We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wrong time”

The Terrace at St George's
Ranked #85 of 211 Restaurants in Llandudno
Price range: $20 - $58
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We booked lunch on terrace was complete let down food not good how can you get steak pie wrong pastry not cooked no meat in it starter not good taste not there won't be calling again

Thank mirrorsmisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at The Terrace at St George's, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

We are sorry you were so disappointed our success at St George's is based on our good food and good service, what is sad is you wouldn't return however if on visiting Llandudno again, you would contact me directly, I would personally ensure you would experience the best of St George's.
Kind regards
Tony Burns
Director and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 141 of 209 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

Best meal in UK at fair prices, not cheap but inventive and delicious menu, superb service, nice wine, beautiful view on the ocean. A very pleasant experience. Book in advance as it does get booked up.

Thank oli h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at The Terrace at St George's, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

A great review and much appreciated by all the team.
Such lovely comments are so encouraging and we hope there will be an opportunity in the future for you to return to North Wales, Llandudno and St George's
With our Best Wishes and Kind Regards
Tony Burns
Director and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Firstly I cannot fault the staff in the dining room and the bar but the food - Oh My Goodness it was appalling. The restaurant was very busy and we were meeting friends who were staying there for drinks and dinner. The cost was £25 pp for a 3 course meal. If I had paid £3.99 in a local pub it would have been overpriced. The starters were very small, the prawn cocktail was a glass of lettuce with a tiny amount of prawn in sauce on the top. One chicken starter (which should have had cashew nuts but had pine nuts instead) had to go back because it was a third of the size of the others - which were tiny anyway. The lamb was tough and bone dry. The vegetables varied between burnt black broccoli, green beans that had obviously been under a hot lamp for hours and very fatty roast potatoes plonked on the table in plates too hot to touch. It was quite a sight watching people in evening dress standing up in turn to grab a potato on the end of their fork to put on their plate! The deserts were dreadful. Stone cold sticky toffee pudding/4 tiny shop bought profiteroles with a dribble of sauce or the selection of welsh cheese with fruit ( No fruit and welsh stilton (!) . When we complained we were told the pastry chef wasn't very happy. At least he wasn't paying a small fortune for this awful experience. It was quite obvious that the hotel could not cope with large numbers and there were insufficient supplies in the kitchen and certainly a lack of people who could cook what was there! What a shame. I would recommend anyone who stays there to make sure they eat out in the evening
.

    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank mary k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at The Terrace at St George's, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

At least thank you for your kind comments regarding the team, as for your other comments regarding the party menu you were choosing from and I am pleased to say the party has re booked for next year.
However you were disappointed and next time returning to Llandudno please contact me directly so I may make arrangements to show you the best of St George's.
Regards
Tony Burns
Director and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Had a gift voucher for champagne afternoon tea, but you are not dealt with any different if you were paying top dollar. Relaxing atmosphere, waiter and accompanying waitresses very pleasant. Offered and accepted second pot of tea and coffee. Every effort to make it a special occasion – not every day for us finger sandwiches and dinky cakes with champers. A joy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at The Terrace at St George's, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Lovely to read how we contributed in making what was a special occasion even more special and have appreciated your kind words and hope we will be able to welcome you back soon to St George's.
Best Wishes
Tony Burns
Director and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Was dragged here by the other half for a light lunch. Had pre conceived views of a dated room full of coach holiday blue rinses eating stale sandwiches served by surly waitresses. I couldn't have been more wrong. Reality was a contemporary room, warm friendly atmosphere, with a lovely menu, sharp service and jolly good food. Being local, I shall be back, I can see it becoming a favourite. I should add that the view across Llandudno bay is an added bonus - it is stunning!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank keren056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at The Terrace at St George's, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Surprised...well that's good news even better news that you enjoyed it so much and will be back.
Couldn't be better and thank you for your very encouraging words, and taking the time to post this review.
Kind regards
Tony Burns
Director and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Terrace at St George's also viewed

Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 
Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to The Terrace at St George's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing