We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cramped but ok.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Home Cookin' Restaurant

Home Cookin' Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 204 Restaurants in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
North Wales
Level Contributor
193 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Cramped but ok.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

If you dine at the average time to dine,you find it busy and its one of those venues where it crowds you when it fills.Food is ok,but a bit expensive and the service sporadic.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,647 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,131
    350
    115
    33
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Home Cooking is so lovely, We have been for many occassions, they have lots to choose from on the menu,We always have the roast, there are a choice of three meats. The fish and Chips are great too. The sweets are superb, especially the hot choc fudge cake and cream! The Only thing i could ever say is that the place shuts far too early, 9pm. We usually go at 5.30pm.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GillyB33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Have I been to the wrong place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Not sure if the reviews are about the same place I visted last Saturday. Staff excellent, decor good, food left a lot to be desired. My wife had the gammon, this came with a mound of chips and what must have been a 2lb bag of peas on the plate. The gammon was the most sorry thing that I had seen, I would be surprised if it was sourced from a butcher. It was that thin and of poor quality, the cost being £10.95 which probably would have cost £2.50 to produce. I had the mixed grill which also came with the same sort of poor quality gammon, I was aware having read the menu that it also had breaded chicken goujons. They were poor quality and that dry that you had to have a drink after each mouthful. One off the list when we visit Llandudno again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frodman196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We ate here on Saturday 20 th of October when we stayed at a nearby hotel. First impressions were good,the staff were friendly and we were served with a smile. We had a short wait on our food but had been told by the waitress that it would take bit longer. This was not an issue as they were busy and it was nice to know it was being freshly cooked. When the food came it was presented well but the chicken dish I had was totally tasteless while my husbands steak pie did not look or taste home made . We decided not to bother with desert as we did not feel the food was up to standard and there did not seem much point paying for more second rate food. On a more positive note the drinks were fine and the place was spotless.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stay in Llandudno twice a year at a wonderful bed and breakfast and always have our evening meals at Home Cooking. The food is always top notch we have never been disappointed and the staff are lovely. We have a 3 year old daughter and they go out of their way to make her feel welcome. We only wish we lived nearer so we could go more often.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireMisty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Home Cookin' Restaurant also viewed

Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to Home Cookin' Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing