We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you get what you pay for!”
Review of Brig-y-Don Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brig-y-Don Hotel
Ranked #94 of 145 Llandudno B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 13, 2011

did not pay much - got valu for money. Ony way to describe it - grim

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank pukie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
There are newer reviews for Brig-y-Don Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 257 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2011

This was the worst hotel I've ever been to.
We were a group of 12 people visiting Snowdonia over a longish weekend and unfortunately chose to book our rooms at the hotel. We had asked for extra beds in two rooms, which had been subsequently confirmed by the hotel staff by calling me directly informing of the extra charges for the same to which we readily agreed, for which they also sent a confirmation on e-mail. On our way there, we had subsequently checked and confirmed our reservations at the hotel informing them of our late check in to which the hotel had no problems. However, on reaching there, to our horror, all that the hotel staff told was that we had no booking with them. While at first, they blandly refused any bookings, they finally accepted that we indeed had made the reservation on being shown their confirmation on email. When we asked the lone night staff to atleast let us speak to the owner, after repeated refused to confirm any such request, when the owner finally came on the phone, she told us to go to another hotel where she had made some reservations. On reaching the other hotel, the hotel did not acknowledge any such booking and told us that this being a new booking will treated as such and that we will have to pay twice the price we had originally paid for.
We had to go through all this with having to attend to a sick child in our group.
When we were finally able to force the owner to come down to the hotel to resolve the matter, she was absolutely unapologetic and rude.
We did finally have to get rooms in another hotel at 2.00 am in the morning but only after all our holidays had been ruined.
My sincere advice to anyone looking to make reservations in this hotel....please do so only if you want to ruin your vacation.

Room Tip: No matter what room you get, its not worth it
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Peeyush081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

We had booked the hotel thru booking.com for 12 people. There was a special request for additional beds in 2 rooms. The booking was confirmed and a call was made to confirm that there will be additional charges for the hotel. On the fateful day 28th May , we were late so we called up the hotel to convey and that was accepted with 'No problem sir'. When we reached .... at 10:30 Pm.. the guy at the reception said ..there was no booking ... and he can't do anything... So we requested to talk tyo the owner which after a long wait was arranged but same stuff. After a 1.5 hrs wait ..and consistant requests.. we were told that they have arranged for us in a nearby place ... but again no number .. no address.. no help... and the other hotel refused to acknowledge the arrangement so after hours of torture and requesting help from the police... the owner finally came and the other hotel took us..
There was no apology.. no arrangement for water or seats for people..
So request not to use this hotel even if all the hotels in the area are full and this one is available for free.... For us our holiday ended when we reached this hotel .. The owner is very rude.. does not listen to anything

Room Tip: Please do not use this hotel . Its better not to e
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank richasarathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Although enjoyed food and entertainment, the hotel is in dire need of renovating. They are needing to sack their cleaners as the two rooms in use by myself and two sisters where dirty, damaged furniture and the shower in my room fell off the wall twice and you had to be a midget to use it the carpet was green mouldy. This holiday was booked through David Urquhart - do not know why they still use this hotel as it is a disgrace, they have a cheek to charge staying there

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lilymcf231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We stayed as a large family party at this hotel, and when we booked it, we were recommended by a friend who had already stayed previously, and we hadn't seen the reviews on here due to the recommendation.
when we read some of the negative reviews here, we thought they must have the wrong hotel, as we found no such problems during our 5 night stay.
To me, this hotel is not like a brand new travelodge box affair, but more of a traditional seafront hotel, as per all of the uk's resorts, it has charachter features such as ornamental mouldings etc etc.
we used the bar/ ballroom area every night and really enjoyed everything that was provided by Glen & Lisa the owners.
The food was perfect, and the rooms were warm and clean- what more do people expect for the prices you pay?
we would highly recommend this hotel, and will be going back again asap.

Room Tip: ask for a sea facing room
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank usinnorthwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for a long weekend on their '3 nights for thr price of 2' offer. The food was excellent and the staff were friendly. The room wasn't very modern but it was comfortable and we had a lovely view of the shore from our window. Overall, it was good value for money and we will be returning later in the year when the 3 for 2 offer is on again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JennyG123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Had bedroom at front - good view, overfussy and dark decoration Victorian Gothic style , dark green with odd lacy drapery over bed bedside lamps not working, very visible dust beneath bed. Bathroom had peeling paper and a hole where the loo handle had worn away at the wall! Very dark. Good points, flat screen tv, tea and coffee and kettle provided. dismal stairways, food ok. No coffee offered at bereakfast and their teabags were very weak - one per pot! One had had to descend into subterranean bar area for after dinner coffee/tea. Dark and dismal down there. Decor - good in places. Dining room and lounges were fine. The rest needs renovating. Room to park car at rear of hotel although difficult to locate. Best point.: The sea view. Good staff - they provided candles to light us to bed when we experienced a 2 hour power cut on the Sunday night.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank March30Gloucs.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.4 mi away
Headlands Hotel
Headlands Hotel
#43 of 60 in Llandudno
327 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#35 of 60 in Llandudno
480 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Winchmore Hotel
The Winchmore Hotel
#23 of 60 in Llandudno
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#39 of 60 in Llandudno
463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shelbourne Hotel
Shelbourne Hotel
#48 of 60 in Llandudno
137 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#55 of 60 in Llandudno
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brig-y-Don Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brig-y-Don Hotel

Address: Central Promenande, Llandudno LL30 2XS, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Price Range: $68 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brig-y-Don Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Brig Y Don Hotel in Llandudno. Glenn, Lisa, and staff at the Brig Y Don Hotel offer quality guest accommodation. We are a family run establishment which provides warm hospitality in a clean, relaxed and friendly environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brig-y-Don Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brig-y-Don Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing