y Don
Ranked #54 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“REALLY GOOD YOU SHOULD TRY THIS”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Been for two day break,really enjoyed our stay,they have a small car park,the rooms were cosy and clean.
The food is excellent all home cooked.
The staff very polite and helpful,wanted to stay longer as felt very relaxed and wanted more of their nice food!
Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 464Maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    44
    16
    9
    19
See reviews for
25
62
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Littleborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We recently had a short 4 days break at the min-y-don hotel at Llandudno which was exellent
The bedroom was very comfortable. the lounge was spacious with a private bar at the end behind a glass door. The dining room was very well appointed with excellent food and a very varied menu.We are looking forward to a return visit and a very relaxing stay

Room Tip: some rooms have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank likeable683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

stayed here for 3 nights and had a brilliant time. the host was lovely and welcoming and offered us lots of advice on the best restaurants and places to visit. the breakfast was delicious and left me feeling full. the room was clean and even staying in a room on the front (facing a road) we didn't hear any noise at all. the bathroom was a little small but it had a lovely hot shower. the bed was incredibly comfy and i slept well. it is only a minute walk to the sea and a five minute walk to the local town centre. I will definitely come back here in the future and will recommend to family and friends

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirsteen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

just arrived back from a weekend break all the staff at the hotel were very helpful.
they could not be faulted in any way,the food was very good with a couple of choices on menu.
breakfast was full english,plus toast ,the or coffee,glass of juice,plus cerial.
i honestly dont know how they make a profit,with the meals they provide.
considering the price for 2nights its value for money.
lets have it right its not the ritzs but what do you want for the price,it was clean and tidy.
towels changed each day,room clean .overall great value for money.

Room Tip: ask for sea view its perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank themass2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

10 of us just spent an anniversary celebration weekend here, a better than expected hotel and manageress awaited us,the food was brilliant and always very hot, Miram the manageress was a true workaholic and never stops! also a lovely lady with good old fashioned values. We paid £60 for 2 nights this included a full english breakfast and a 3 course evening meal. overall feeling was geat value and would go again.
Llandudno is a great place and a good location to reach everywhere else in North Wales.
The rooms had comfy beds in and where clean and beds made daily, the decor is dated in parts and overdue redecorating, but pay triple or more for a fancy hotel if thats what you want. their is no lift here,but I had a bad leg and was put in room22 which is the only ground floor room which I was grateful for. Thanks to all, will return soon.

Room Tip: Ask for room 22 if you have mobility issues, it is on the ground floor and right by the bar/danceflo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank IAN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comrie
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Had a most enjoyable stay at the Min y Don! My wife & I were allotted a lovely spacious front room, overlooking the promenade, albeit in the sister hotel next door, call the Bay Court. The room was exceptionally clean and centrally heated. The bathroom was rather small, with a shower system, not quite to the quality one is used to at home, but common to many hotels.
our meals were taken in the Min y Don - cooked by the proprietor to a very high standard. A good range of home cooked meals were on offer and served up most efficiently by the proprietor's wife and friendly staff. I would normally prefer a time option for meals, rather than breakfast 8.30am and dinner at 6pm. but for what we were paying, one couldn't expect it.
As has been commented on previously, the hotel is on 3 floors without a lift, so it would be imperative that you stipulate a ground floor room, if you have a problem climbing stairs.
Both owners have been in the hotel business for over 40 years, so they have plenty experience in the trade and are always on hand, should you have a problem you wish to discuss.
Next time in Llandudno, I would be perfectly happy to stay there again.
Bryan Blackmore,
Dunfermline.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bryanComrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

First time stay here & can & will recommend to family & friends. Had a slight early problem with table arrangements, which was sorted within 10 minutes to a satisfactory conclusion. NOTE there is NO LIFT and the hotel has three floors, I suggest asking for a ground floor room if this is to be a problem.

NOTE: - Before reviewing any HOTEL on TripAdvisor note you are actually reviewing the HOTEL & not the coach company, train service or other transport you travelled with. This should have no bearing on the actual hotel review.

The Min y Don is friendly, clean, and worth every penny especially if travelling with a coach package. The meals are more than substantial as is the service. The dining area needs to be fitted with ceiling fans in my opinion. You will get very hot & bothered in there, consider a handheld fan or use the laminated menu sheet.

If you want a 4 Star experience you will have to get your money out & pay for a 4 Star hotel. You want quality, value for money, friendly staff & atmosphere stay at The Min y Don . You will not be disappointed.

The hotel is in a great location and Llandudno has an excellent bus service. The trip to the Great Orme at £6.00 return is well worth a visit by Tram. It can be very, very windy & cold at the top so take a fleece. The sheep up there ain’t daft, they are born with a fleece!

TRAVELSTYLE: - If travelling with Travelstyle from the North West be prepared for a shambolic ride to your destination. Arrived at 1.30pm yet couldn’t be checked in until 3.00pm. Picked up at the end of the week at 2.30pm! Yet need to vacate the hotel at 10.30am. This has no bearing on the hotel as it’s Travelstyle letting the customer down yet again. Do NOT expect to be reliably informed by drivers as they have a dreadful attitude to travellers. As always in this country do your own research & ask & then ask again. You have been warned!

Check: - Min y Don – Website – One of the better sites with clear information
http://www.minydon-llandudno.co.uk/


ViC Gilmore

Room Tip: NOTE there is NO LIFT and the hotel has three floors, I suggest asking for a ground floor room if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vicgilmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.0 mi away
Wildings Hotel
Wildings Hotel
#29 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hen-Dy Guesthouse
Hen-Dy Guesthouse
#8 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Ash
The Grand Ash
#59 of 60 in Llandudno
3.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rose Tor Hotel
Rose Tor Hotel
#39 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Min y Don? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Min y Don

Property: Min y Don
Address: 20 North Parade, Llandudno LL30 2LP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Min y Don 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Min y Don Hotel is a small, family run hotel on Llandudno's famous North Shore. We are in a fantastic location for the town's main attractions like The Great Orme, The beach, The Victorian Pier and tram way and of course, the shopping centre. Our lounge/bar and our dining room overlook the bay, as do many of our bedrooms. We have a small car park for residents only and well appointed gardens for enjoying the scenery. Thank you for your interest among the many hotels in Llandudno, we hope you choose to stay with us and look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Min y Don reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Min y Don Hotel Llandudno
Min y Don Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing