We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2012

The most exclusive hotel I have ever stayed in, it is so luxurious and elegant. The food is top class with really good service, the only down fall was it wasn't long enough.

Room Tip: Osbourne house which is part of the same hotel but round the corner is also fantastic, with fabulous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heather b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (975)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

756 - 762 of 975 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2012

Unfortunately only able to stay one night which definately wasnt enough, stayed at the Victorian
townhouse no 72 Next door and the room was absolutely gorgeous, every luxury sherry in decanter, sweets, fridge, safe, lovely furnishings, a bed to die for. Luckily the weather was extremely hot so we were able to take advantage of the outdoor pool, relaxing on the sunbeds before changing for dinner in the Watkins restaurant where we had a beautiful four course meal and a bottle of wine served by pleasant waiting staff then a stroll along the prom before retiring. Breakfast was good and from check in to check out everything was perfect, remind me to book longer next time.

Room Tip: Go for a front one if possible the views across the bay are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarpetbaggerCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

A beautiful place, so relaxing but still professional. Not sure why despite its excellent reviews this doesn't seem to be the top of the list! The breakfast menu is the most comprehensive I have seen so I am wondering if the other reviewer stayed at the same place! Fabulous outside splash pool, rooms, facilities, food and the staff and manageress/owners were amazingly helpful in every aspect of our stay. I cannot rate this place more and would definitely stay there again. They were also superb with my mother who is elderly and they were so accommodating with this. Aside from this - if I was visiting for business it is absolutely suitable for all purposes - free wifi, great conference facilitiies, good links and professional staff! I loved our stay here and would definitely book again.

Room Tip: One point which we actually liked - was that being by the sea, seagulls from May - July make a lot o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkMon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Have stayed at the Empire a few times over the years a true family run hotel with the benifit of being close to the town centre shops , the Venicular to the Great Orme and the sea.
We usually stay in No. 72 an almost private house next door to the hotel with quite delightful rooms and very private.
The reception staff are a credit to any business,the main restaurant is very pleasant has a varied menu of good tasty food extremely well served. alternativly one can choose to eat in the poolside restaurant for an atmosphere that is quite different.
The gym and pool which have over time been improved are a great asset and give much pleasure to the more active guest.
The place for a relaxed stay in Llandudno.
Thank you Michael and Sue

Room Tip: No. 72 traditional main hotel more modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dyehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Have stayed at The Empire several times over the last 15 years and always want to go back. Have just visited for four days which is the first time in 18 months and they have raised their standards again. As with all good hotels its the staff that always make the difference and the team at The Empire don't change and know the meaning of friendly and professional service. The restaurant keeps up with expectations we all have these days and although we have always enjoyed the food at The Empire on this last visit it was better than ever in both choice and quality. Definitely recommend if you can get into this busy hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

In "the old days" food & menu were second to none...1st class...superior selection & quality but now that the Siblings are running the place I fear it has all changed. Good attentive service &, all that, nice pool & bar but will book B&B next time & eat out at several excellent Bistro type restaurants locally. The biggest let down was breakfast as only smoked bacon (fishy taste) was served,yuk. We had nice superior room though & the hotel is only a few yards from the pier. One other big advantage for me was the lift to all floors.A pleasant touch was the pianist playing in the lounge after dinner

Room Tip: Book a superior room as standard are miniscule
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We decided to book a stop at the Empire Hotel for a special birthday treat for out friends. I bought a gift voucher for bed breakfast and evening meal, last October and they went on 15th April booking themselves an extra night. They are very honest friends who if they had not enjoyed their stay would have just said "thank you for the gift" Instead they told us that the hotel was pleasant and "quirky" ( not sure exactly what they mean by that) The food excellent, the staff efficient and attentive. Their evening meal consisted of four courses, including soup, followed by succulent rack of lamb, delicious dessert, and coffee to complete.
They both swam in the indoor pool and would recommend the hotel to their other friends. Travelling to Llandudno from Manchester takes no more than one and a half hours so a good place to have a break. On the way home they meandered through the Welsh countryside. An excellent birthday treat. I will definitely book this deal again when our other friend has their special birthday. By the way we have known these friends for a very long time and they really are "friends in need, friends indeed".

Room Tip: I think there are different types of room so best to ask for descriptions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tightwads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandudno
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,292 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,450 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#15 of 60 in Llandudno
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Llandudno
351 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,713 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel Llandudno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel Llandudno

Address: 73 Church Walks, Llandudno LL30 2HE, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#7 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#8 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#12 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: $162 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel Llandudno 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Empire Hotel Llandudno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llandudno Empire Hotel
Empire Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing