We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food.”

Barnacles Chip Shop
Ranked #34 of 205 Restaurants in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Seafood, Fast Food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newton Stewart, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

My husband and I made a special journey last Sunday to Llandudno when visiting Chester. We had heard about Barnacles through the Coeliac website. The reviews were good so we gave it a go. We were not at all dissapointed. The Gluten Free Cod Special was great. The price was good £6.95, as you had a cup of tea, cod, chips, mushy peas and a slice of gluten free bread and butter. It was so filling. The prices were the same for non gluten free food which is such a surprise as most gluten free foods are more expensive. My husband had the non gluten free Haddock Special and the fish was so big he couldnt finish it. No bones in the fish and it was pure white which again is not always the case in chippys. The staff were fine. They were quiet, but pleasant. We would go back if we were down that way again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    120
    63
    28
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Evening meals.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is an excellent restaurant with very helpful staff offering more than just fish and chips. Infact they will serve anything requested within reason and go out of their way to make you welcome.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Waite5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-Under-Lyme
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good Food but AWFUL Staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

I have eaten here twice on two separate visits to Llandudno and the fish and chips are superb! Big portions, large and fresh fish and very tasty.

What REALLY lets this place down is the terrible staff. Other than one man (presumably the manager or owner), the rest of the staff are appalling…without fail! Huffs and tuts are their language and as for manners? Forget it. ‘Please’ and ‘thank you’ are not in their language at all and they way they look at customers is as though they are despised. The constant drinking of cheap energy drinks by 3 of the staff also doesn't give a good impression, This business inevitable relies on tourists and the stroppy, rude and unprofessional staff will stop people returning here.

I will not be going here again as the staff are awful which is a shame because the food is great.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hols_and_Meals_Out
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Just avoid the coffee!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

You can't go to north Wales without having fish and chips and this was up there with the best. It is a cheap and cheerful cafe but the food was excellent. We had no problems with the service.

But the cappuccino was easily the worst I have ever had!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank gcluer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

I ate here numerous times during my short break in Llandudno. The food was excellent, great value for money too. I had fish and chips and tea and had salmon with vegetablets and mash. Barnacles serve tasty English meals The service was great too. Nice cosy settings in Llandudno town centre. I highly recommend!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barnacles Chip Shop also viewed

Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to Barnacles Chip Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing