We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food, Nice Little Restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Home Cookin' Restaurant

Home Cookin' Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 204 Restaurants in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Food, Nice Little Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We visited here on a Monday night and it was surprisingly busy, nevertheless the staff were very helpful. The starter and mains were excellent; the only downside was that a lot of the things on the menu were unavailable as they had run out! Fortunately, there was plenty of other choices which we like but this could have been a problem for other people. This is the only reason we have given 4 stars and not 5!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pete L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kev518williams, Manager at Home Cookin' Restaurant, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of Home Cookin’, we are glad to see you enjoyed your visit to our restaurant, as all of our dishes are freshly made we do sometimes run out of items and as you said it was a surprisingly busy for a Monday Night so we did run short of a few things, but thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon on your next visit to Llandudno.
Yours sincerely
Kevin Williams
Head Chef / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,140
    351
    115
    33
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“julie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

we found this restaurant just by looking on the internet and it seemed to good to be true but in fact I found it to be very friendly and relaxing the sevice was a little bit slow but that is probably du to fresh cooked food ,good choice of menu food very hot well presented and most enjoyable at a very reasonable price , waitress service very polite and very helpful all round , we were that pleased we went back the next night and it was exactly the same I would use this restaurant again and recommend it to anyone , well done to the chef and all the staff

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank julie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kev518williams, Manager at Home Cookin' Restaurant, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your recent review, we are delighted to hear you have used Home Cookin’ on a regular basis on your last visit to Llandudno. We appreciate the time and trouble you have taken to write such a positive review. Thank you once again
Yours sincerely
Kevin Williams
Head Chef / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home Cookin'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

The food was as stated 'Home Cooking' hot plates, hot tasty food and plentiful. We ate hear on our last night in Llandudno (Sunday) and thoroughly enjoyed it. A bit of a wait as the restaurant was full and many customers had booked a table.
But they managed to accomodate us along with others who were waiting. The staff were extremely efficient and a credit to the Restaurant, and certainly kept up with everything, nothing was too much trouble for them, extra gravy certainly Sir. Roast Dinner followed by a Banana Split 10/10. Thank You.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank edst08general
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kev518williams, Manager at Home Cookin' Restaurant, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your recent review, we are delighted to see your enjoyed both the food and service that Home Cookin’ offers, Good honest food is what we have been providing for over 30 years now and this has helped make our restaurant so successful.
Yours sincerely
Kevin Williams
Head Chef / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful Initial Experience - Plenty of staff that can't be bothered”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

First, I should say we arrived on a weekday and we didn't book, but that should have warranted the service we received. We didn't mind waiting, until the head waitress (Think her name was Emily or something - with dark brown hair) told us to wait outside and forgot about us. She actually started seating other parties. We then reminded her we were here and she was incredibly rude and unapologetic. Two tables outside cleared up and by this time they had customers lined up from their gate to their door. Not one person offered us a table, or any of us for that matter. The incredibly rude waitress walked by the two tables several times and didn't clear them up. In fact, several waitresses walked by both tables and no one cleared them. Finally after 15-20 mins of additional waiting we finally asked a girl who eventually became our waitress (I think Stephanie) if we can seat ourselves. Our experience after that was pleasant, because our server was nice and the food was good. My dad was disappointed that the lamb dish was three tiny pieces of lamb. I have worked in many different restaurants during my years at Uni. I can assure you that if you employ staff that don't want to be there and can't be bothered to serve, you'll lose business despite having a good business structure, chef and menu. I can assure you that the people waiting behind us were not pleased either. We even wrote a comment card on our way out. Normally we wouldn't care at all, but we can tell it's a good business, but a manager or owner needs to be informed about their staff. I understand you can’t sit a party of 4 at a table for 2, but both tables that became available would have accommodated us. We definitely would have left and gone somewhere else, but we had already been waiting for so long we figured we had to be seated at some point. Waiting 35ish minutes for a table when there are tables available is unacceptable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kev518williams, Manager at Home Cookin' Restaurant, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Home Cookin’. I am sorry you didn’t enjoy your experience. Just to reply to some of the comments you made, when we are full (which is a lot) all customers are asked to wait or queue at their own choice in the porch as we have no other space for them to do so, unfortunately as you didn’t queue as you should of other customers were then seen before you which then made your wait even longer. I would also like to say that I have full confidence in my service staff and as hundreds of other reviewers have said they are very welcoming, polite and hard working. I am sorry again you didn’t enjoy your visit but maybe you could try us again and see all the positive things Home Cookin’ has to Offer.
Yours sincerely
Kevin Williams
Head Chef / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Really great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Really good food, and really nice ale to accompany it. Had one of their crab specials which was fantastic value and delicious.

There could be a few small tweaks to make the meal perfect - the mash was far from the best, their chips could be better quality, etc. But all in all, everything was really tasty and good value.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kev518williams, Manager at Home Cookin' Restaurant, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your recent review we are delighted you enjoyed your overall experience at Home Cookin’. We did have a small problem with potatoes for a day or two as we were testing new types due to the change in season, and are chips are now back to our usual high standard, also it’s nice to hear you enjoyed your locally dressed crab.
Yours sincerely
Kevin Williams
Head Chef / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Home Cookin' Restaurant also viewed

Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to Home Cookin' Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing