We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“aj”
Review of Shelbourne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shelbourne Hotel
Ranked #50 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed August 27, 2013

stayed for 2 nights great location and staff very friendly.booked breakfast which was great value we were on the 3rd floor with a good view of the mountains although the room was a little cramped for a family room.there was a lift which was useful.only downside the bed was not very comfortable we would stay again

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrea j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 139 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

I booked a night stay here on the basis of the Tripadvisor reviews, but was disappointed on arrival. As a previous reviewer has said, the good points are and excellent sea-front location, easy parking and good linen. There is a car park, but you can also park on the street outside for free between the hours of 4pm and 10am.

The hotel itself has an overall air of tiredness verging on drab, The air hangs heavy with the stale smells of previous meals. Our room was very small, with a functional en suite containing an elderly shower. The shower was very difficult to set and the water scalding. A previous reviewer has mentioned that it is pet friendly. I love animals, but being woken by the constant barking of a small dog shut in the bedroom whilst its owners eat breakfast is both unacceptable and inconsiderate to other, paying guests.

Reception was unmanned when we left although we could see staff outside having a smoking break. As we were unable to summon anyone by pressing the bell switch at reception, I finally had to go to the kitchen to find someone to take our money. I will certainly not return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Booked for a long weekend stay a "family room" which consisted of a double and one single bed. First lets be positive, it's on the sea front and walkable to the main town and bars. Staff are pleasant and friendly, and the bed linen was clean and good quality

The room was quiet small overlooking the car park, the single bed position meant even the two of us got in each others way as we accessed the very small room which consisted of the shower and sink whilst another small cupboard size space was dedicated to the toilet.
The bed mattress was very hard, you could feel the spring coils through the sheet, in fact we slept on the single bed quilt to try to make it more comfortable. The shower room was very small, you really had to step into the bedroom to dry off, I was very nervous opening the shower door as it hit the sink! And to be honest it was dirty with black mould on tiles and silicone seal it needed a good few bottles of bleach. The furniture throughout the hotel was basic, the lounge being the best room. Breakfast was extra cost, it was swiftly served but quality of the food used was not good, the emphasis being cheap and cheerful!
I enjoyed Llandudno but would stay somewhere else if I returned.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THE2KSSTOURBRIDGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Booked for 4 nights as a last minute break. Breakfast was lovely and staff very friendly too and try to go that extra mile.
We were advised to bring our own travel cot which was not a problem to us. My nan and grandad have stayed numerous times over the last few years and recommended this hotel. The only small point I would change if went again would be to ask for a larger room as having 2 small dogs and a travel cot the room hasn't got much space left with a double and single bed too. However, in fairness when you book last minute you can't be picky! I asked for a fan because our room was a little warm and it was put in our room within the hour! Would recommend to friends, fellow dog owners, couples and families.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neyney07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed for a weekend with friends. The staff at the hotel are absolutely lovely, so friendly. The bar has superb views out to the sea and the atmosphere in there particularly on the Friday night was great.
The hotel does not look much from the outside, and inside there are bits that could do with some cosmetic improvement but it was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was massive, and promptly cooked and served. If you want five star luxury pay a lot more and go somewhere else, if you want helpful service in a comfortable and relaxed place then go here. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: we had a family room which was a bit small but had a side sea view. The other party we travelled wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerbyNursetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Genuinely warm and helpful staff. Nice family feel to it. Overlooking the sea. After driving down from London, this is a great rest stop! I had a very comfortable night's sleep. Clean, cozy, comfortable and great value for money!

Room Tip: Sea front rooms very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rohitlikestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

we stayed the one night as we had tickets for a show, we had the flat which was great as we had 3 young children. nice and clean and breakfast was very good, just a shame it was the one night but would go back with out a problem, this would be my first phone call if i was in Llandudno again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0 mi away
The Winchmore Hotel
The Winchmore Hotel
#25 of 60 in Llandudno
557 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#32 of 60 in Llandudno
507 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hen-Dy Guesthouse
Hen-Dy Guesthouse
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
593 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#33 of 60 in Llandudno
506 reviews
0.4 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelbourne Hotel

Address: 13 Mostyn Crescent, Llandudno LL30 1AR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: $88 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shelbourne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shelbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Llandudno, Wales
Hotel Shelbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing