We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

The Terrace at St George's
Ranked #81 of 208 Restaurants in Llandudno
Price range: $20 - $58
Cuisines: British, European, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Went in today. Looked very busy. Asked for a table and a rude waiter said we should find somewhere ourselves. This is not what you expect from an establishment of this type. He gave the impression he was doing us a favour to serve us. Second time we have been in and won't try again. Disappointing to say the least.

Helpful?
Thank Angela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at The Terrace at St George's, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Have tried to look into this and asked you for assistance in identifying the waiter, sadly you haven't replied to my question so can only regret ,this impression has been left. If it was busy or not the waiter should still have made you feel welcome.
Our team are regularly acknowledged as being a very friendly and welcoming team I hope you will decide to return and if so please contact me directly so I may ensure there is a lovely sea view table, with a warm welcome included and the best of St George's.
Kind regards
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    39
    25
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Sandwiches have generous fillings and the chips are the best ever!
Great view over the sea. Very friendly service.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Coppington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at The Terrace at St George's, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
A lovely review to start the New Year and it says it all.
Thank you for posting and so much appreciated.
Best wishes for 2014
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“cold unrecognisable food.”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I was expecting something really special at our works xmas meal here. I was very dissapointed. Starter was a deep fried something that just tasted greasy. Main was meant to be a turkey dinner, but everyone on the table commented that it looked more like pork it was grey and in sections. The veg was awful what there was of it. Lady on our table sent her meal back twice for being cold. I opted for cheese and crackers at the end thinking you cant do that wrong.... they were both stale, both obviously left out on the side. Needless to say that was left too. The lady with the cold meal was offered a glass of wine, which we all thought was an insult till we saw the bar prices. £3.50 for a coke! Will not be going back anytime soon.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hindes57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at The Terrace at St George's, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Unable to recognize your party from your comments I am unable to provide a proper response to your issues, sadly this does not reflect the very successful Christmas at St George's with so many compliments and repeat bookings. We will always deal with comments professionally when made to us, but am unable to through such a public site, if you wish to contact me directly, than I shall deal with the matter more appropriately.
What I can say, is that our food is of high quality and has achieved awards for being so, and served by friendly efficient staff in a lovely setting.
As always with guests as yourself if you did consider a return to St George's please contact me directly so I may ensure you will receive the best of St George's.
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Really poor Xmas party”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Went to this 4 star Hotel for a works Xmas party. I have been to the St George's many times in the past and always found it very good. On this occasion however, apart from my starter, which was very nice the food was very poor. I had a beef steak main course, very small portion which was over cooked and dried out. Only one roast potato, a few vegetables and a dried up spoon of mashed potato, that had formed a crust. I played it safe with desert, by having Cheese and biscuits, however the cheese was noticeable by its absence, one very small sliver of cheddar and a smaller one of Brie. To cap it off. The house white wine was warm and the red cold and not very good.
I'm not sure if the management are letting standards fall or just taking advantage of the party market in the hope they won't notice the small portions and poor quality. Which ever they risk permanently damaging an other wise good reputation unless they do something about this.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeT23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at The Terrace at St George's, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
I am surprised and also regret, that you felt disappointed with your works Christmas Party.
I can only say this December has been our busiest and most successful, with scores of compliments. But what does that matter as this is your opinion, and though you state the ''many times'' in the past you have found St George's very good, sadly on this one occasion, you didn't.
What is sad for us, is as a regular TA user, those very good times you haven't reviewed, as it would have offered a balanced view, but we appreciate and am pleased, you have experienced the best of St George's.
We are certainly not allowing standards to fall and can only regret you were disappointed, please contact me directly if you consider returning to St George's, so I may assure you of a warm welcome and the best of St George's.
Best Wishes for 2014
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A very pleasant Birthday dinner for my Wife.”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I have eaten in almost every food outlet in Llandudno over the years and have varying opinions on what would be suitable for a meal on a special occasion. Eventually after much thought I choose the Terrace at St Georges. It turned out to be the perfect venue, even though the Hotel had all three of its function rooms occupied, it in no way impinged on the Terrace, the quality of our meal or the panache with which it was presented by the restaurant staff. I found the Terrace to be a warm and welcoming place with a wonderful ambience. It was the right choice and I thought it was priced most reasonably, considering the quality and service the St Georges provided. I will definitely eat there again and would recommend it to my friends without a seconds hesitation.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blongb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at The Terrace at St George's, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
A lovely review thank you and especially as it was a celebration of your wife's birthday, we are only so pleased to have made it a memorable evening.
Your kind words have been so encouraging and appreciated by the team who work hard to provide good food with a friendly yet efficient service.
Thank you again and our best wishes to you and your wife for 2014.
Kind Regards
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Terrace at St George's also viewed

 
Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to The Terrace at St George's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing