We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic stay”
Review of Shelbourne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shelbourne Hotel
Ranked #50 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Bit of a delay sorry! We stayed on 21st sept 2013 half way through our sponsored walk! The hospitality at this hotel is second to none! They went above and beyond to make our night a great half way stop! happy to help in every way! Me and Pat finished our 50 mile walk for countess of chester hospital ward 50! All due to sheer determination and a breakfast from the Shelbourne thanks for everything! Would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidish123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 139 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed here for three nights with colleagues attending a Conference at Venue Cymru. It is but a short walk to the venue and shops and set right on the seafront promenade. It is an old building which is currently being given a facelift. I had a room on the third floor facing inland. The room was spotless and comfortable. There were plenty of hangers in the wardrobe, a hair dryer in a drawer and a TV. There was a well stocked tray for tea, coffee or chocolate and a selection of biscuits, which was a nice touch. A colleague complained that she could get no hot water from her shower but mine was fine. I wrote beforehand to request a room with a shower, a colleague was allocated one with a bath only, but on request and with no fuss, she was able to change rooms. The toiletries are basic, but I always take my own anyway. There is a lift to all floors.
Breakfast was delicious, choice of cereals and two types of fruit juice. Fruit was clearly canned but this is 3 star! A "Full English" was available ( I still find that term weird) but it was cooked to order so you could add or subtract ingredients. On the last morning I asked for a bacon sandwich and got it. The service was faultless. On our last evening we opted to eat at the hotel. They usually serve meals at 6:30 and no later, but agreed to serve at 7pm to fit in with us. We ordered from a sizeable dinner menu at breakfast and we were all pleased with the food. I would say it was of above 3* standard. The price was incredible. Not sure where you would get a two course meal (choice of starter, main, dessert) plus a bottle of wine between two for £12:50p. There is a bar in the lounge with comfortable seating and a large picture window overlooking the promenade.
We ate out on two occasions. The first night we walked to a pub called The Albert, which was recommended. The food was excellent and it was a friendly pub with plenty of seating and NO music on the night we were there. The second night we ate at Harveys New York Bar and Grill in the town. A varied menu, though the specialty is clearly quality burgers. We were happy with the service and food there.
If I visited Llandudno again I would be content to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: My room a the back on the top floor was very quiet. If I came here with husband I would probably pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woodie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night to attend an engagement party; lovely service, really friendly staff, room totally clean and very hygienic. Plenty of clean towels in the room, Plenty of free coffee, biscuits etc in the room and breakfast was spot on.

Free parking to the rear which is easily accessible. Has a lift also, which was very handy after a night out!!!!

Would I stay again?........ Definitely, without a doubt.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonStumpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here for two nights, although the place could do with a lick of paint that was my only criticism. The staff were friendly and helpful, we only stayed B&B but I have to say that the breakfast was superb.
But the best bit, they are pet friendly and on both mornings left two sausages wrapped in silver foil on our dinning table for our German Shepherd.
Nice sea view and hotel very warm. Linen was spotless and comfy bed.
Overall enjoyed our stay and will be returning

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lee r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

if your looking for a value for money clean hotel in a great location .This is for you, the owners are friendly but not intrusive .The food was good , plenty of choice for breakfast nothing was too much trouble for all of the staff. It is a good choice if you don't want to spend a fortune, and the sea view room was great would use this hotel again .

Room Tip: we had a sea view room 12 not big but quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AED35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Manager needs a course in hospitality grumpy and unfriendly, not a clean establishment, pay extra for a sea view get half a window so dirty the view is obliterated. Room small very hard to manoeuvre around. Would never recommend this hotel there are far better ones in town

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank notavailabledope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This now somewhat dated hotel is right on the prom. with a fantastic view.
Managed by Mick and sue, the atmosphere is excellent as is micks breakfasts.
Rooms are ok, the shower was iffy as was the lift, but somehow I really enjoy going there and wold recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taffyby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0 mi away
The Winchmore Hotel
The Winchmore Hotel
#24 of 60 in Llandudno
557 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#32 of 60 in Llandudno
507 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hen-Dy Guesthouse
Hen-Dy Guesthouse
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#11 of 60 in Llandudno
595 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#33 of 60 in Llandudno
507 reviews
0.4 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelbourne Hotel

Address: 13 Mostyn Crescent, Llandudno LL30 1AR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: $88 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shelbourne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shelbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Llandudno, Wales
Hotel Shelbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing