We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel from hell !!!”
Review of Brig-y-Don Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brig-y-Don Hotel
Ranked #94 of 145 Llandudno B&B and Inns
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“hotel from hell !!!”
Reviewed September 17, 2011

went to this hotel on a david urquhart coach trip - david urquhart HANG YOUR HEAD IN SHAME.
is this hotel the worst hotel in wales, easily a contender.
nothing good to say about this hotel apart from the location.
dirty, run down, bedroom my wife and i was in need of a total refurb.
bar and dance floor in what can only be described as a dungeon with bar unashamedly filled with asda smart price mixers.
still having nightmares months later.
unbelievable that anyone could give this hotel a favourable review.
AVOID AT ALL COSTS !!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank neil d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    72
    60
    34
    43
See reviews for
91
85
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

dirty rooms throughout the hotel.Staff not very friendly or helpful. They refused to send someone to clean the bedroom/ bathroom properly. Food barely edible. Awful. Cannot think of anything reasonable to say about it

Room Tip: There arent any good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

wet to this hotel from friday to monday the only complaint we have have is it wasn't long enough ,food was good ,entertainment was good ,most all company we met was brilliant

Room Tip: ask for second floor facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank electa_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

went to llandudno on coach trip to brig y don hotel. great location very dissappionted with hotel. on arriving were told cases would be taken to our rooms,or we could take them ourselves as it could take up to 45mins to do this. on asking for our cases were treated with abuse from the owner ( lisa). food was good regards to chef, but the time it took the female staff to serve it was ridicolous and very surly.need to go on customer care course. all the male staff however,many who were younger were very pleasant and helpfull. dining room , lift , rooms etc did not see a hoover in the five days we were there. room dirty ensuite small, shower very tempramentle.hole in roof where it had been leaking. hotel would be ok if it had a full refurbishment as it is in good situation

Room Tip: ask for front facing seaview on second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank misty060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

did not pay much - got valu for money. Ony way to describe it - grim

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank pukie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

This was the worst hotel I've ever been to.
We were a group of 12 people visiting Snowdonia over a longish weekend and unfortunately chose to book our rooms at the hotel. We had asked for extra beds in two rooms, which had been subsequently confirmed by the hotel staff by calling me directly informing of the extra charges for the same to which we readily agreed, for which they also sent a confirmation on e-mail. On our way there, we had subsequently checked and confirmed our reservations at the hotel informing them of our late check in to which the hotel had no problems. However, on reaching there, to our horror, all that the hotel staff told was that we had no booking with them. While at first, they blandly refused any bookings, they finally accepted that we indeed had made the reservation on being shown their confirmation on email. When we asked the lone night staff to atleast let us speak to the owner, after repeated refused to confirm any such request, when the owner finally came on the phone, she told us to go to another hotel where she had made some reservations. On reaching the other hotel, the hotel did not acknowledge any such booking and told us that this being a new booking will treated as such and that we will have to pay twice the price we had originally paid for.
We had to go through all this with having to attend to a sick child in our group.
When we were finally able to force the owner to come down to the hotel to resolve the matter, she was absolutely unapologetic and rude.
We did finally have to get rooms in another hotel at 2.00 am in the morning but only after all our holidays had been ruined.
My sincere advice to anyone looking to make reservations in this hotel....please do so only if you want to ruin your vacation.

Room Tip: No matter what room you get, its not worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peeyush081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

We had booked the hotel thru booking.com for 12 people. There was a special request for additional beds in 2 rooms. The booking was confirmed and a call was made to confirm that there will be additional charges for the hotel. On the fateful day 28th May , we were late so we called up the hotel to convey and that was accepted with 'No problem sir'. When we reached .... at 10:30 Pm.. the guy at the reception said ..there was no booking ... and he can't do anything... So we requested to talk tyo the owner which after a long wait was arranged but same stuff. After a 1.5 hrs wait ..and consistant requests.. we were told that they have arranged for us in a nearby place ... but again no number .. no address.. no help... and the other hotel refused to acknowledge the arrangement so after hours of torture and requesting help from the police... the owner finally came and the other hotel took us..
There was no apology.. no arrangement for water or seats for people..
So request not to use this hotel even if all the hotels in the area are full and this one is available for free.... For us our holiday ended when we reached this hotel .. The owner is very rude.. does not listen to anything

Room Tip: Please do not use this hotel . Its better not to e
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank richasarathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.4 mi away
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
213 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#55 of 60 in Llandudno
317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Karden House Hotel
Karden House Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Headlands Hotel
Headlands Hotel
#42 of 60 in Llandudno
323 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hen-Dy Guesthouse
Hen-Dy Guesthouse
#6 of 60 in Llandudno
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brig-y-Don Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brig-y-Don Hotel

Property: Brig-y-Don Hotel
Address: Central Promenande, Llandudno LL30 2XS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brig-y-Don Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Brig Y Don Hotel in Llandudno. Glenn, Lisa, and staff at the Brig Y Don Hotel offer quality guest accommodation. We are a family run establishment which provides warm hospitality in a clean, relaxed and friendly environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brig-y-Don Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brig-y-Don Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing