We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service and lovely location”

The Terrace at St George's
Ranked #88 of 209 Restaurants in Llandudno
Price range: $20 - $58
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good service and lovely location”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Very nice terrace for afternoon tea or drinks. My wife and I enjoyed a coffee and later a couple of glasses of wine. Comfortable,clean and good service by very pleasant staff.
The toilets were spotless always a good indication.
Not the least expensive but in my estimation well worth the prices charged.
I was impressed enough to seriously consider a weekend break there,in the coming winter.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Monty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at The Terrace at St George's, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Delighted you enjoyed the visit and more so that it made you want to come back and stay. Smiled regarding your comments on the toilets, which are quite right and am pleased to say we lived up to your scrutiny!!
Thank you for placing this review and hopefully we shall be welcoming you back soon to St George's.
All our best wishes
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    39
    25
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham
Level Contributor
124 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Despite other praisworthy reviews on this site, we must have been unlucky on this occasion! I was in a party of four visiting this prestigious hotel on 7th August. I tried to order afternoon tea and scones but the waiters were just standing around talking between themselves. I pointed out that the table we were sitting at needed wiping. The tea and scones were nice but the service was poor. I had to go outside to pay the bill. When we were leaving a waiter came running after me wanting to know if I had paid the bill. The normal maitre d' was not there and it showed.Therefore a disappointing report . We were entertaining a Japanese visitor and I felt ashamed of such poor service in a nicely appointed hotel. If the management read this, please keep up high standards and rebuke poor service and staff.

    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dwplucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgeswales, Director of Sales at The Terrace at St George's, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I am only sorry it wasn't a more positive one. The experience you received wasn't up to the standards we work so hard to try and maintain and for that I am very sorry. Please contact me directly on sales@stgeorgeswales.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
317 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Far from the Madding Crowd.”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Llandudno in the summer is bursting at the seams. How lovely to turn onto the promenade and into the cool interior of the St George Hotel. Linen cloths. Waitress service. Extensive menu. Keenly priced. It's wonderful to escape the hot hustle and bustle. On average, you will perhaps pay about £2.00 more than an upmarket cafe. However, there are no crowds here. You can relax and enjoy a leisurely lunch. Beautifully served and presented. Enjoy!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at The Terrace at St George's, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
What a lovely, but may I say accurate review of the Terrace at St George's. We do try our hardest to provide a lovely environment with our friendly team, so thank you for acknowledging this, it is appreciated by all the team.
Hope to see you back soon.
Kind regards
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great venue let down by shocking food!”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Visited the St George for my end of year ball. The venue itself is stunning and is in a fantastic location, the staff are all lovely and very willing to help with anything they can.
Now for the bad, it wasn't exactly a cheap venue, far from it but the food we got on the night was not what we paid for. The chicken breast in white wine sauce turned out to be the cheapest cut of chicken thighs with a grey salty sauce and a couple of pieces of carrot and some cold roast potatoes. The dessert was definitely frozen, there was no wine included in the ,meal and the bar was ridiculously over priced.
This hotel could be the perfect venue for any event but I would definitely not recommend it based on what we received for the money. I'd hate to think how disappointing it would be as a wedding venue!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Liv W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at The Terrace at St George's, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We have been fortunate for many years to host your schools end of year ball and the lovely letter and kind words from your head teacher who attended makes us pleased to know that it was ''once again a lovely evening.''
The main course was chicken breast, not thighs, in a mushroom white wine sauce, then a dessert which was not frozen.
As for the bar being over priced, the prices are competitive with other similar establishments. The many bottles of drink that was confiscated clearly would have made the evening more expensive for some guests then they would have expected.
Finally thank you for your kind words regarding the stunning venue that's St George's and our great team.
Regards
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deganwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sons ROA”
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Very disappointed with the food cold chips and pizza was tasteless !! Just because it was for 16 year old students it should be the same quality throughout the hotel ! Definately not worth what was paid! !

Helpful?
2 Thank hobbo649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at The Terrace at St George's, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
We are sorry to read of yours, or your son's disappointment, however we discern the issue is more regarding what you paid.
If we may just emphasise the ticket price was the ROA's organizer's price set having to cover as well as the basic buffet.. D.J., Room and table decorations, prizes, photographs, door security, transport etc. In your consideration please include all these additions, however we still note your disappointment in the buffet that we were asked to provide.
Would wish to finish by reporting that we have received only thanks and praise from the organizers and it seemed to be an enjoyable and successful night.
Regards
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Terrace at St George's also viewed

 
Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to The Terrace at St George's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing