We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality home cooking”
Review of The Carmel Bistro - CLOSED

The Carmel Bistro
Price range: $21 - $23
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good quality home cooking”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Having read some excellent reviews on here we decided to visit this restaurant recently and thoroughly enjoyed the fine cuisine they had to offer. The menu is not extensive and did not have all the options available, however we were not at all disappointed with the rest of the menu.
Neil who played his waiting part very professionally was also very helpful and accommodating.
Both the Starters and Main Courses were of excellent standard with the sirloin steak and the garlic, soy and fresh chilli sauce very tasty, maybe a little less soy and more chilli would have perfected it for me. Having said that it was all excellent value for £15.50.
We were quite full, but being a birthday celebration we did push ourselves to the limit and even had dessert, which again was excellent - the plum and amaretto tart was huge and although I struggled to finish it, it was delicious. My partner couldn't fit in any of the desserts but decided to have some ice cream which they provided for her.
An excellent culinary experience, drinks prices do not match the excellent food that was provided but is what tends to be the norm in most restaurants these days.
As we do not live very far, we hope to visit again in the near future. Thank you

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank huws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    7
    2
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great meal service and value!!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner visited here for the weekend. The food was lovely and homemade and the service was professional to every fine detail. The 2 courses for £15 very good value for the locally sourced food!! Will be returning!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smk189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llandudno
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“High Expectations”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Having read the reviews we had high expectations of our visit to Carmel Bistro. We were very disappointed to be sitting in a dark back room on a lovely sunny evening, we were expecting a sea view. The starters were okay. The main meal lacked any vegetables, I had asked whether we could order them separately and were told they didn't do them. How odd? My main meal then consisted of a huge dry piece of chicken with cheese and bacon on the top of it, fried potatoes and onions. We skipped the pudding, the choice was very limited. They also ran out of beer..........

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goodviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A fantastic meal with exceptional service in a great setting”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I took 11 adults to the Carmel Bistro and we were treated royally by Neil and Gill, the owners. The meal was exceptional and nothing seemed too much trouble. All 11 of the group rated the meal one of the best they'd had and I heartily recommend this restaurant to the most discerning diner.

The Chef, Gill, worked her culinary magic and it was greatly appreciated. Well done all at the Carmel Bistro.

We'll be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StephenWC1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Culinary Delight”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

What can I say!! Wonderful meal, pleasant surroundings in this small bistro. Very friendly waiter/owner. Nothing too much trouble. Excellent value at £15.50 for 2 courses plus £3.95 for dessert. Imaginative choice of dishes on the menu. Drinks reasonably priced too. Sadly I didn't have room for a dessert but they looked delicious. Thoroughly recommend you give it a try if in Llandudno.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carmel Bistro also viewed

Penrhyn Bay, Llandudno
Penrhyn Bay, Llandudno
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing