We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Ranked #10 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2011

We spent 4 nights at the Empire Hotel during the last weekend in May 2011. The service was excellent smiling receptionists who helped us with our bags until the porter returned, who was also very friendly and helpful right through to restaurant staff who were not overly chatty but not unfriendly. We read a previous review that talked of the dining experience being rushed but we asked if we could have a while between our main and dessert and it was done. The food was superb and plentiful especially the breakfast, we didn't need any lunch for the duration of our visit.
When we booked the room we were told it was on the small side but we found it to be excellent, complimentary sherry, a fridge, hairdryer, tv and dvd player with an array of dvd's in the library at reception, bathrobes and seperate towels for the pool. Well decorated in keeping with the age of the hotel but with a modern feel.
I believe the towels were changed twice during our stay and the room service daily - even the ladies that cleaned the rooms stopped to say hello.
The hotel was close to the shops and sea front and also the footpaths/tram up onto The Orme. Its a great base to visit North Wales.
The best thing about the Empire is the family atmosphere we stayed at No72 for our honeymoon 20 years ago and wish that we hadn't left it so long to visit again, it has the same friendly and relaxing feel that it had then but has not stood still and now has a pool,spa and gym facilities.
The only thing we can find to say against our stay was our room was on the front and it was noisy outside at times but we like to have the window open and theres not a lot can be done about people who are enjoying themselves as they walk home.
Please visit the Empire you will have a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheGoodies29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (989)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

844 - 850 of 989 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2011

The hotel is conveniently located in Llandudno. Our room was bright and fresh, perhaps a little on the small side. The bathroom was clean with good toiletries. We spent a peaceful night even though the hotel is right in the centre of Llandudno. The breakfast was excellent and including both cold and hot food, freshly prepared to our request. On the downside - the staff seemed disinterested and not helpful this was the case for both the reception staff and the waitstaff.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurence_Malcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We stayed in this hotel last week for our yearly mini-break in Llandudno. We booked in a room taking into consideration all the good reviews on this site. We stayed here for 2 nights with our two young sons.
We stayed in room 50, which is a family room. The accommodation was superb - the room was very spacious and was divided in two, with a section for the children and a room for us. Each section had their own TV and DVD player. A library of DVDs is available at reception at no extra cost. The bathroom is spacious and very clean, with a nice bath and rain-like shower. The courtesy tea and coffee tray is more than adequate, with facilities to make brewed coffee if desired and some delicious homemade biscuits.
The hotel has two swimming pools, which were both advertised as heated. Neither were. My children didn't mind and after a while they were splashing happily, but not even the whirlpool was at a warmer temperature!
The following two mornings' breakfast was a big disappointment. The choice was not outstanding - there was only some melon as the "fresh fruit" option on one day and none on the next. My husband enjoyed the kipper breakfast. My porridge was bland and tasteless, with no offerings to top it other than plain granulated sugar (I am prediabetic). Coffee is served by the cup and you have to ask the staff to refill your cup. The fried eggs were completely cooked through - the yolk was like a hard-boiled egg one. The breakfast put us off staying at the hotel for dinner, thinking the food then would be of a similar standard.
The staff's attention seemed to be on par with the breakfast. Well below average. You can get much better breakfasts and staff attention at a Premier Inn! Staff were not welcoming at all, and they hardly looked up from the desk if we came with a question or a request. I never saw a smile, neither from the front desk staff nor from the waiting staff at breakfast. This made me feel very uncomfortable and in other circumstances it would be enough for me to never come back to this hotel again. However, the accommodation is really exceptional and good value for money. Lastly, the free wi-fi never worked for us, and whenever we raised the issue with reception we were just waved off saying they would look into it. Hopefully The Empire will take these comments on board and will invest a bit more into their staff training as it could be losing them customers like us.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adrieire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Stayed here with my 83 year old Father who is a full time carer who wished to have a quiet few days rest and relaxation.
The Hotel is well situated with compact but well appointed rooms, look out for the sewing and shoe clean kits in all rooms(a simple but nice touch) , Everything works in the room which makes a nice change. Food excellent and service from well selected, well trained staff, is very noticeable. The pool and spa areas are a bonus.
All in all great value, and very clear that repeat business happens here as a matter of course.
always a good sign. No hesitation in recommending this home from home.
Paul and Brian Southern

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lordship_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We returned again to the Empire for the first time since the significant renovations have been completed. The charm of the hotel has not been spoilt and the friendly staff offer the same welcome. The mini suites have been converted into large well finished ensuite rooms, the spa and pool completed and the dining room fully opened out,
The standard of food is high and well presented and cold table for those who don't eat a cooked breakfast greatly improved. The service is excellent as always.
The reception is helpful and someone is always at hand to help with luggage.
We shall of course be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

My office booked myself and a colleague two rooms here, and because it wa quite last minute, only superior rooms were left. I travel the length and breadth of Wales with work (although based in Ireland) and the superior room in this hotel is the finest hotel room I have ever booked in Wales. Other good things: breakfast was delicious, and the dining room is very nice. The service was very good throughout, and the room was kept spotless. We didnt try dinner and didnt spend any time in the bar, although it certainly looked good.

Some not so good things: the car-parking, although free, is very limited. The shower is not at the right height (I'm 6'3") and entailed constant bending over to get a good wash. The tv has that irritating delayed service which I'm not used to. The corridors are narrow, although very nicely decorated, with what I can only describe as "sensual" artwork, but the most bizarre thing was that one of the nights I struggled to sleep becuase there was a dog barking in a room up the corridor. Perhaps staff were unaware, or perhaps its accepted - I didnt enquire.

Overall, this hotel experience was very good, and at the price we paid, the value was certainly good, although without seeing the normal rooms (or prices) I dont know what the value is normally like.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathalr_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

I have been a regular guest at the hotel for 34 years and keep coming back for more.Excellent service and food.Wonderful accomodation enhanced by the attention given to all the guests by Elyse.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dottherot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandudno
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,317 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,477 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,796 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.6 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#5 of 60 in Llandudno
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel Llandudno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel Llandudno

Address: 73 Church Walks, Llandudno LL30 2HE, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#5 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#8 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#12 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: $170 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel Llandudno 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Empire Hotel Llandudno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llandudno Empire Hotel
Empire Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing