We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely little place for a spot of lunch after a lovely tram ride”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fish Tram Chips

Fish Tram Chips
Ranked #20 of 205 Restaurants in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A lovely little place for a spot of lunch after a lovely tram ride”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Fish Tram Chips was a lovely place to eat. It is situated right opposite the tram stop to go up the Great Orme. The food was highly delicious, but, I cannot help but feel that due to their location they are a little pricey! (however,some may say you only get what you pay for)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tess40, Manager at Fish Tram Chips, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on fish tram chips, we are glad you enjoyed your visit! Yes we are situated in a truly unique location right next to the Great Orme tramway, so we are a little way out of the main shopping area in Llandudno but well worth the walk! Our pricing is comparable to other chip shops in the area, and unfortunately chip prices have been greatly affected by the high cost of potatoes at the moment (which has been documented by the National federation of fish friers). We too hope pricing goes down too!! Thank you again for your comments 'The Fish Tram Chips' team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    524
    152
    82
    32
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fast service good view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Lovely fish chips and mushy peas. I loved the food, liked the service and enjoyed the view. Well worth the visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cheshire30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tess40, Manager at Fish Tram Chips, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we are glad you enjoyed the whole at experience of Fish Tram Chips! Hope to see you again soon the fish tram chips team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Delicious flakey haddock, crispy chips and mushy peas - what's not to like ?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Friendly service with a smile and most importantly great fish and chips. Made fresh to order and next door to a decent pub. A bit pricier than the chippies in Hull but that won't stop us from going again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanandHels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tess40, Manager at Fish Tram Chips, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your fish and chips! Yes we have a great location up by the tram and opposite a pub...however if you want to truly relax and soak up the sun then we have a licensed cafe so customers are welcome to enjoy drinks out on the front of the shop. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review the fish tram chips team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Exquisitely Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Fish Tram Chips - located opposite the tram station at the bottom of the Orme.

This restaurant offers the best fish and chips I've ever tasted. Whether you’re dining in or having a takeaway, the food is delightful. (As are the staff!)

The old adage applies ..... you get what you pay for folks. I'm sure there are cheaper chip shops in Llandudno, but they are not for me. I'd rather pay a little bit more (and you are literally talking pennies more) and have freshly prepared, freshly sourced food. Everything is prepared to order - this is not fast food it's delicious food - so yes you have to wait about 10 mins but that's fine with me.

The Fish – this is the centre piece – cooked to perfection. The batter, is so delicate that it offers the lightest crunch; then you bite into the gorgeous fresh fish – it all just melts in your mouth.

The chips – these are double cooked which means you get a wonderfully crunchy outer and a beautiful fluffy inner.

As you can clearly tell I could rave about Fish Tram chips for hours; it’s such a gem of a place …. please feel free to try for yourselves and I hope you enjoy it as much as me. Thank you.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfie432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tess40, Manager at Fish Tram Chips, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Wow this truly is a WONDERFUL review and is very much appreciated by the whole team!! Need I say anymore, I am just so glad you enjoyed your experience at Fish Tram Chips! And we look forward to serving you delicious fish and chips in the near future! The fish tram chips team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best Fish and chips I've eaten in a long time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Lovely light batter and beautiful flavoured fish and not greasy chips, good place to visit after working up an appetite on the great orme.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarahrobjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tess40, Manager at Fish Tram Chips, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We are glad you found our fish and chips to be yummy! Definitely a welcome meal after a walk around the Great Orme. All food is prepared fresh each day including our chips which are chipped on site! Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, the fish tram chips team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Tram Chips also viewed

Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 
Llandudno, Conwy County
 
Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to Fish Tram Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing