We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Fish and chips I've eaten in a long time”
Review of Fish Tram Chips

Fish Tram Chips
Ranked #18 of 211 Restaurants in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Lovely light batter and beautiful flavoured fish and not greasy chips, good place to visit after working up an appetite on the great orme.

Thank Sarahrobjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tess40, Manager at Fish Tram Chips, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

We are glad you found our fish and chips to be yummy! Definitely a welcome meal after a walk around the Great Orme. All food is prepared fresh each day including our chips which are chipped on site! Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, the fish tram chips team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (941)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

805 - 809 of 942 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2013

The food was delicious and the service was friendly. You have to wait some time for it to be prepared but as they do it from fresh that's understandable. My family & friends would come here loads if it weren't for the extortionate prices. So we now go to other affordable chip shops on our days out. Its a shame.

Thank Cristina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tess40, Manager at Fish Tram Chips, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed the food as you mentioned we do cook fresh to order which we know is unusual for a fish and chip shop but it guarantees the batter is crisp and the chips are fresh so we wouldn't do it any other way. Waiting time for a fish and chips is approx 7mins so in reality it's no different to waiting for a meal in any other establishment. In terms of our pricing we aim to be inline with other chip shops of equal quality to our food and we believe this is to be the case as we keep on top of the market in our area so there shouldn't be any big differences in price, but please bear in mind fish and chips is just like any other industry we can be greatly affected by cost price increases such as poor weather can cause limited potato crops so can have an impact on price, where possible we try to absorb costs but as we are a small business it's difficult to always do this. We hope that our service and quality of product will hopefully bring you back to the shop in the near future. The Fish Tram Chips team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is the best fish and chips ever. Whenever we visit Llandudno this is our first port of call!
Food is freshly cooked and not at all greasy. Staff are friendly, establishment is very clean.
Recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank maggieWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tess40, Manager at Fish Tram Chips, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, it's great to hear such positive comments and makes the hard work worthwhile. We always ensure the shop is maintained and cleaned and have recently been award a 5 star hygiene rating. It's always great to welcome back familiar faces to the shop, so we hope to welcome you again soon when you next visit Llandudno. The Fish Tram Chips team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

If you like fish and chips, and lets face it, who doesn't, then you MUST go here. Eat in or take away. The restaurant is a good size, well presented with friendly staff. Oh, and a real bonus, if you're not driving you can have a drink with your meal. Great choice of drinks including draught Peroni and a choice of wines.

Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tess40, Manager at Fish Tram Chips, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for writing a review on Fish Tram Chips, we are glad you enjoyed your visit to us and yes Peroni is def the perfect partner to fish and chips!! See you again soon The Fish Tram Chips team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We visited the restaurant on a Bank Holiday, This Restaurant(well Fish & Chip Shop)we was told was a Good one to try by our hotel, as I Do like Good Chip Shop when when we visit the Sea Side, this time it was open when we went at around 19.00(7.00pm) as there was 4 of us in our group we had to wait for a table(in the end we got 2 small tables) OK for our friends they are on the small side & was put over the other side of the room, we got a small table for 2 in frount of a noisey group of people, I felt cramped & when the fish & chips came, well the batter on the fish tasted greasie(could have been my taste), one of the staff at the hotel did say that when she got the battered fish home she did rapp it in paper towels a few times to remove the Grease,when we got back to the hotel.
This Restaurant is On The Small Side, So if you do Visit this Restaurant as it IS Recomended, look in First to check if the size of the restaurant suits you, as there are other Fish & Chip Shops in Llandudno that are Bigger & of simular standard.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Arnold A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tess40, Manager at Fish Tram Chips, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

We are sorry you didn't have a great experience at Fish Tram Chips, we know we aren't a massive shop but we have tried to lay the tables out as effectively as possible. The shop is housed in two old cottages (it's part of 'old' Llandudno) so the shop is likely to have been old fishermans cottages. As you visited us on the busiest weekend of the year, Llandudno had attracted record numbers of visitors over the May bank holiday this year, we also experienced large numbers of visitors ourselves which meant many had to wait for tables, to reduce your waiting time you will have been offered two separate tables to get your party seated quicker, if you weren't happy to be separated our staff would have been more than accomodating to save a larger table once it became available. Again we are sorry you didn't like the seating area, but we aim to focus on our quality of food rather than if our shop is as big as some of the larger shops in town. The Fish Tram Chips team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Tram Chips also viewed

Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 
Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to Fish Tram Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing