We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“light lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The London

The London
Ranked #82 of 205 Restaurants in Llandudno
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: The London has always been VERY popular with the older person, and by that I mean over 25's. It's always been known for the entertainment on Friday's and Saturday nights. The currant tennants, Debbie & Steve, took over at the end of April 2014.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“light lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

went in for a snack service good staff friendly food good nice clean place good atmosphere price reasonable outside seating able to sit and relax with a couple of drinks

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank carole b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    84
    29
    20
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A nice quiet evening for us in there.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

A big pot of tea for me and the chance for a talk. Nice low background music. Very busy in the day but after food service stops it was lovely.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank anassa62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
192 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Brief,to the point,But we found better,so thanks.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

All things happen for a purpose,and when one door closes,another opens.So the fact at 4,45pm on a Tuesday afternoon,(yesterday)upon entering Llandudno,s London Pub,Upper Mostyn Street, (,we have eaten here often,on and off),the bar person informed us that there would be no food till 5.pm,the chef wasnt around,it seemed,it didnt phase us.Ok,it was a pain.Ok,we now no its best to avoid this venue at that time,so wont be back there at that time of day,and as,in the past,its not been a great venue to eat at,anyway,not bad,but not great,and as,due to the London not having a chef at 4.45pm on a Tuesday afternoon,and time,like life being too short to await the chef,s appearance,we left and discovered the SPLENDID Cooneys Irish Pub a couple of doors away,where a chef WAS present,and we found Cooneys utterly splendid,The London was not a venue we missed too much.But,as I say,we now know when NOT to go there!,

  • Visited July 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Choose somewhere else !”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and myself paid a visit to the London on a quiet Monday evening (7.20 pm) after reading the menu outside and seeing the sign that said "home cooked food" at the time there were about 20 other people in the pub and one member of staff behind the bar. We chose our meals and ordered and paid, we were not told of the waiting time, our meals finally arrived after 40 minutes,I chose the fish and it arrived deep fried to a very dark colour and almost to a crisp and chips were under cooked. My wife chose the Lamb and Leek Pie but could not detect any sign of leeks, it was quite obvious that all the food on offer was frozen or pre cooked so how could the get it so wrong, the table where we were sitting was the one nearest to the kitchen and all the time we were waiting we could hear constant arguing and bickering to the point where someone shouted take the ******** menus off the tables so at least we had some entertainment while we waited.
The only good thing about this place was a young man called Peter, he delivered food, cleaned tables served behind the bar and generally did everything else that was needed, I think that without him the place would have to close.
All in all there are many places to eat in Llandudno so do yourself a favour and CHOOSE SOMEWHERE ELSE.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank squirrel1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“dissapointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We recently re visited after an excellent meal earlier in the year,what a let down the food can only be described as awfull.The fish was dry and the chips were like carboard.I genuinely hope this was just a one off on an off day.We may try again if we visit later in the year but if no improvement will complain (not something we do readily as it further spoils the occasion somewhat)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank torx21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The London also viewed

Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 
Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to The London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing